We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
39
32
28
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
32
28
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient store room was spacious shopping mall complimentary breakfast nice stay tv channels lovely hotel basic amenities walking distance kk town close to the airport strategic location business trip empowering kota conference
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Just checked in into this hotel staying in room 327.

Check in was efficient and friendly. Nice lobby area.

The carpet throughout the corridors are tired. The hotel could do with fresh paint or complete renovation.

Room is of good size but it has the feel of v low budget hotel. Bed is set v low but fine. Supplied with 2 soft and flat pillows! It s fine if you like flat pillows. When I asked for 2 extra pillows management informed me that they charge rm10.00 for each extra pillow which I guess reflect the quality of this hotel (think Tune Hotel)! One of the wooden panels over the bed has a gaping hole! Large damp stains on the corner of the room. Found a live cockroach in the bathroom! Bathroom floor appears not to have been mopped since the last guess.

TV is of good size with limited selections of channels.

Overall impression is that the hotel could be so much better if they look into addressing the above. Main problem for me is cleanliness (cockroach in the room is a big no no!).

I cannot recommend this hotel to those who care about their health.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ed_Guntis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaraBH, Front Office Manager at Zara's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Ed_Guntis,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Zara's Boutique hotel and for your feedback concerning your stay here.

We are well aware about the issue regarding the carpet on the corridors and had replaced it with a brand new one. Not just that, the carpet will also be cleaned regularly to maintain its cleanliness and condition. We have also critically evaluated our housekeeping system and will take immediate actions to provide better services for all our guests.

We sincerely apologize for not giving you the expected standard but as a boutique hotel, our budget is not as loose as of the higher rated hotels. However, we take your feedback very seriously as your feedback motivates us to provide a higher standard hospitality.

As part of our commitment, we look forward to your next stay in our hotel as we are dedicated to provide you with better service. If you do return, it will be a more satisfying experience for you having taken this feedback into consideration.

Any further inquiries, please do not hesitate to email us at zarasboutiquehotel@yahoo.com.my

Kind regards,
Nurashikin Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

This is my second time check in at zara's boutique. At first, i book the hotel using agoda.com because the price and location(near the imago) and i got the spacious room and i am very satisfied with the room. But when i walk in without made any reservation, i am so unsatisfy with the room. The room space was small, the towel was smelly and not clean, the air-cond also not functioning very well. I thought maybe the management only give the best room for those who made the reservation

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We went to this hotel as we had conference located at Sutera Harbour Resort. This two hotels are located nearby. It takes about 5minutes drive. We stayed here for 4 nights. For first 2 nights, we stayed at the room that facing the main road, then they allowed us to change to opposite side of room. As for all, this hotel is good, friendly staffs and there is breakfast provided. Our rooms come with spacious space. We stayed in Superior room for 3 persons.

Room tip: Choose the room that facing Kinabalu Mountain for better view and less noise as this hotel is located next to the main road to the KK city.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amyrasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on my last day of the trip to East Malaysia. Internet was horrible. Couldn't connect at all. TV channels can be improved. On the good sight, the room was big and spacious. Bed was good. Staffs were friendly. Breakfast was just lousy. Pic attached.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank SanjayRaphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

The service in the hotel was good and the facilities of the hotel is fully equip. However, it is not convenient because it is quite far for walking distance from the city center but definitely will come back to stay this hotel next time again if self drive next time.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank StephanieChing151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews