We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambitious tasting menu experience in KK”
Review of Oitom Restaurant

Oitom Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 789 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: HK$249 - HK$601
Description: FINE DINING - Tatler Top 100 Best Restaurant In Malaysia That Inspired By Sabah Premium Ingredients And Sabah Heritage Cuisine
Restaurant details
Description: FINE DINING - Tatler Top 100 Best Restaurant In Malaysia That Inspired By Sabah Premium Ingredients And Sabah Heritage Cuisine
Reviewed 30 September 2023 via mobile

This is undeniably an ambitious culinary destination. It offers a tasting menu that ventures into uncharted territory, daring diners to explore a world of flavors. However, be prepared to loosen your purse strings, as this experience comes with a hefty price tag.

What sets Oitom apart is its commitment to using local ingredients, showcasing the rich and diverse flavors of the region. Each dish is a journey through the vibrant tapestry of Malaysian and Sabahan cuisine, reimagined with a creative twist.

This is not your ordinary, affordable find; it's an indulgence meant for special occasions and those seeking a gastronomic adventure. The restaurant's dedication to sourcing local ingredients and presenting them in innovative ways is commendable, even if it means a higher cost.

While it may not be an everyday dining spot due to its price, it's a memorable experience for those seeking something extraordinary in the world of gastronomy.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Itravel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2022

Oitom's chef and team are ambitious and taking an immense risk by providing French influenced gastronomy service in KK.

Especially, they are very bold for using a big portion of their produce from local ingredients (and mostly common) to serve their fine dining. A difficult feat to be creative with the flavours, that takes a very bold chef and team to be imaginative and execute.

As someone who frequents fine dining, personally I foresee that with time, local understanding, support and tweaks in their service, Oitom will be top class, and a Local Gem that we will be proud of.

(And already proud of to have in Sabah, given the talent and devotion we have from a local for gastronomic service)

As a gastronomic enthusiast, a return to Oitom for their seasonal menu can be looked forward to.

It was a delighting one, and very easy going. A thanks to Oitom's team for the experience.

And a highly deservesl Focused Recognition for the dessert. A mind-blowing combination of flavours (attached photo).

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank EKBKLAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

I am a little hard but it is a fine dining place and the cost of a meal with wine is about 5 to 10 times that of an ordinary restaurant in KK. As such, it to be judged by very high standards. The dishes are very good but not memorable. Wines are reasonable. Service was excellent. A 4.5

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2020

Guys, let's skip the bullpoop. KK is not the most developed town. Im here to tell you this is by far the best restaurant in town currently. These guys are taking a risk by opening here. Sabah is the poorest state in Malaysia. They can easily survive in KL with this quality of food. Yet they choose to do business in KK, use local ingredients and give local Sabahans a taste elevated cuisine.

As of writing, this is the 145th Best Restaurant according to Tripadvisor. This is total BS. #1 clearly. You will get your money's worth.

Locals, it is your duty to support this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Chillibumbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2020

This is definitely a first for Sabah in terms of a fine dining experience. The fact that they focus on local ingredients is daring and much needed. Too many a time would a fine dining restaurant end up importing its whole produce from Europe/Australia, neglecting the wonders of local products.

The restaurant ambience is classy. The open kitchen concept means that there is no where to hide. Service is good in general but the dinner did feel a bit rushed at times and there's room for improvement there.

Food is well presented and decorative. We did not get to taste their regular menu, but for the food we had, it was imaginative and original. Seasoning and flavours could be more balanced and enhanced but overall it was a delicious meal.

We will return one day to sample their normal menu. We hope this is the beginning of a truely Sabahan fine dining experience as this restaurant continues to explore the culinary offerings of the land and innovate their fine dining interpretation of local food.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank kmteo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Oitom Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Oitom Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.