We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
171
26
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
26
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse rideelectric blanketson stiltsother guestsindoor loungespot animalsmorning sunrisechundu islandvictoria fallssunset cruisefamily cottageopen airperfect hostslocal villagepeace corpsthe small swimming poolauthentic experience
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

My husband, parents, and I were recently in Livingstone visiting my 24 year old son serving in the Peace Corps. At the recommendation of my travel agent, we spent two nights in a family cottage at Chundukwa. I wish it was more than two nights!
When we arrived an incredible lunch was prepared for us on the deck. None of us could get over the quality of the food. We were on the all inclusive plan so all meals and drinks were included. Also included was a sunset river cruise. That alone was a safari because of all the wildlife we were able to see (crocodiles, hippos, zebras, giraffes, elephants, cape buffalo, and baboons) they also provided cocktails and snacks. When we went back to the lodge for dinner a roaring fire was set up with camp chairs. Such a nice touch! Dinner was outstanding!
The following day we had a driver provided for us to take us to the Falls. He was wonderful and knowledgeable. Because we loved the sunset cruise so much we did a second one. We were not disappointed!
What makes this lodge so wonderful is the delightful owners Gail and Doug, and their incredible staff. They truly love what they do and where they live and want you to have a true Zambian experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank marymc507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chundukwa, Owner at Chundukwa River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear marymc507, we have had several families staying with us through the years who have come out to visit a member of their family working in the Peace Corps. Chundu Cottage being a stand alone house on the Zambezi River is definately a wonderful place for families to be together and catch up. We love being able to cook and serve you in your temporary home away from home and are so pleased that you enjoyed the magic of it. The sunset and sunrise cruises are definitely the highlight of staying at Chundukwa as apposed to choosing accommodation in Livingstone town. We have our own boat that leaves from the lodge, always with a basket of refreshments and some special treats to enjoy whilst being out on the water. Game viewing from the boat can be very fortuitous - especially during the dry months. Glad you were able to see so much. It was wonderful meeting your whole family and we hope that you will be able to make it back this way one day.
Our best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We started our trip to Zambia at Chundukwa and from the moment we arrived we stepped into a beautiful oasis of calm and beauty. Having spent some time previously in Zambia we were looking for a lodge that would give us a more authentic experience of the sounds and feel of Zambia - rather than a 'Spa' 'luxury' type experience - and it didn't disappoint. Gail and Doug have built a very special space on the banks of the Zambezi with a blend of quality and simplicity set in beautiful surroundings and a team who provide a genuine and friendly welcome and service. Nothing was too much trouble. Using locally sourced food where possible we were treated to delicious meals including a quirky take on a beef stew - served with a pastry top in an enamel cup! We took advantage of the morning and evening river cruises on offer from the lodge, to catch a glimpse of the huge variety of birds as well as hyena, kudu, vervet monkeys and of course hippo and crocs. We also took a horse ride through the bush. Alison arranged for us to see the white rhino at the local game reserve and there are other activities which can be arranged from the lodge. Although the lodge is outside of Livingstone a local taxi can be arranged to take you into Livingstone and the Victoria Falls. Evenings were spent around the fire with Doug, Gail or Alison who were great hosts and were happy to share their knowledge and insights of living in Zambia with tips of places to visit etc. The lodges were clean, comfortable with some lovely personal touches and open to one side - with views out over the river. We soon got used to hearing the sounds of the night which just added to the 'Africa' experience. We really loved this place - we were able to relax and recharge our batteries in preparation for the safari trips ahead. Thanks to everyone at Chundukwa for making our trip a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chundukwa, Owner at Chundukwa River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Catherine C, thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased to discover just how much you were able to relax, absorb and appreciate your surrounds at Chundukwa and the area. We certainly intend to offer as much of an authentic experience of Africa as we can with all the comforts, but as you say - we are not a modern luxury' spa' lodge, but rather a luxury' bush lodge' set amongst large Riverrine trees with natural surrounds and a myriad of views overlooking the river.
There is a certain beauty and magic in this area, whether it be the open starry nights, or the Zambezi River quietly flowing by your river chalet or the boat cruises that often yield wonderful surprises such as wild animals coming down to the waters' edge for a drink. Oftentimes, by just allowing oneself to slow down enough to let nature and its subtle beauty come towards you, a whole world of intrigue arises. And of course enjoying the other end of the spectrum of being able to stand on the edge of the magnificent Victoria Falls and feel exhilarated! Thrilled you liked Doug's home-made Beef Pie in Cup! He is in fact cooking up a storm as we speak. Best wishes to you and thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Recommended by our son who honeymooned here, we decided to commence our Zambian tour at Chundukwa. What a good choice we made.

Although we lived in Africa for many years we found this charming small lodge to have the sort of peace and tranquility that is so sadly missing in many modern day resorts and lodges.

Previous postings on Tripadvisor cover all the superlatives, and they are not exaggerated.

The rooms are exceptional and evidently the only ones on the Zambezi that have open windows so you can see and hear all the water activity all through the night in the comfort and security of a 5 star stilted bedroom over the river. Mosquito nets , which are in good condition, keep you free of bugs.

Excellent food, good housekeeping, friendly staff, and knowlegible guides for land or water based wildlife watching are all here but what is difficult to adequately describe is the general tenor and ethos of Chundukwa.

The lodge is privately owned and run and our host Gail (her partner Doug was away at the time of our visit) exudes a warmth towards all her guests that is infectious and it permeates through all the staff. She is more than just an expert in wildlife, it is her life. Sitting around the fire with her and other guests after supper was one of the great joys of our entire holiday listening to and discussing so many different strands of wildlife and game conservancy.

Evidently Chundukwa has a very high level of repeat business which is not surprising. It attracts all ages of clientele.

There was not a lot of game around the lodge during our visit, but we did go to see the white rhinos nearby as well as seeing hippos and crocs in the river. Also we heard lion and saw other game on the Zimbabwe side of the river. Being the tail end of the rainy season meant that little game came through the lodge to the water but this changes as the dry season progresses.

This is the place to stay if you want to relax in good company in a tranquil idyllic riverside spot within close distance of Victoria Falls.

There is nothing we would change at Chundukwa. A perfect start to our holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms have exceptional positional view over the Zambezi
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chundukwa, Owner at Chundukwa River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

It's so hard to respond to review like that! Except to say 'thank you' for reaffirming to us what we so hope all our guests would experience during their stay with us.
It means the world to us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

We have just returned home from Zambia where we went on our honeymoon and we stayed 4 nights at Chundukwa river lodge.

Chundukwa felt like home to us from the first day we arrived and we felt so relaxed, comfortable and at ease. It was perfect. I can honestly say that there is not one thing that we feel could have been better or improved in anyway. It was intimate and authentic and had a lot of Character and charm.

The rooms were incredible with a breath taking view over the river. The grounds so clean and tidy. The food.....WOW is all I can say about the food. It felt like we were fine dinning every night and I was blown away with the quality of the food and perfect mix of flavours with every meal.

The lodge is run by Gail and Doug, with help from Alison. Doug was not there whilst we were staying but Gail was so lovely and her hospitality and kindness really made our stay at Chundukwa unique.Alison was also extremely helpful throughout.

There are lots of activities to keep you entertained at the lodge. we did a trip to the falls, horse riding, canoeing on the Zambezi, sunset cruises, all which were organised by Gail and Alison very promptly and without us having to worry about anything. The beautiful grounds and views at the lodge also provide the perfect environment if you wish to relax.

Chundukwa will hold a special place in our hearts and was a trip which we will never forget. We are so glad that we chose Chundukwa for our honeymoon. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chundukwa, Owner at Chundukwa River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

It was our pleasure having you to stay and we were sad to say goodbye. Finding the perfect place to stay on your honeymoon can be tricky and we are delighted to hear it went so well. We hope you will be back some day and until then we wish you both a very special and fulfilling life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We spent 3 wonderful nights at Chundukwa Lodge. The rooms are so beautifully tranquil with incredible views that we didn't want to venture out. Built on stilts overlooking the Zambezi River. Coffee was brought to our room every morning. My special dietary requirements were well taken care of. Best Gluten free bread I've ever tasted. Doug and his staff are very accommodating. Wifi in lounge area. On previous trips we have stayed at more up market Hotels and lodges and I have to admit we will be returning here. The previous TripAdvisor reviews have covered everything so not much more I can add other than it's definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lee Calitz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chundukwa, Owner at Chundukwa River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Doug is an amazing cook and is responsible for our menu at Chundukwa! As we do not get to make gluten free bread all that often, he was delighted to hear that you enjoyed it! Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding the lodge. It means a great deal to us as you have travelled so extensively in Africa and so have a lot of first hand experience. We hope you will be back this way again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews