We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islands of Siankaba(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The River Club(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Green Tree Lodge(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabonina Guesthouse(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,981)
Filter reviews
1,981 results
Traveller rating
762
834
291
67
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
834
291
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszambezi sunvictoria fallssister hotelpool barbuffet dinnerfree entranceroyal livingstone next doorunlimited accesshotel groundsmain restaurantfive minute walkafrican queenwild animalslarge poolnational parkpool sidehotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 1,981 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Fantastic place, fantastic staff, fantastic food, lovely rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed the last few days of our holiday chilling here, oh and visiting the Victoria falls or Victoria rocks as I now refer to them!
Rooms were lovely, staff in the main were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. Lovely pool and bar area.
Although we were warned that water levels on the Zambezi would be low we were a little surprised just how low they were on the Zambia side. Apparently the falls were much better on the Zimbabwe side and the hotel were very good advising us the best way to get there (basically walking). We did attempt this but the queues at Zimbabwe immigration for visas were horrendous and we aborted our trip.
I would advise getting a multi entry visa for Zambia and a visa for Zimbabwe at the airport as this will save time at Zimbabwe immigration. You need cash for this in US dollars and need to look up on Google how much you need. They don't take credit cards at Zambian immigration.
Also with noting that both Zambia and Zimbabwe take US dollars so you can just use one currency instead of the local one.
Overall fantastic hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennokent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle M, General Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Good morning,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of the AVANI Victoria Falls Resort!
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us!
For your next visit I recommend April to June where the falls are at their maximum and you can also see, around full moon, a spectacular lunar rainbow in the evening, quiet a unique experience!
Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards
Emmanuelle Moneger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Located along the banks of the Zambezi River and and just a few meters away from the world famous Victoria Falls or the Mosi oa Tunya as it is locally known, the hotel is well positioned to provide an unforgettable holiday experience. The hotel is also located within a game park so there are quite a few animals to see within its grounds. Watch out for the monkeys though who have been know to be a nuisance at times. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all the modern fixtures one would expect in a high class resort. The staff are friendly and welcoming and always available to cater for your very need. The hotel has within its grounds an adventures booking office which is very helpful and will arrange a wide range of outdoor activities for thrill seekers. The hotel offers a samptous breakfast as part of the room rate served on the terraces. The food also offers various options for lunch and supper which are worth trying out

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dennis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments and it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future.

Kind regards,

Prezley Mungala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Avani for 4 nights and loved our time there. Firstly, the hotel is located within the national park and all guests have free unlimited access to Victoria Falls- which is only a 5 minute walk away. The hotel also is home to many animals, such as Zebra, Giraffe, crocodile, baboon and monkeys. The rooms are great and the staff and service is at a very high standard. Avani is a great place for your stay in Victoria Falls! I would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jessicaquinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Great location, staff very friendly and clean accommodation. Loved the Zebras, Giraffes and Monkeys roaming freely on the grounds of the resort. Good food with ample selection. Made to order waffles and omlettes which were delicious. The lady preparing the omlettes was always smiling. Wish I could have stayed longer. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank mornas340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future.

Kind regards,

Prezley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We were only visiting for 3 nights with a packed programme of outside activity so we didn't really get a full experience of the hotel. Within half an hour of arrival, we were out on a dinner trip, the next day to Botswana on safari; the day after a full day out across the Zim border at Vic Falls.
Proximity to the border is very close and although there is direct access to the falls from the hotel, part of the reason for the choice, we never managed to find daylight hours to take that walk. However, the water levels in the river were getting low and the view would be limited.
Nevertheless, we found the hotel was excellent with its accommodation, grounds and room facilities; the cleanliness and housekeeping; its breakfast buffet but most of all the friendly atmosphere created by the staff who were polite, extremely willing and helpful.
I must make special mention of the concierge who took care of our onward flight check-in while we were out for the day and also called me at reception the next morning to ensure I had the papers and boarding passes.
Reception also helped resolve a border transfer foul-up by a local operator and also directly organised transfer to Livingstone Airport for our departure very efficiently.
We didn't see much evidence of the animals in the grounds apart from one late evening zebra and a few of the monkeys being chased away by security staff with catapults. The hotel feels very safe and relaxed and is enjoyably quiet - although the welcoming dancers and the evening entertainment were fun.
The only slightly disappointing note was the light meal we had at the pool side restaurant after our safari day didn't quite hit the mark. I like spicy food but my penne arrabiata was a bit too hefty with the chili and my wife's carbonara pasta had ham that was rather too chewy. Not worth making issues about as it was otherwise very nice - just took a slight edge off enjoyment.
We booked the hotel with our airline flights and we were very happy with our choice. It was brief but very enjoyable. We would recommend it when staying in Livingstone, especially for the service and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanmansurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prezley, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews