We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
globetrotter820
Oxfordshire

Excellent two days rest

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Feb 2018
We stayed in The beachfront Vila, super , two deckchairs and a hammock outside on the beach, the room was clean and fresh water in bottles was left with tea and coffee. Food at the restaurant plenty and beautifully prepared and the staff friendly, especially Dennie, the swimming pool is in a delightful tropical garden setting. one thing to be aware of, although the hotel said it had free transport from the pier, we were approached by a man saying, were we going to Baan mai hotel, we said yes, and he said he would take us there for 1800B , not so the transfer was free from the hotel.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
HK$676
  • Agoda.com
    HK$676
  • Hotels.com
    HK$674
  • Trip.com
    HK$673
4.2 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$630
  • Agoda.com
    HK$516
  • Hotels.com
    HK$631
  • Trip.com
    HK$788
3.0 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$536
HK$301
No fees just great deals
  • Trip.com
    HK$536
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
5.9 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$391
  • Agoda.com
    HK$369
  • Vio.com
    HK$223
  • Hotels.com
    HK$392
3.1 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$706
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$706
  • Hotels.com
    HK$703
  • Trip.com
    HK$702
5.9 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$813
  • Agoda.com
    HK$791
  • Vio.com
    HK$749
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,093
3.5 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,472
No fees just great deals
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,573
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,130
  • Expedia
    HK$1,573
6.9 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Rawai Palm Beach Resort
HK$253
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$248
  • Hotels.com
    HK$385
  • Expedia
    HK$385
5.6 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$191
HK$175
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$183
  • Hotels.com
    HK$189
  • Trip.com
    HK$191
6.0 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$801
  • Agoda.com
    HK$705
  • Hotels.com
    HK$845
  • Trip.com
    HK$723
6.4 km from Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rawai
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
35
20
12
4
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
20
12
4
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

we booked same day as we arrived late to the hotel around 19.00 and we called the hotel multiple Times to arrange the boat trip to the hotel. once we arrive the receptionist tell us we can Only stay one night even tho we had Hotel confirmation for 2 nights... she could have said anything while we were on our way but she would rather trick us out to the Island stay there for 3 hours go to sleep and then check out and end up on the streets. we however slept in the big villa wich was dirty overall. expensive food and mediocre food. terrible service from reception. after this nightmare experience we were glad we only stayed 1 night...

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank edwardsE3806OA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BaanMaiPhuket, ผู้จัดการ at Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Edward Sundell and Friends

Thank you for your reviewed

Regarding to Booking ID 253880645 Check in 12 - 14 February 2018 by Agoda

First of all , We do apologize for any inconvenience from reception because she just informed you that

Normally We provide free shuttle boat transfer everyday at Chalong pier

from mainland to resort (9.00,12.00,15.00) or latest time 17.00 hrs

from resort to mainland (8.00,11.00,14.00)

out of schedule time we do extra charge 500 THB/way/person

Your booking was made on 17.00 hrs 12 Feb 2018 and you called us need pick up time around 18.30 hrs.

So the boat will take a bit time to be there because it's out of schedule time

However we do not charge for boat transfer from them anymore

Secondly , We do apologize for misunderstanding from our reception because you made booking 2 nights not 1 night

We would love to informed you that our resort is on the island , All of ingredients have to be brought from mainland. In addition we cooked fresh foods by fresh seafood , Vegetable everyday not made from Frozen food.

Food safety is an important part of our kitchen. Cleanliness and Sanitation of the kitchen is the most priority of our restaurant

We also have Housekeeping department who checked the room before guest arrival. if it's not acceptable please let our staff know before you slept overnight.


Thank you and Best Regards
Baan Mai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

A place with huge potential for those seeking the easy life on a secluded beach (note: stones, not sand), but there's a mix of tired management and rude tourists that occasionally gives an unwelcoming vibe. The only option for a restaurant is crazy expensive compared to normal prices in Thailand, 2-300% of normal prices. The average 120 BHT curry will cost you 400 BHT. A bottle of water 120 BHT, a big Chang 230 BHT. The food is ok, but you have to see past the fact that you are being ripped off once you a trapped on the island.

The staff is friendly and helpful, but the service at the restaurant needs some improvement.

There's something about the boat, your connection to the outside world. There's a free boat 3 times a day (both back and forth), last one going to the island at 5 pm. It's a bit unclear whether you can ask for boats at other time and at what cost. The announced cost is 500 BHT per person per way.

The silence on the island at night is lovely. As the last free boat goes to the island at 5 pm you are also forced to stay at the island every night - and dine at the restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Traveller_365247
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

We visitied baan mai as a family of 4, youngest only 6months old and we loved it. Our house was right at the beach, the atmosphere is very relaxing and the staff is super friendly. As a family we loved it. If you want to relax this is the place. If you want shopping you can take the boat (10min) free of charge at set hours. We will return and stay longer next time.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 306caroline89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BaanMaiPhuket, ผู้จัดการ at Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Caroline

Greeting from Baan Mai Beachfront

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us

Hope to see you again next time

Have a nice trip

Regards
Baan Mai Team ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this tranquil laid back resort on a hideaway island off the south coast of Phuket. It's one and a half hours from the airport by taxi and boat but well worth it and only 15 minutes by "long-tail" back to the mainland at Chalong . We prefer the garden bungalows as they offer a jungle environment with birds and wildlife all around.You will hear howler monkeys regularly , but these shy creatures are very elusive. There is a 20 metre freshwater pool which appears to be "green" but this is caused by the pool tiling being green in colour. The brekfasts are excellent and mixed with fresh coffee galore. We have gone through the dinner menu and can recommend everything. The meals are freshly prepared and cooked so can take 15/20 minutes to appear but well worth the wait , especially with a chilled bottle of Singha Beer to hand.The views and sunsets from the open fronted bar/restaurant can be fantastic. You can step straight from the restaurant and beach bungalows straight on to the beach. Be aware that parts of the beach are pebbly/shingly so beach shoes are advisable. Although the sea is warm and clear swimming is only possible at high tide. There are beach and forest walks, while hammocks and salas give leisurely shaded areas at the beachside for reading and snoozing or boat spotting !!

Room tip: Garden bungalow rooms have both beach and jungle views
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ruthr589
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We stayed there just one night. Unfortunately, our long tail boat picked up us late for 1.30 hrs. We disappointed . When we checked in, we were cordially greeted by staff with refreshment that was very nice and made us smile. Cottages was lovely size but looks tired. It needs to be renovated.(No TV and safety box)
For dinner, I totally agree with other reviews that very expensive ex. fried rice costs 350 Baht per dish but I recommend coconut iced shake though. :)
Staff at the reception was helpful and friendly.
All in all, I'd recommend for 1-2 nights here. If you want more tranquil and private, escape from being overcrowded.

Room tip: Deluxe beach front
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pangpond_NST
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BaanMaiPhuket, ผู้จัดการ at Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Madame

Thank you for your reviewed

We have to inform you that about the food was expensive because we have to bring the fresh food ingredient from mainland to resort everyday by boat ,There are 2 portion for fried rice ; 150 THB for small portion (1-2 person) and 350 THB for big portion (3-4 person)

Looking forward to seeing you next time

Regards
Jacqueline P.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews