We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Nearby Hotels
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The River Club(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
105
153
30
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
153
30
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel is conveniently locatedvictoria fallsrailway linevery nice hotelthe hotel staffbusiness tripinsect repellenta short taxi rideclean roomslivingstone townbreakfast buffetpleasant staylocal attractionsswimming poolguided tourspent two nightsenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Seem to have improved generally now part of the Marriott group but this is the best Protea hotel In which I have stayed. Clean and comfortable, good service, keen staff, good food and fast internet. Good value for money too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We spent 2 nights at the Protea Hotel and had a great time. The value was perfect for us - more expensive but nicer than some of the more hostel-like accomodations in town, and much cheaper than the more expensive locations right on the river. We also appreciated that it is affiliated with Marriott, so we were able to use points. Our room was spacious and included free water bottles each day. Breakfast was included with our rate, and was quite extensive, with good food items. One note is that the dinner was not such a good deal - we ate here one night since it was convenient, but the rate is about $22 per person, which is hugely expensive for the area. The only option was a buffet, which was decent but not worth $22. We would have been much better off taking a taxi to a nearby restaurant, as we did the other night of our stay, and paying $7 per person for a meal. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again, so long as we avoided the expensive meals.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SnowyShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Snowyshasta,

Thank you for your feedback. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that the breakfast was to your satisfaction.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed here for four nights while attending a family wedding at Victoria Falls. The hotel is a little dated in décor but very clean and comfortable. The staff is excellent. Tasty and generous breakfast included. Other family were at much more expensive hotels near the falls and did not have as nice an experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear LaRee,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the excellent STAFF and tasty breakfasts served at our hotel. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel in general seems clean enough but rooms and bathroom need updating. For those not appointed a room facing the pool area are met with a fence with a freight train track on the other side, so the views arent great unless you like train spotting!

Staff are friendly and are happy to help, the breakfast is decent but doesn't vary. Dinner is waaay overpriced and boring so try the local restaurants which are way better priced and tastier..

Wi-Fi is decent, pool area is nice and they certainly make you feel comfortable where ever you are within the complex. The taxis they use are a little more expensive so we walked or took local taxis after dark.

Bring decent mozzie repellent as the place is swarmed with them in the morning, however they do spray amd do their best to reduce them.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank somethingmadeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Somethingmadeup,

Thank you for your feedback. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We are happy to receive your compliments regarding the friendly STAFF and the great service you received.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Accommodations were very nice. Restaurant was very good especially Ala Carte Menu items. Some African dancers in the evening provided fun entertainment. The outdoor bar is nice. Fountains and fish pond are lovely. Bring peaceful sleep. Gift shop very reasonably priced with nice selection. Staff in activities center helpful.

Room Tip: Two floors and no passenger elevator. Help with luggage available.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Norma P,

Thank you for your compliments regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services, meals and facilities were to your satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing to staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews