We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Nearby Hotels
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islands of Siankaba(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Club(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Green Tree Lodge(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabonina Guesthouse(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
108
155
30
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
155
30
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel is conveniently locatedvictoria fallsrailway linean indian restaurantvery nice hotelthe hotel staffbusiness tripinsect repellenta short taxi ridelivingstone townbreakfast buffetclean roomspleasant staylocal attractionszimbabwe borderguided tourdevil's pool
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We stayed two nights and visited Victoria falls on a day trip. We also went to a game reserve where we got to see white Rhinos!

The breakfast was great.. Rooms were clean and well maintained. There are several restaurants in town which can be easily accessed by taxi. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ram232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Ram232,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the great breakfast and clean rooms. Please be assured that we will congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

The Hotel is great for the business visits . the staff is really friendly. The food is good, Cupachinos -Great!

Overall I can only say it is good. The issue is the location next to the railway. Early Train and late night passing did bother with noise.

The real issue was the mosquitos...yes it is Africa, but you expect from Mariit that the room will be free of mosquitos. I would recommend that staff ensure upon cleaning to ensure all mosquitos are killed and rooms are sprayed -teach them to spray above curtains and dark corners. After killing around 15 mosquitos, the room was great. Nice hot showers and Wifi is good.

Possible Experience and Critic also positive.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bernardvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Bernardvt,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our friendly STAFF and good food.

It was our pleasure to accommodate and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

stayed for 2 nights while attending a business meeting. The room was comfortable and fresh! The courtyard is breath-taking, lots of water features, hats off to the gardener! it was relaxing to sit in the courtyard area, listening to the sounds of the water fountains.
Breakfast was good, freshly prepared....a plus considering the blistering heat with summer temperatures of 40 degrees Celsius. Was disappointed with the crockery though...It is white china that has become dis-coloured so that it seems as though it was not thoroughly cleaned and honestly a little disgusting!
The staff were very helpful and attentive to clients, which was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaChilaisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the clean rooms, good breakfast buffet and our helpful and attentive STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Our stay at Protea Hotel in Livingston was wonderful. The hotel is located in a central location to the falls and national park. The hotel grounds are immaculate. The restaurant on site has a full menu for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. Our breakfast buffet was bountiful with lots of choices of fresh fruits and pastries, as well as a chef on staff to cook omelets and eggs to order. Our room was comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Two story hotel without elevators, but the staff helps with luggage so it wasn't a problem.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaLiisaNobleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Anna Liisa,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to receive your compliments. Please be assured that we will congratulate our STAFF for doing such an outstanding job!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Seem to have improved generally now part of the Marriott group but this is the best Protea hotel In which I have stayed. Clean and comfortable, good service, keen staff, good food and fast internet. Good value for money too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews