We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
US$270
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Islands of Siankaba(Livingstone)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Club(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Green Tree Lodge(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabonina Guesthouse(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
402
35
13
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
35
13
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog housenut housepersonal valetsindabezi islandbird househoneymoon houseriver cottagecaptain felixsand barthe cottagessunset cruiseprivate islandvictoria fallsbubble bathinclusive activitiesincluded activitiesother guests
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend four nights at Tongabezi as part of my 50th birthday celebration trip. We spent the first two nights in the tree house (what an awesome experience!) and two in the honeymoon house (beautiful - our favorite cottage on our entire Africa trip). The tree house is a unique accommodation and may not be for everyone. It is completely open to any and all visitors. We loved it! Waking up to the monkeys on the roof playing, the occasional bird swooping in and hearing the hippos grunt nearby all night is a memory we will never forget. The honeymoon house was beautiful in every way. Gorgeous interior with a huge beautiful deck overlooking the river. During it all we had the wonderful Nyambe taking care of us...arranging all of our meals in wonderful locations (except the hangout where people would walk right in and play videos on their laptop while we were having dinner - I will avoid that location for dinner next time), surprising us with bubble baths after excursions, setting up a picnic on the private island, etc. Along with the manager JC, Captain Felix for all our river fun, Lawrence for our overland tours and great chats with Joseph - we were so happy to spend time with such lovely, wonderful people! Add the bonus of the boys group singing to us in the evenings while we dined (including a very unique birthday song for my birthday) and the children't choir coming to sing our last day - and it was the perfect vacation. We can't wait to come back and enjoy that most beautiful and relaxing spot on the Zambezi again!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marichriscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a lovely review regarding your stay here at Tongabezi! It is wonderful to hear that the Honeymoon House was your favorite accommodation during your time in Africa.

You are quite correct in saying that the Tree House is particularly unique as it is very much exposed to Mother Nature – which for many is very exciting. You can be Tarzan and Jane! It is always so lovely to have various team members made mention of, and we are sure they will be a long-lasting memory when you look back on your visit.

The Zambian voices definitely do strike a chord in our hearts every time too.

We hope to see you back again very soon,

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Staying at the Tongabezi is quintessential fun. Great food, watching the sun rise over the Zambezi River, friendly staff, sitting around the campfires, staying in unusual accommodations, watching the wildlife, visits to nearby schools and villages -- what more could you want?

Stayed: June 2018
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi John,

We thank you for writing such a positive review on TripAdvisor about your wonderful stay with us.

The campfire, aka bush television, is always a delightful surprise. We are also glad you visited the school and village to appreciate the everyday lives of the Zambian people!

Hope to see you again.

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

This was our third time to Tongabezi, and there is a reason we continue to go back. It is simply heaven on earth. It's hard to improve upon perfection, but they have. They have added a beautiful new entry space, a gorgeous lap pool and gym, and enclosed the dining space. I have reviewed Tongabezi before, and its hard to say more about it than I have in the past, than other reviewers have, and than Conde Nast has by ranking it as one of the 20 best hotels in the world, but I will add why I think so.

First, the decor is stunning. It is simply beautiful, but the best part of that is that the fabrics, lighting, and many of the decorative items are made by hand from recycled materials by local women in Malawi at an outdoor workshop called Katundu. Some of the items are for sale in the gift shop. There is so much more to do at Tongabezi than just visit Victoria Falls. Make sure you have time to truly enjoy just being at Tongabezi. Stay at least four nights or more if you want to enjoy all of the activities and still have time to relax.

All of the rooms are gorgeous. I have stayed in three different rooms (the Honeymoon House, the Tree House, and a River Cottage), and they are all wonderful. My personal favorite is still the Honeymoon House, but the Tree House is magical and the River Cottage has the advantage of an enclosed bathroom if you are there when it is chilly at night.

Our intention on this visit was just to soak up the atmosphere, which we did, but we still managed to squeeze in a trip to the Zimbabwe side of the falls, which we prefer because there is more park on that side of the falls, a sunset cruise, a visit to the school which must not be missed, an interaction with elephants, and even a jump off the Victoria Falls bridge.

The elephant interaction was wonderful. The elephant interaction was particularly nice because you get to interact up close with these amazing animals and learn about the individual history of each animal. It is wonderful to feel that you are contributing to a sanctuary where these animals can be safe.

We visited the elephants without having a meal which was great because you won't want to miss a single meal at Tongabezi. The menu is incredible, and the chef even went out of his way to make us a special meal of bobotie (a South African curried meat pie) that we had loved on an earlier visit.

I had no plans to bungee jump and, as a 57 year old not particularly athletic female, am not a typical thrill seeker if there even is such a thing, but I decided to give the gorge swing a try after seeing it from the Falls. (It's like a bungee jump, but you don't end up upside down). I won't say it wasn't really scary, but after you realize you're not going to die, it's actually fun. The concession on the falls and the persons fitting you with the harness are all very professional and reassuring. A big thank you to our guide Chris from Tongabezi for helping me come to the decision to do this. I will always be glad that I did. He didn't push me, but he didn't discourage me either (plus he had already done it). He just matter of factly explained the difference between the bungee jump and the gorge swing and how best to do it. i also think he was actually impressed that I did it.

Chris was quiet but very competent. He made sure that we did everything that we wanted to. We really enjoyed talking to him around the campfire and finding out about him during that time. I also really appreciated that he had a quiet word with a street vendor that I wanted to buy something from. I told him that I was interested in some items but did not want to be subjected to a hard sell. He did not interfere at all in my purchases or interaction with the merchant, but I know that his word to the merchant kept him from being overzealous in his sales efforts. I also had not planned to visit the tourist market at the entrance to the Zambia side of the Falls but had a specific item in mind, so we stopped there. The merchants there were all very respectful and allowed you to browse uninterrupted. That doesn't mean that they weren't eager to sell you things, but it was much, much better than it usually is in tourist markets in Africa and the middle east.

The setting of Tongabezi is gorgeous. Each room looks out over the beautiful Zambezi river, and you can just sit on your deck for hours and watch the water go by until the sun finally sets. You can also do that from many other spots around the gorgeous grounds. We loved sitting in the Hang Out and watching the monkeys play in the early evening.

The staff is wonderful, and we really enjoyed visiting with both of the activities directors Jacqui and JC. But more than anything I can say about how beautiful Tongabezi is, the best thing about Tongabezi is that it is giving back to the community. Their commitment to the environment and the school is reason enough to visit Tongabezi. It's real, and It will make you feel good about the world. Thank you to everyone there for another fabulous visit.

Room Tip: Absolutely every room is fantastic! You can't go wrong with a single one.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Indium49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We could not be more delighted to hear about your stay with us - third time luckier, we guess! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such an extensive, detailed, and gorgeous review.

Our décor certainly is unique and each house has its own special ambiance, combined with stunning views. We pride ourselves in involving local communities in every possible way – whether it’s through décor, education or employment. We fully realize the importance of supporting local communities and projects, especially local children, and in turn creating an atmosphere of sustainable tourism and an environment where people can earn a good and honest living. We are committed to leaving a lighter footprint on this planet and also aid in recycling our waste in various ways. Educating our employees and the Tujatane children regarding this also does get the word across.

We appreciate the time you took to spend with your sponsor child and to allow her to experience some lovely activities with you – something she will cherish for life.

It will be our greatest wish for you to return – we have some plans up our sleeves to create new and fond memories with us – yet again.

Much love,

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights at the river cottage as the last leg of our honeymoon. The cottage, while showing signs of age, was simply put together, clean, comfortable and had great views of the Zambezi river.

We had a good time at Tongabezi, in large part attributable to the excellent staff. Our lovely valet, Matron, was friendly, helpful and attended to all our needs. Our guide, Fabeus, was knowledgeable, easy to talk to and always smiling. We did a range of activities with Tongabezi including the Victoria falls tour, village tour, food market tour, sunset cruise and picnic on a secluded spot of an island. We enjoyed every activity and particularly loved the village tour, which was an eye opener and touched our hearts in many ways. On that note, it is truly commendable and heartwarming to see how Tongabezi seeks to support its community.

The food at Tongabezi is also excellent, and what tops it all is the stunning sunset along the Zambezi river. The most beautiful we have ever seen!

There are however a few things which stopped short of our stay being a true 5 star one (comparing it to the other places we stayed in Africa):
- while we did have a personal valet and guide, the lodge somehow still lacked the personal touch and warmth that we’ve gotten so used to from our other accommodations in Africa. For example, not all the staff were as friendly to us. Also, despite the lodge knowing that we were on honeymoon, there was nothing special done on that front. Perhaps we’ve been spoilt rotten by our other accommodations, but we just couldn’t help notice that this was our only (yet one of the most expensive) accommodation which did nothing special. Even a small note to congratulate us would have been nice perhaps.
- Bed linen shows signs of age and are not as luxurious as one would expect.
- There were often flies around the afternoon tea snacks and on several occasions, we spotted monkeys grabbing food from the table of snacks. Seeing all that unfortunately deterred us from trying any of those delicious looking cakes.

Despite the shortcomings, my husband and I had an incredible stay at Tongabezi, and are glad we made the decision to spend our honeymoon there. Thank you Tongabezi for this magical experience!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Clairenwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Greetings!

Thank you for your kind review about your time spent here. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views, right from your cottage on the water. We are also glad to hear that Matron and Fabias made your stay memorable and that you visited the village, where most of our staff are recruited from. It certainly opens your eyes up to the simplicity of everyday life.

With our organic gardens on the premises, we try to keep our meals very fresh and light. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed the food.

We have taken note of your comments regarding your honeymoon, although we are a little surprised as we do offer all our honeymoon couples complimentary massages as well as a Livingstone island excursion (which was still shut due to high water levels during your visit). Running a bubble bath with some sparkling wine, if it does not conflict with your schedule, is also a treat that we surprise our honeymooners with – complete with rose petals and candlelight. We are very sorry that you didn’t feel acknowledged with this momentous occasion and we appreciate the feedback so that we can re-assess this.

We always strive to provide our best to our visitor’s and such constructive criticism helps.

Here’s to wishing you many years of marital bliss, and hopefully a return trip so that we can ensure you have not only the sunsets of your dreams but also the stay of your dreams!

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We booked Tongabezi at the recommendation of a friend about a year ago and had been looking fwd to visiting since then. Safe to say we were not disappointed. Being our 15th anniversary we wanted to spend it someplace special and Tongabezi proved just the place. We stayed 2 nights in the Tree house and 2 nights in the honeymoon house to get a feel for both and loved both of them! The tree house is truly one of a kind glamping and the views are amazing. The honeymoon house offers more closed quarters if being outdoors for a few days is not your thing and is beautifully done with a large deck and pool. What made Tongabezi all the more special apart from the amazing rooms was the service. Literally every person we met whether it was our valet or the manager they were super pleasant and always wanting to do whatever they could to make your stay enjoyable. JC the manager was nice enough to let my husband take over the TV in her office to watch one of the world cup games as there are no TV's in the guest rooms (for good reason) and he really appreciated that! The food is amazing as well and they were very accommodating of our dietary restrictions with the chefs checking in almost everyday. Our guides were also super knowledgeable and we had great trips to Victoria falls and Livingstone Island. The sunset cruise is a great experience as well and its amazing to see the sunset from the water made even more pleasurable by our boat captain. We had the most amazing time and have already planned to fit in Tongabezi on our next trip to Africa! Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for writing us such a lovely review and we were very happy to be a part of your 15th wedding anniversary! Spending 4 nights is ideal as it really allows you to enjoy various activities but also soak in the surroundings. Our rooms are all very unique, but the Tree House certainly offers an experience and I am sure many guests feel like a luxury version of Tarzan and Jane.

Your compliments regarding our service are very much appreciated – we pride ourselves in the people we employ from the nearby villages.

Our chefs are very dedicated to ensuring that all your dietary needs are well taken care of and make use of lovely fresh ingredients from our garden right on the premises.

We hope to see you again very soon,

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews