We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

My husband and I spent two nights at The Protea which is a Marriot Hotel. The Protea is a very nice hotel with a lovely entry way, koi ponds in common areas and a very good dining room. Breakfast was the best! It is quiet and the staff warm, friendly and efficient. It's equidistant between Victoria Falls and the little town of Livingstone so everything is a very short and inexpensive cab ride.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnetteTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Annette Tampa,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are delighted to receive your compliments about our fantastic breakfast and friendly and efficient STAFF. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We have absolutely loved our stay at Protea Livingstone. All,the staff are so friendly and also lovely with each other. The staff seem to do different jobs in the hotel at different times which adds to the family feel. Small enough to feel intimate but large enough to have lots of amenities. The open plan layout with waterside bar and ponds with breem in was really different and cleverly done. Fountains and water can be heard all the time in the outside area which reflects the nearby falls. Lovely.
The front desk and shop are great at organising trips and helping organise taxis. Great recommendations that they have tried themselves first hand. Not just suggesting things because they have to.
Food was excellent. Really good mix of western style food and local Zambian grills etc.. all salad and vegetables are locally sourced and taste really fresh. Good selection
of small items for lunchtimes as well as evening meals. Coffee really good.
Felt very well looked after by warm and friendly staff who seemed very genuine and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be close to amenities and were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Katie B,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered and the delicious meals served. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay with at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe P
Marketing and Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

this is a great place to stay in Livingstone. they have an amazing breakfast in the morning. They have a generator so if power goes out there is not need to panic. you also dont hear the noise form the bars in your rooms which is awesome!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Brigitte B,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments about our amazing breakfast and we will definitely forward your comments to the relevant management and STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Khetiwe P
Marketing and Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Near Victoria Falls there are the 2 super expensive hotels and a bunch off super inexpensive backpacker/ hostels. This hotel is great if you are looking to save money. It is not on the river. Basically everything is outside. All of the meals (which are ok+) are outside. The hallways from the rooms to the lodge (also outdoors) had a lot of mosquitoes when we were there. Wear long pants and plenty of bug spray when going to breakfast. It is easy and inexpensive to get taxis... but make sure to agree on a fare before you go. None of the taxis have meters, and prices vary a lot. You can probably negotiate down at least half (when we were there it was pretty dead and they were looking for work). The event coordinator at the hotel (Chipasha Mapoma) was fantastic. We decided we wanted to go on a safari our last morning at 7 am and he arranged for us to get picked up by 830 and the safari driver even drive us to the airport afterwards. The people are super nice and overly helpful. If you go to the bungee jumping bridge the guys who walk with you and become your best friends will sell you stuff at 5 times the right prices, but they are super nice and happy while doing it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Jared B,

Thank you for your compliments regarding our super nice and overly friendly STAFF and that your stay was better than expected. Please be assured that we will congratulate our STAFF for their exemplary service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This entire hotel seems to be outdoors! The reception, restaurant, bar, and room entrances all are outdoors and lend a very nice ambience to the hotel. The rooms are a little small but not bad at all. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is large and well equipped. All of this pales in comparison to the staff, the staff is large and everyone is trying to make your stay the best it can be. They are a wonderful group of people! The morning breakfast buffet is very good and also includes cooked to order foods. The hotel is a little bit out of the main downtown area so a taxi is necessary but the taxi price is amazingly low, $3 to get downtown! That also makes it closer to the falls so maybe $6-8. I would absolutely return to the Protea Hotel and likely try out the brand elsewhere in Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John-in-Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear John in Utah,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments about our wonderful STAFF and very good breakfast.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
6.3 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,832 reviews
5.7 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.1 km away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
420 reviews
2 km away
Chrismar Hotel
Chrismar Hotel
#9 of 18 in Livingstone
114 reviews
17 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone

Address: Plot 2110 Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Price Range: HK$1,220 - HK$1,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone is a Livingstone hotel located on the outskirts of the city, the tourism capital of Zambia. We sit adjacent to the Falls Park shopping and entertainment complex, so there is never a shortage of things to do around. Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone offers deluxe rooms with air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, electronic safes, electronic door locks, telephone and DSTV. There is an in-house restaurant, bar, swimming pool and two conferencing facilities. The famous Victoria Falls is a mere 10kms from the hotel, making Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone the perfect venue for sight-seeing and more. Nearby leisure activities include bungee jumping, white water rafting, fishing, helicopter rides, golf, game viewing, gorge swing, a crocodile park and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing