We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Haven Khao Lak
Nearby Hotels
The Sarojin(Khao Lak)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bangsak Village(Khao Lak)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveller rating
656
373
88
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
373
88
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvongolepool accesshaven resorthaven staffsunset barlay restaurantmain poolluxury escapesbike tourocean fronthappy hourlocal restaurantsfree shuttlekhuk khak beachbeautiful resortbeach bagtowel folding
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked The Haven for 4 nights based on reviews and even upgraded to have a private beachfront Jacuzzi villa (not private from neighbours fyi).
Upon arrival we immediately noticed a lack of attention to detail. The hotel room appeared quite tired and poorly maintained, especially as The Haven is not an old hotel and given 5 stars! For example, obvious white sealant down cracks in the door, tiles missing from front of infinity pool, Jacuzzi had rusty areas and seemed unfinished around the edges with rubbish down the gaps (photos attached). We had arrived at the Haven following an amazing stay at the local Sarojin hotel so wondered if we were being picky. Then I took a shower and the entire shower head was crawling with ants!! I sprayed them off and then took the quickest shower of my life before heading to reception to ask them to look into this.
Dinner felt like I was in a cheap hotel in Benidorm. Poor entertainment happening when I was expecting a quiet, relaxing dinner. Slow service. Same menu for lunch and dinner and then they started blaring out Happy Birthday (which I understand was nice for the birthday boy/girl but I only expect that to happen in Frankie and Bennys, sorry). Didn't even get back to my room from dinner before we had been to reception to request check out in the morning and full refund for the nights we would not be staying. Initially handled patronisingly by the two staff on reception telling me they were in charge but I persisted with asking for the manager on duty of whom they have a picture on the desk and neither were him.

Now this guy was The Havens saving grace. James listened to our concerns, immediately made a phone call to someone who could authorise a refund which was agreed there and then. We checked out the following morning with a further apology from James and a free transfer to our next hotel (which thank god was great! Robinson Club Khao Lak if you're interested.) Refund from booking.com in our accounts before we left Thailand.

We did go for breakfast and saw birds pecking at the croissants...

Overall, we were paying over £200 a night for a hotel that does not meet the standards of a self proclaimed luxury hotel. If you are wiling to pay this for a hotel please take a look at some of the other hotels I have mentioned.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Haven Khao ... K, Front Office Manager at The Haven Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hayley A,

Thank you for taking your time for sharing your feeling and again for apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your stayed and was not meet your expectation. Let me explain about private Jacuzzi pool, every pool villas have own private Jacuzzi pools but they could see from the neighbours next door of course. We never advertise that our Jacuzzi pools are privacy even in photograph. So please make clear that you understand this. One more thing you said Jacuzzi seemed unfinished around the edges with rubbish down the gap, this is our designed, every villas have same design. Rubbish that you mentioned are the leaves fall down from the trees.Regarding for the ants, we did not expect because we do pest control every week. So we are really sorry again.

About the dinner, during you stayed there was lot of guests and it was raining, many guest came for the dinner in the same time. Of course it was busy and noisy during peak hours. But this is a hotel public area. You were mentioned that you prefer Sarojin because it is quiet. Please let me tell you The Sarojin has 56 rooms but The Haven Khaolak has 110 rooms. You were continue the stayed at Robinson Club Khaolak which has more than 330 rooms more busy, more noisy?

I hope my explanation can help you to understand us better. We truly understood that The Haven is not what you expected. However, we are delighted to know that James assisted and ,made the right decision for you.

Regards,

James Nuimuang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We selected deluxe pool access room which was in the quiet part of the Resort with a private access to the pool which services six well appointed rooms.The salt water pool is clean and well maintained.Each room has access to the individual spa.The rooms are clean with a lounge area with adequate seating. The king bed is clean and comfortable.The ensuite is spacious with a good shower.The toilet is clean and has a bidet.The toiletries provided is more than adequate.The rooms are cleaned daily and several towels for use after swimming. The mats and a basket is provided if one want to go to the beach. The buffet breakfast is s excellent with western and local favourites.There were adequate nag options.A shuttle service to a local market is provided.Spa treatment,gym facilities,and beach activities are available if you desire.Overall a good holiday for over 18s.

Room Tip: Children under 18 are not welcomed hence it is always quite
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Haven Khao ... K, Front Office Manager at The Haven Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear skandy1,

Thank you for kind words and good review for The Haven Khaolak. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stayed at The Haven Khaolak. I hope to welcome you back again.

Regards,

James Nuimuang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort is in an isolated location which was ok for us however we understand it is a bit tired and lacks maintenance. There are handrails rotting and some very loose. The resort is not disabled friendly, stairs everywhere and certainly not wheelchair friendly at all. There is only one restaurant on site which was disappointing however there are some great Thai restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are great but also lack good housekeeping, mould in the shower. The pool is fantastic and the beach is lovely and private.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room which was great. They offer spar rooms which are not very private though.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harves46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Haven Khao ... K, Front Office Manager at The Haven Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Harves46,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feeling during stayed at The Haven Khaolak. We are sadly to hear some points of this stay is not meet your expectation. For example, the hotel is not disabled friendly, I have no excuse with this. Guest who has a disable travelling with, since they contacted the hotel. We always inform this to our guest that our hotel is hardly for Wheelchair and disabled guest. Some areas some parts are under preventive maintenance program but somehow this plan bases on guest's in house experience, weather, equipment and spare part. However, we are appreciated for this feedback.

Regards,

James Nuimuang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Proud Australian and Luxury Escape user and to this date they have not failed us and this place was a perfect place to rest and unwind, we had the pool access room and found it so peaceful and was big enough to roam around, rooms were well maintained and never had an issue with the cleaning and any requests that we asked for, buffet breakfast was good probably predictable and bacon was dry all the time so maybe that's an issue to look at , theme nights were good but at times service was poor, check in and check out was simple and like everyone else 200 metres outside the hotel are some great restaurants and massage places be warned though they are open ones and I'd strongly recommend the no6 massage place they were the best by far. Still gave the hotel 5 as the main reason was to escape everything and everyone and for that it fulfilled what I expected

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pieforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Haven Khao ... K, Front Office Manager at The Haven Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear pieforlife,

Thank you for your kind words and excellent review for The Haven Khaolak! We are glad to know that your stayed all everything was perfect and met your expectation. We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

James Nuimuang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst the lack of maintenance has been stated before, depending on the price paid for the overall package (we had a Luxury Escapes package), I think it can just about be over-looked. I was informed that it was 90% booked, but there was always plenty of room and beds available around the pool. Breakfast and the restaurant meals were okay, but the standard is just the same (and cheaper) in the local restaurants (5 minute walk away or 100 Baht if you are lazy) near to the hotel. Room (partial sea view) was spacious and clean and most of the staff were friendly (not all staff can speak English fluently). Massages in the hotel were good (local ones also available close to the hotel), but the ambiance was a little lacking due to the noise around you. Taxi into Khao Lak is worth a visit either by the hotel's free shuttle or by taxi (300 Baht each way), and if you haven't done it before, so is a swim/wash with the elephants. We had a great time, but ongoing maintenance needs to start sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: The rooms situated at either end of the first floor accommodation block facing the sea may have a better partial sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Haven Khao ... K, Front Office Manager at The Haven Khao Lak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear pja2,

Thank you for taking your time to sharing your feeling during stayed at The Haven Khaolak. We hope to see you back again to The Haven Khaolak sooner or later.

Regards,

James Nuimuang
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews