We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
120
157
31
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
157
31
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria fallsan indian restaurantno elevatorthe hotel staffvery nice hotelmosquito problemlivingstone towncab ridebreakfast buffethotel is locatedclean roomspleasant staylocal attractionszimbabwe bordertour deskenjoyed my stayyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

stayed for 2 nights while attending a business meeting. The room was comfortable and fresh! The courtyard is breath-taking, lots of water features, hats off to the gardener! it was relaxing to sit in the courtyard area, listening to the sounds of the water fountains.
Breakfast was good, freshly prepared....a plus considering the blistering heat with summer temperatures of 40 degrees Celsius. Was disappointed with the crockery though...It is white china that has become dis-coloured so that it seems as though it was not thoroughly cleaned and honestly a little disgusting!
The staff were very helpful and attentive to clients, which was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaChilaisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the clean rooms, good breakfast buffet and our helpful and attentive STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Our stay at Protea Hotel in Livingston was wonderful. The hotel is located in a central location to the falls and national park. The hotel grounds are immaculate. The restaurant on site has a full menu for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. Our breakfast buffet was bountiful with lots of choices of fresh fruits and pastries, as well as a chef on staff to cook omelets and eggs to order. Our room was comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Two story hotel without elevators, but the staff helps with luggage so it wasn't a problem.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaLiisaNobleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Anna Liisa,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to receive your compliments. Please be assured that we will congratulate our STAFF for doing such an outstanding job!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Seem to have improved generally now part of the Marriott group but this is the best Protea hotel In which I have stayed. Clean and comfortable, good service, keen staff, good food and fast internet. Good value for money too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We spent 2 nights at the Protea Hotel and had a great time. The value was perfect for us - more expensive but nicer than some of the more hostel-like accomodations in town, and much cheaper than the more expensive locations right on the river. We also appreciated that it is affiliated with Marriott, so we were able to use points. Our room was spacious and included free water bottles each day. Breakfast was included with our rate, and was quite extensive, with good food items. One note is that the dinner was not such a good deal - we ate here one night since it was convenient, but the rate is about $22 per person, which is hugely expensive for the area. The only option was a buffet, which was decent but not worth $22. We would have been much better off taking a taxi to a nearby restaurant, as we did the other night of our stay, and paying $7 per person for a meal. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again, so long as we avoided the expensive meals.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SnowyShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Snowyshasta,

Thank you for your feedback. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that the breakfast was to your satisfaction.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed here for four nights while attending a family wedding at Victoria Falls. The hotel is a little dated in décor but very clean and comfortable. The staff is excellent. Tasty and generous breakfast included. Other family were at much more expensive hotels near the falls and did not have as nice an experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear LaRee,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the excellent STAFF and tasty breakfasts served at our hotel. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews