We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
122
159
31
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
159
31
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria falls an indian restaurant no elevator the hotel staff very nice hotel mosquito problem livingstone town cab ride breakfast buffet hotel is located clean rooms ocean basket pleasant stay tour desk zimbabwe border yogurt enjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We have absolutely loved our stay at Protea Livingstone. All,the staff are so friendly and also lovely with each other. The staff seem to do different jobs in the hotel at different times which adds to the family feel. Small enough to feel intimate but large enough to have lots of amenities. The open plan layout with waterside bar and ponds with breem in was really different and cleverly done. Fountains and water can be heard all the time in the outside area which reflects the nearby falls. Lovely.
The front desk and shop are great at organising trips and helping organise taxis. Great recommendations that they have tried themselves first hand. Not just suggesting things because they have to.
Food was excellent. Really good mix of western style food and local Zambian grills etc.. all salad and vegetables are locally sourced and taste really fresh. Good selection
of small items for lunchtimes as well as evening meals. Coffee really good.
Felt very well looked after by warm and friendly staff who seemed very genuine and helpful.

Room tip: All rooms seemed to be close to amenities and were excellent.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Katie B,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered and the delicious meals served. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay with at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe P
Marketing and Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

this is a great place to stay in Livingstone. they have an amazing breakfast in the morning. They have a generator so if power goes out there is not need to panic. you also dont hear the noise form the bars in your rooms which is awesome!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Brigitte B,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments about our amazing breakfast and we will definitely forward your comments to the relevant management and STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Khetiwe P
Marketing and Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Near Victoria Falls there are the 2 super expensive hotels and a bunch off super inexpensive backpacker/ hostels. This hotel is great if you are looking to save money. It is not on the river. Basically everything is outside. All of the meals (which are ok+) are outside. The hallways from the rooms to the lodge (also outdoors) had a lot of mosquitoes when we were there. Wear long pants and plenty of bug spray when going to breakfast. It is easy and inexpensive to get taxis... but make sure to agree on a fare before you go. None of the taxis have meters, and prices vary a lot. You can probably negotiate down at least half (when we were there it was pretty dead and they were looking for work). The event coordinator at the hotel (Chipasha Mapoma) was fantastic. We decided we wanted to go on a safari our last morning at 7 am and he arranged for us to get picked up by 830 and the safari driver even drive us to the airport afterwards. The people are super nice and overly helpful. If you go to the bungee jumping bridge the guys who walk with you and become your best friends will sell you stuff at 5 times the right prices, but they are super nice and happy while doing it.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Jared B,

Thank you for your compliments regarding our super nice and overly friendly STAFF and that your stay was better than expected. Please be assured that we will congratulate our STAFF for their exemplary service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This entire hotel seems to be outdoors! The reception, restaurant, bar, and room entrances all are outdoors and lend a very nice ambience to the hotel. The rooms are a little small but not bad at all. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is large and well equipped. All of this pales in comparison to the staff, the staff is large and everyone is trying to make your stay the best it can be. They are a wonderful group of people! The morning breakfast buffet is very good and also includes cooked to order foods. The hotel is a little bit out of the main downtown area so a taxi is necessary but the taxi price is amazingly low, $3 to get downtown! That also makes it closer to the falls so maybe $6-8. I would absolutely return to the Protea Hotel and likely try out the brand elsewhere in Africa.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John-in-Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear John in Utah,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments about our wonderful STAFF and very good breakfast.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

the hotel exceeded all expectations. the hotel beds are extremely comfortable and you can get a choice of pillows. thethe breakfast was extensive and tasty. the victoria falls are easily accesible by taxi (less than 10 minutes drive). thestaff truly make this hotel memorable. city centre is 20 minutes walk but there is a steers and deboanirs in the centre next to the hotel. the hotel lived up to its 4 star category

Room tip: garden facing and not facing railway track
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haroun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Haroun,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews