We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Islands of Siankaba(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Club(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Green Tree Lodge(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabonina Guesthouse(Livingstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
111
156
30
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
156
30
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria fallsthe hotel is conveniently locatedan indian restaurantno elevatorthe hotel staffvery nice hotelbusiness tripcab ridelivingstone townenjoyed my staybug spraybreakfast buffetclean roomspleasant staylocal attractionstour deskzimbabwe border
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Near Victoria Falls there are the 2 super expensive hotels and a bunch off super inexpensive backpacker/ hostels. This hotel is great if you are looking to save money. It is not on the river. Basically everything is outside. All of the meals (which are ok+) are outside. The hallways from the rooms to the lodge (also outdoors) had a lot of mosquitoes when we were there. Wear long pants and plenty of bug spray when going to breakfast. It is easy and inexpensive to get taxis... but make sure to agree on a fare before you go. None of the taxis have meters, and prices vary a lot. You can probably negotiate down at least half (when we were there it was pretty dead and they were looking for work). The event coordinator at the hotel (Chipasha Mapoma) was fantastic. We decided we wanted to go on a safari our last morning at 7 am and he arranged for us to get picked up by 830 and the safari driver even drive us to the airport afterwards. The people are super nice and overly helpful. If you go to the bungee jumping bridge the guys who walk with you and become your best friends will sell you stuff at 5 times the right prices, but they are super nice and happy while doing it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Jared B,

Thank you for your compliments regarding our super nice and overly friendly STAFF and that your stay was better than expected. Please be assured that we will congratulate our STAFF for their exemplary service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This entire hotel seems to be outdoors! The reception, restaurant, bar, and room entrances all are outdoors and lend a very nice ambience to the hotel. The rooms are a little small but not bad at all. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is large and well equipped. All of this pales in comparison to the staff, the staff is large and everyone is trying to make your stay the best it can be. They are a wonderful group of people! The morning breakfast buffet is very good and also includes cooked to order foods. The hotel is a little bit out of the main downtown area so a taxi is necessary but the taxi price is amazingly low, $3 to get downtown! That also makes it closer to the falls so maybe $6-8. I would absolutely return to the Protea Hotel and likely try out the brand elsewhere in Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John-in-Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear John in Utah,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments about our wonderful STAFF and very good breakfast.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

the hotel exceeded all expectations. the hotel beds are extremely comfortable and you can get a choice of pillows. thethe breakfast was extensive and tasty. the victoria falls are easily accesible by taxi (less than 10 minutes drive). thestaff truly make this hotel memorable. city centre is 20 minutes walk but there is a steers and deboanirs in the centre next to the hotel. the hotel lived up to its 4 star category

Room Tip: garden facing and not facing railway track
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haroun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Haroun,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We were apprehensive at first but decided to stop and look at reception. A surprise, we were greeted by friendly and smiling staff wanting to assist in booking accommodation for the one night. The dinner was delicious, the staff had repellant of which i totally forgot to bring. The rooms were neat and clean. We slept well and were refreshed for our journey to Namibia.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Michelle L,

Thank you for your compliments regarding your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that our STAFF were welcoming and friendly and that you enjoyed a good meal in our restaurant. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Livingstone sleep options tend to be on the extremes. Either Budget/Backpacker/BNB type of places or dream vacation expensive types of places. If that is not what you want this place is a great option. $5 cab ride from town and $10 cab ride from the falls. Restaurant is good. I ate both breakfast and dinner there and was satisfied. However as may have already implied this is not the kind of hotel that will have what appears to be endless options on the menu or breakfast buffet. I thought the room was a bit spartan but Livingstone is not the type of place you go to spend time in the room. Hotel property had a nice but not over the top African charm to it and felt like it fit the location. They even had round showers in the bathroom. There is a gas station next door and a shopping/strip mall next to it, however the mall appeared empty. I would stay here again. Staff was professional and helpful. Maybe a downside for some would be the only fitness equipment I saw as 1 treadmill.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Michael D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews