We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Our stay at Protea Hotel in Livingston was wonderful. The hotel is located in a central location to the falls and national park. The hotel grounds are immaculate. The restaurant on site has a full menu for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. Our breakfast buffet was bountiful with lots of choices of fresh fruits and pastries, as well as a chef on staff to cook omelets and eggs to order. Our room was comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Two story hotel without elevators, but the staff helps with luggage so it wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaLiisaNobleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Anna Liisa,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to receive your compliments. Please be assured that we will congratulate our STAFF for doing such an outstanding job!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Seem to have improved generally now part of the Marriott group but this is the best Protea hotel In which I have stayed. Clean and comfortable, good service, keen staff, good food and fast internet. Good value for money too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We spent 2 nights at the Protea Hotel and had a great time. The value was perfect for us - more expensive but nicer than some of the more hostel-like accomodations in town, and much cheaper than the more expensive locations right on the river. We also appreciated that it is affiliated with Marriott, so we were able to use points. Our room was spacious and included free water bottles each day. Breakfast was included with our rate, and was quite extensive, with good food items. One note is that the dinner was not such a good deal - we ate here one night since it was convenient, but the rate is about $22 per person, which is hugely expensive for the area. The only option was a buffet, which was decent but not worth $22. We would have been much better off taking a taxi to a nearby restaurant, as we did the other night of our stay, and paying $7 per person for a meal. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again, so long as we avoided the expensive meals.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SnowyShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Snowyshasta,

Thank you for your feedback. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that the breakfast was to your satisfaction.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed here for four nights while attending a family wedding at Victoria Falls. The hotel is a little dated in décor but very clean and comfortable. The staff is excellent. Tasty and generous breakfast included. Other family were at much more expensive hotels near the falls and did not have as nice an experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear LaRee,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the excellent STAFF and tasty breakfasts served at our hotel. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel in general seems clean enough but rooms and bathroom need updating. For those not appointed a room facing the pool area are met with a fence with a freight train track on the other side, so the views arent great unless you like train spotting!

Staff are friendly and are happy to help, the breakfast is decent but doesn't vary. Dinner is waaay overpriced and boring so try the local restaurants which are way better priced and tastier..

Wi-Fi is decent, pool area is nice and they certainly make you feel comfortable where ever you are within the complex. The taxis they use are a little more expensive so we walked or took local taxis after dark.

Bring decent mozzie repellent as the place is swarmed with them in the morning, however they do spray amd do their best to reduce them.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank somethingmadeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Somethingmadeup,

Thank you for your feedback. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We are happy to receive your compliments regarding the friendly STAFF and the great service you received.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
6.3 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,799 reviews
5.7 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.1 km away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
2.0 km away
Chrismar Hotel
Chrismar Hotel
#9 of 18 in Livingstone
113 reviews
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Livingstone

Address: Mosi-O-Tunya Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Price Range: HK$1,164 - HK$1,976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Livingstone 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone is a Livingstone hotel located on the outskirts of the city, the tourism capital of Zambia. We sit adjacent to the Falls Park shopping and entertainment complex, so there is never a shortage of things to do around. Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone offers deluxe rooms with air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, electronic safes, electronic door locks, telephone and DSTV. There is an in-house restaurant, bar, swimming pool and two conferencing facilities. The famous Victoria Falls is a mere 10kms from the hotel, making Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone the perfect venue for sight-seeing and more. Nearby leisure activities include bungee jumping, white water rafting, fishing, helicopter rides, golf, game viewing, gorge swing, a crocodile park and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing