We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
US$49
View deal
Booking.comUS$63
Trip.com
Snaptravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,362)
Filter reviews
3,362 results
Traveller rating
1,159
982
537
325
359
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,159
982
537
325
359
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team sunrise bar great holiday sea water pools waiters djerba archery catamaran disco arabic program
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 3,362 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We went in May and were on the first British flight out there so there were very few Brits around. The food was very varied and lots on offer so there was always something you could eat. Desserts looked magnificent but failed to live up to expectation, they all tasted very bland which was very disappointing as I love my puds. The staff are all very helpful although alot of them didn't speak English. Not alot to do outside of the hotel unless you travel into the nearest "town" which costs about £3 by taxi. The hotel is full of cats which I didn't mind at all as i like cats but if you're not a cat lover then might be best to go somewhere else, although in fairness the cats really didn't bother the tourists unless they were approached and were all very clean. The pools were all great and the surrounding areas were kept clean and tidy. I would definitely go there again. There is a disco on the complex but it being May when we went wasn't very busy, we went once and there were about 20 people there in total, but I imagine it would be fun in busier times.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel. First time all inclusive and it is well worth the money (and frankly it is very cheap to stay here). There are several pool areas we mainly stayed at the square pool away from the noise and it had a fab sea breeze. It is very hot here so the breeze was welcome. If you want action then stay at the main pool area, always something going on there. Yes there are a few cats around but they generally are nervous of people so will come over but keep their distance.

As for the food we thought it was amazing. Reading some of the comments here you would think it was awful. You havd to remember tgat they are catering fir many nationalities here not just fussy Brits!! Breakfast: pastries, croissants, toast, bread, butter, jam, cereal, continental items such as cheese and meat / sausage and salad, omelettes, eggs, rice pudding, yoghurt, dried & fresh fruits, various hot meats. Freshly cooked Coffee, various teas, squash. Fresh orange juice came at a cost which was the only thing that was disappointing.

Lunches and dinners: salad bar with lots of plain undressed salad veg or mixtures in mayo, a hot bar with hot meats in sauces, potato of some description and rice, freshly cooked fish sometimes, a pasta bar with spaghetti freshly cooked, and Tunisian specialities. These were delicious - usually meat with pulses (beans lentils), a mixed vegetable dish and bulgar wheat / cous cous or fried noddles. Generally these were lightly chili hot so if you like mild curry these are great. On Sundays they have a BBQ - thr fresh swordfish, sliced and cooked in front if you is the best I have had in the world. fresh prawns too, oh gosh they were so good. Puddings were superb. Gateaux, mousses, fresh and dried fruits (water melon is in season there right now), an ice cream bar, various biscuits and little mini cakes. I live for pudding so this was heaven for me!

Go to the BBQ bar for lunch it is really good but I wouldn't bother with the other one by the main pool.

Drinks on all inclusive are listed. The lager beer was pretty good, the wine is an acquired taste but OK and the local anisette was good. Cannot comment on the others as never had them.

We stated in block I a few mins from the main block. The rooms were clean, the cleaner made a towel sculpture and covered the bed with petals on our first night. The view was not great but it was quiet and we watched bee eaters (a beautiful bird like a kingfisher) catching butterflies above us which was an experience.

If you don't want to be ignored tip the waiters but it is not too much hassle to walk to the bar and get a
drink. If you buy anything from the shops haggle!! They always give a crazy price and then ask you to give them an offer if you Ho to walk away.

All in all we had a great time just relaxing and eating and drinking. A perfect place to unwind and recharge the batteries and do as little or as much as you like.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nursej9c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for two weeks at the begining of June and really enjoyed the holiday over all. We arrived late in the night and checked in allmost straight away. Our room was in the main hotel and was very nice and clean. Spacious bathroom, large wardrobe space and balcony view looking over the pool. The only thing about the room was the air-con! Hardly worked and didnt blow very cold but wasnt too much of a problem. The maid who cleaned our block was very nice, did an excellent job and left us a few nice suprises with the towels.

The bar staff in the main bar were ok except one man, who repeatedly took the mick out of English ! We tipped one guy 3 dinar on the first night and he looked after us when he was around for our whole stay. All inclusive drinks and lounge ends at 12 midnight, but at ten to they refused to serve us a drink until my partner and a german guest had to remind the guy that we was on holiday after all and that it wasnt closing time!

The breakfast wasnt much to write home about, but thats just our preference as another couple we spoke to enjoyed it. The evening meals were nice, wide choice to begin with such as fish, beef, chicken or tunisian special but found that it got repetative over the two weeks. Fresh tuna fish was on the menu one night which we really enjoyed.

The pools were very clean and maintained, the grounds are kept very well (the one guy who goes round emptying bins does an excellent job) and the hotel its self is clean and well presented. Cats are everywhere but i love cats! If you shoo them off they will leave you alone!

Beaches and surrounding areas are so relaxing and picturesque, jet ski trip to see dolphins is well worth 200 dinar (£80) and I would reccommend renting a wallycar to see the island for an adventure!

There is lots of entertainment to do if you are interested in dancing your whole holiday! But the animation team was always trying to get you involved in things through day, (but Id rather relax and do my own thing on holiday), but the offer is there if your interested.

Thomas cook rep Marilyn was very helpful with trips, info and such things and fills you in on the locals! Very helpful. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay in Djerba, happy with the hotel for the price we paid.

Room tip: Main hotel rooms are better than the menzels
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bertybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have just arrived home from staying at this hotel for a week. After reading the views we were more worried about our holiday than excited and had set ourselves up for an awful hotel. However we can only agree with the positive reviews. After a 2 hour delay we finally arrived in Tunisia about midnight. When shown to our coach there was a local man putting suitcases on the coach and then demanding a tip. This worried us as we thought the whole week would be like this. If you do not wish to tip the man then do not feel you have to as he is not part of the coach team. We arrived at the hotel about 2 am and checking in was slow and the receptionist spoke very little English however once you get to the front of the queue it is very quick and easy. We were staying in a menzel so had someone show us to our room however guests staying in the main hotel are not shown to their room so it did take some of them a while to find them. After the coach tipping incident we were worried the guy showing us to our room would want a tip. As we had only just arrived at the hotel we did not yet have any of the Tunisian currency. We couldn't have been more wrong he showed us to our room and hurried away straight away. Our room was a beautiful two story menzel which was spacious and clean. Agreeing with some of the reviews it was slightly dated but we liked this aspect as after all you are in a different country. We loved our room however we were very lucky as our balcony had beautiful views of the sea however some menzels have no view at all. We felt our room was better than the main hotel as it is quite secluded and you get beautiful open terrace balconys however with the main hotel the balconys get no sun as they are surrounded by other balconys. On the first day of our holiday we went for breakfast, A little hard to find the restaurant as we had not been told where anything was. Breakfast is small however there is something for everyone ranging from cooked food such as sausages (you have to get there quick as these run out quickly) to pancakes and cold foods such as fruit salad and pastries. We then had our welcome meeting with our Thomas cook rep who was so helpful and on duty often so if you had any queries it was easy to get help. We then went to explore the hotel as there are so many places to sit. By this time unfortunately all the best sunbeds had been taken as people tended to get up about 8am to reserve them. There are 4 pools in the hotel. An inside one, the main one where all the activities happen, a shallow round pool and a rectangular pool. We tended to swim in the rectangular pool as it is fresh water whereas all the other pools are saltwater. If you like participating in all the animation team run activities then the best place to sit is the main pool. We did not like sitting here as there is loud music and the animation team pester you to get involved and continue even when you say no. It got to the stage that we had to pretend we were asleep when we saw them walking round. The round pool and the rectangular pool are relatively quiet and you do not get pestered as much. You will however get hotel reps trying to sell you trips such as quad bikes and camel rides. On our first day we got stopped by the guy selling camel and horse rides. Unless you say No straight away they do not leave you alone. We did end up doing the camel ride as it was something we wanted to do. It is very cheap and works out as £15 a person. Be careful if they tell you you can only do it on one certain day. It is not true they are running everyday so if you don't want to do it that day you will get another chance.If you chose to do the camels be careful because halfway through they may make you swap to horses which you may not want to do. Just be stern and you will not have to. The ride was beautiful as it took you outside the resort and the camels walk right through the lagoon. Our Thomas Cook rep said just to say No thank you very sternly and continue to say it and they will leave you alone. It worked for us! We did water sports whilst we were there. The water sports is to the far right of the resort and very good value for money. Our activity cost us £6 each which was brilliant! From 6am till midnight there is never a time of day that there is not food being served somewhere on the resort. Perfect for when you are with someone who loves their food! Lunch is nice but often just a smaller version of what dinner will be that night. I am quite fussy so did often struggle to find things to eat but there is always pasta and bread at lunch and dinner. After reading the reviews we were worried we would constantly have to tip our waiter to get good service. We sat in one place in the restaurant and continued to sit there everyday as our waiter was so attentive and we recieved brilliant service. By mid week he would know we were coming and he would have a table waiting for us and he had memorized our drinks. We tipped him mid week and he was so grateful and we continued to get amazing service so tipped generously at the end of the week as he really had deserved it.Unfortunately we cant say the same for all the waiters. One day our usual waiter was not in and we had someone else. We received poor service until we tipped him. Talking to other couples we found that some waiters they had would give awful service until tipped. It depends who you get however we recommend sitting on the right hand side of the raised part of the restaurant as that is where our waiter was.Pizza is served all day too and between meals there are paninis and crepes which are lovely! The food can get boring as it is similar throughout the week. We didnt mind this as there are two different restaurants you can eat at for lunch. You can go to both once each week. Neptunes is a beautiful giant BBQ and it was amazing food and a beautiful outside restaurant which over looks the beach.You book this one with the head waiter in the main restaurant. Calypso you do not have to book but again you can only go once during your stay. This restaurant has a menu rather than a buffet style like the other restaurants. They do foods such as lasagna and steak. There is also an a la carte restaurant which you can book once for your evening meal. The evening entertainment was poor in our opinion so we chose to stay in the bar and play cards however if travelling with children then the evening entertainment is probably a good way to spend the evening. One of the bars has free wifi too so if you want to get on the internet it is easy, There are also computers.
If you get bored of staying in the hotel then i would thoroughly recommend getting in a taxi and heading into midoun town on a friday when the market is there. There are always taxis waiting outside the hotel. They are so cheap. £2 each way for about a 15 minute drive! The town is very busy and the locals are desperate to get you to buy so you need to be stern. They also try to sell you things for ridiculous amount of money but it is very easy to get the cost down to what it is worth. They have a huge amount of fixed price shops which sell the same as what the locals are selling but for a very cheap price and you get left alone to look without being pestered. There are also restaurants in the town so if you get bored of the hotel food it is worth heading to these.
The views around this hotel are absolutely gorgeous. I really think it is worth way more than what we paid for and we cannot wait to return!

Room tip: Menzels in C and D block have a sea room and are nice and secluded. The two story menzels are more spacious and prettier than the one story ones
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerrie1_2_3_42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have Just returned from a weeks holiday, arrived late at night and their were three men waiting to check us in i was one of the first to be seen and recieved prompt attension and then we were taken to our rooms,Basic but clean as long as you did not look to closely,We had no view from the balcomy but it was nice and quite we were in block S. 3mins from reception, we went with our two 15yr old grandchildren and they was plenty for them to do.They enjoy table tennis and they took their own bats and balls and they played on them as long as they wanted..They do have competitions on all of their activitys archery/mini golf/volley ball etc. The animation team are very good and will make your holiday if you want them to Aquarobics very good as are the zumba classes.Excellent pools not to sure about the salt pools but again very clean the views around the beach pools are amazing, beach not up to much but its quite and their are sunloungers i could allways get a sunlounger at any time but people do put their towels to reserve them The quids bikes which you can book from the hotel are good value as are the jet skis,Food plenty if you like the choises we did not we lived on cereals/ eggs/ fruit salad and fresh orange juice for a small charge for breakfast / sandwiches from the grill bar go before 11.00am for dinner then crepes about 3.30 Dinner pizzas and somtimes chips on the menu twice in the week.watermelon and chicken sandwiches which we made up ourself. enjoyed our meals at the beach bars we could go in them just once .Some of the waiters ignored us as did the bar staff but on the day we were going everyone was wishing us a good flight.The animation team always had a smile for us. The big problem are the cats all around the complex some of them ill i will say no more .Overhall this holiday had lots of good things and is good for families.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margareth212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews