We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Islands of Siankaba(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Green Tree Lodge(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabonina Guesthouse(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
192
16
3
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
16
3
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter jonesplunge poolsummer houserhodes suitesunset cruisesnooker roomtwo nightsvictoria fallslocal villagecolonial experiencetwo storeyenjoy the beautyother gueststhe main housepre dinnerfirst stopeach afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We really enjoyed our short time in Livingstone staying at the River Club. The staff was super professional and helpful. They include a tour of the falls, a sunset cruise every night, and one game drive if you want with your stay. Which is really nice. Our room had an amazing view but I will warn you the bugs are insane in this part of the world. So, we were sleeping with bugs every night (they provide a net). So, if you can't handle bugs at all I wouldn't stay here. Besides the bugs my only other complaint was that they didn't tell you if some tours or yoga classes were an additional charge. So, definitely asked so you are not surprised when you check out.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Camela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Camela,
Thank you for your review on TA and a special thanks for mentioning the staff so positively. They all greatly appreciate the write up acknowledging all their work.
Sadly this year has been an unusual one for bugs but the staff rotate through the rooms tirelessly keeping things clean. I cannot explain why they have been more than usual this season - it is not normal.
I apologise if things were not clear concerning some of the activities but all third party activities are most certainly extras to be paid for as are yoga classes, massages and other wellness treatments. Thank you for bring this up so that we can mention it here on TA.
There are of course different types of stay at the lodge: bed and breakfast, dinner bed and breakfast, Full Board and Fully Inclusive. Each type has different inclusions and as you say it is best to understand what each entails.
Thank you again for coming to stay and we all hope that you will return on your next trip to Africa.
Best wishes
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Rustic lodge in a setting that is idyllic. Individual cabins that have character and meet all your needs. The food quality and drink service are outstanding. Grounds are well maintained with a summerhouse for lounging and internet use and you are free to roam. Amenities include a pool, tennis courts, gym, yoga, spa service upon request and a gift shop. Club offers up activities for a fee that were well done. Transportation is provided. Daily sundowner floats are fun and refreshments are served. Staff are all outstanding and you have the feel of pride in what they are doing and a pride in their history. They are all knowledgable, articulate, and professional and have a can do attitude. We came as guests but left feeling more like family. Organization supports a local community as part of its corporate philosophy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Joanne379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Joanne379
I great appreciate your wonderful review and I cannot thank you enough for mentioning the staff with your kind words. Without them the lodge simply would not function with the warmth that is does. They will be especially pleased to read your words of praise. I am grateful also that you mentioned the work we do in the nearby village. They are our next door neighbours and we will always try to do what we can for them.
The lodge having been my home for a number of years makes it easier to greet everyone as personal friends and I am simply delighted that you felt this way and I do hope you will come back to see us again.
Very best regards
Peter and everyone at the lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

My husband, then fiance, took me here for a birthday treat. We only stayed for one night and did the sunset cruise, romantic dinner, and breakfast the next day. Yes, it is pricy compared to your average town or riverside hotel, but worth every penny because this is not your average hotel! The views are spectacular, there are hardly any manmade noises (helicopters, microlights, aeroplanes) like at some other hotels, rooms are luxurious, and the service from all members of staff was friendly and very personal. I would recommend this to any person looking for a lush, relaxing, and natural retreat. Best perk is falling asleep to the sounds of the river and wildlife in a four poster bed. Thank you to Peter and his team for treating us like VIPs, serving tasty food, and providing such great service.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Reshma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Reshma P
CONGRATULATIONS!!! We all hope that you had a wonderful wedding and everyone joins me is wishing you all the very best in the next part of your lives together. Do let us know if you would like to seek back on your first anniversary! e will be ready.
Thank you for coming to stay and thank you for your wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to have had to stay and it is always so easy to look after guests who are enjoying themselves.
Please remember to bring photos of your wedding when you come back.
Warmest wishes from everyone
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Three nights and two full days to soak in the fabulous surroundings of the River Club, as a perfect birthday weekend treat.
The location and views are spectacular, especially for lunch, afternoon tea or dinner by the full moon.
The rooms are spacious and luxurious, each with its own river view and what a view - wow.
We took walks, river trips at sun set, played croquet, sipped cocktails on the veranda, read books from the library and tried to view all the entertaining art work.
We were looked after marvelously and would recommend to other travelers who want a little pamper time or time to stop and watch the sun set.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Dawn N
Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday with us and I am so pleased that it was a perfect weekend for you. The staff are all delighted that they were able to assisting in delivering the atmosphere that made it so enjoyable for you.
Down time in life is important and I am glad the lodge provided the best setting for you. Hope to see you back here again.
Very best regards from all of us.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I first went to River Club 10 years ago with friends..... and left my heart there....

It has got to be one of the most stunning locations on the Zambezi.... It is not something you can describe.... you breath the air, you hear the sounds and the picture in front of you changes all the time....

Went back this year and took our 6 year old daughter.... she loved it!!!!!!

Room Tip: each house has its own terrace, each one is unique as the views are different from every angle... from each room you hear the hippos.....
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Svetlana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, Owner at The River Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Svetlana L
I feel very humbled to think that we have been able to create something special which has now been passed on to the next generation to enjoy. It was wonderful to see you again and thank you so much for coming back! It was great to catch up with all your fantastic news and to share in the laughs during your stay. Looking forward to the next time!
Warmest wishes to everyone.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews