We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Manar(Hammamet)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Badira(Hammamet)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bel Azur(Hammamet)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,975)
Filter reviews
2,975 results
Traveller rating
1,766
781
263
109
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,766
781
263
109
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamsea viewpool barbar staffgreat holidaylunch and dinnerthomas cookour waiterfantastic hotelsaladturkish bathlarge balconyplenty of choiceworked very hardevening entertainmentfixed price shopsplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,975 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room

I emailed the hotel before arriving and requested a top floor, sea view room and was told to request this when checking in. We decided to see what our room was like first and they had very kindly given us exactly what I had requested. This was a lovely surprise and very much appreciated. The room was lovely, spacious and clean. The view every morning out to the sea was magical.

Food

The food was quite varied but not as much choice as other hotels that we have experienced. Saying that I would always find something to eat and I’m quite picky!

The al a carte Italian was very nice but it’s a set menu so be aware of this if you are a vegetarian or like me, someone who doesn’t like fish.

Cleaners/Staff overall

The cleaners did a great job daily, in our room and all over the hotel.

All other staff are also extremely hard working, friendly and always remember your drinks and dinner table etc. Every lunch and evening we would be given the same table and our drinks would be ready for us. I cannot praise them enough.

Unfortunately, one in particular made me feel a little uncomfortable but I didn’t let this ruin my time here.

Beach/Pool

We didn’t like sitting around the pool because we felt the access to the pool was a bit tricky from where most of the sunbeds were situated.

We sat on the beach every day and the staff were always so helpful in getting us a sun bed and cushions. We were never offered drinks like others were but that’s possibly because we hadn’t tipped earlier. We tipped at the end, we couldn’t possibly tip every member of staff who had done something for us. (Plus for the first 3 days we had no access to money due to our cards not working and not being able to get cash out!)

Out and About

We felt safe being outside the hotel and around the marina (which is two minutes round the corner from the hotel), just be prepared to be hassled by sales men trying to sell you cigarettes and trips or trying to get you in their shops but you just have to be strong and say no thank you, over and over.

We did go to the old marina one day which is about 20 minutes by taxi and about £3.50. I brought a couple of nice leather handbags but not a lot else to see or do. Be careful of men pretending they know you from your hotel, they don’t!! Ignore them and walk away.

TUI Rep

Very friendly and polite and when we explained our situation about not being able to get hold of any cash, he offered to sort this out for us. I was told he could give me £34 pound but a while later I discovered I had been charged £8 for the privilege. He had not informed me of this at the time so was not impressed.


Points to be aware of

Take English money with you! We found a lot of ATMS that wouldn’t accept any of our bank cards and therefore didn’t have any cash to tip or to purchase items when outside the hotel. They accept English money in most places and it can be changed to dinar at the hotel.

BE CAREFUL of slippery tiles on the paths all around the hotel! We saw many people slip as well as experiencing it ourselves. When they are wet they are like a skating rink. Quite dangerous in my opinion but if your aware then you can tread carefully.

Internet connection was not the best

The disabled ramps at the front entrance to the hotel are ridiculously steep and we saw people struggling to push people in wheelchairs up and down!
The hairdryer was not good but not any worse than I have experienced in other hotels.


All in all we had a lovely, relaxing holiday and the only reason we wouldn’t return is because there are so many more places around the world that we want to see.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Rah212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,
We would like first of all to thank you for your excellent review of Iberostar. Our goal is to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with our numerous services in our wonderfully designed hotel, so your words confirming our success are really important to us. We promise to extend your praise to all of our dedicated colleagues because we do have quite a remarkable team here.
It is also good to know that you hold us in fond memories and we very much hope that you visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the first time we have been able to return to Tunisia since the troubles, having been 5 times before. This is the first time to this hotel and it will not be the last.
We travelled from Gatwick on a Wednesday, which this year is a quiet day at the airport, so arrived after a 2 hour 45 minute flight. Everything went very smoothly, onto coach to our hotel, we were first drop off.
The wonderful holiday begins. on arrival we were asked to fill in the government form with our home and passport details, during which time we were given a drink of our choice from the bar. The reception staff were so welcoming and friendly they could not do enough for us. Our room was ready although it was only midday, off we went in a very fast lift to the 4 floor, sea view just as we had paid for. Yes the rooms are a little tired but they had everything you could wish for, Plenty for room as well as good storage and very clean. Went down to reception to sort our Tunisian money as they change it into Dinas, only change a small amount at a time as there really is very little to spend it on. There was 'Ibrahim' again behind reception with answers to all our questions in very good English and with such a smile and a laugh I want to take him home, (this laugh continued the whole 2 weeks we were there. even when we were just passing through) I must say every member of staff showed us the same welcoming smile throughout our stay. They all made our holiday.
I have never seen a hotel with so much space and different places to sit and relax, also comfy. Out to see the pool, which looked so bright and clean, only downside was the tiles were very slippery when wet. But you had a very good walk in so no narrow steps. This is again a slight problem that there is no cover to the pool bar so when sitting and drinking you are in the sun, also you have to queue at the side for a drink . But they do have excellent waiters who will bring a drink to your sun bed when requested. they even came to us as soon as they saw us coming back to sit. (do not forget a small tip) The sun beds are very well placed with plenty of room to follow the sun or shade. could do with more umbrella's through. Chams is the pool guy with the moistest, He can speak many languages and is always there to put down the mattress when ever required. He never stops.
The beach is well secured with both life guide and security guys at all times. The water is clear and clean and the sand soft.
Then there is the animation team, what a group of guys, they work so hard and try to include everyone into having fun. We are 70 so tried to get out of most things, but they still had time for a laugh with us and always made us feel we were not left out. They always looked smart and in the evening they were always there to welcome you into the dining room before moving on to entertain us. Hannah, Nano, Larry, Steve, Zizo, Mr liquid gold eyes, you are all wonderful. Not to forget Mr spinner.
Waiters always had our table laid with our choice of wine waiting for us. The food was of a very wide choice, I am sure not for everyone but you have to allow for all the different nationalities in the hotel. The meat was always very well cooked as were the vegetables, great sweets and salad and always cheese and fruit. If you are looking for a full English breakfast then stay at home. The omelettes were cooked to order as were the eggs but no bacon or English sausages. The Danish pastry's were made on the counter so really fresh. Mohamed and his team were always very welcoming and I am sure if you needed anything different they would do their best.
Nothing is really perfect but for us this came very close, we are checking with Thomas Cook so as to book for next year. (Brexit allowing) Thank you to all the staff You could not have made things any better you are wonderful, and that also includes all the bar staff No forgetting Mounir, through to the cleaners. Please give all of them our thanks. See you next year.
Show less
Stayed: June 2018
Ask JanetandChris24 about Iberostar Averroes

Room Tip: Sea view high floor is worth the extra
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanetandChris24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Janet and Chris,

First of all, we want you to know that we are really happy that you had such an excellent holiday with us and thank you for sharing your experience. As we aim on a daily basis to exceed the needs and goals of our valued guests and provide them with a place of joy and total comfort, we are obviously humbled by your kind words.

We would like to express our gratitude once again for your wonderful feedback and hope to have the honour of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a wonderful weeks holiday. Our room was fantastic spacious and spotless with a large balcony over looking the pool and sea.
The food is plentiful with an amazing choice i would challenge anyone to be unable to find anything to there taste. Our amazing waiter Hamdi kept the wine flowing at lunch and dinner and plates etc were cleared quickly. Salim at the pool is brilliant drinks replenished before you had time to ask. Our evening bar waiter Schabalou is worth another mention what a fantastic young man a real credit to the hotel. The entertainment team work tirelessly with the usual activities daily, and a full evening entertainment schedule. All in all an amazing holiday carnt wait to return to this ultra friendly hotel well done Averroes and our compliments to your wonderful staff.

Stayed: June 2018
3  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Pauline,

We are grateful to you for choosing Iberostar for your latest holiday, and for sharing the experience with us. Your enthusiastic comments about the prime pillars we set in place to ensure amazing holidays for our guests are great to receive. Beautiful locations, helpful and friendly staff, and high standards of gastronomy are some of the most important elements of our company and reading that you found them all to your liking is brilliant news.

Once again, we thank you for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked sea view with this hotel but disappointed with the mouldy bathroom that needs a revamp,the bath/shower looked quite grubby.I must say the staff were very pleasant/ helpful and worked very hard especially the animation staff.We have been to other iberostar hotels in other Countries but this one wasn’t up to their standard.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Shirley,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude to you for sharing your experience with us today and also for the improvement possibilities that your comments provide us with. We will relay the areas of concern that you mention in your review to the correct department for their serious consideration and we apologise for the inconvenience. However, we are delighted by your compliments for our pleasant and helpful staff and we know they will be thrilled to know that they enhanced your holiday experience. Shirley, we hope to have the pleasure of your company in the future at one of our hotels. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good hotel, lovely and clean, rooms great. Pool and beach very nice chilled and quiet.
WiFi is very temperamental though! Can’t get on different apps.
Staff and others are lovely,
Would recommend, very hot, entertainment by the pool good for interaction

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank zoeydudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Zoey,

We would like to express our appreciation for your kind words and positive rating of our hotel. It was a pleasure to read your description of our establishment and it motivates us to maintain our standards. Of course, we will relay your compliments to our team, they will be delighted to know that they enhanced your holiday experience. It would be an honour to serve you again in the future at our hotel, until then we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews