We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
131
18
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
18
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second home dala dala place to stay shared bathroom day safari mosquito net arusha city benson wifi africa hotsprings tarangire shillings zanzibar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2021

I stayed at the Greenhouse Hostel for 3 days and had a great time! The rooms were clean, shower was hot, and we had a filling breakfast every day. Benson went above and beyond to show my buddy and I a great time and show us local spots in Arusha. I highly recommend staying here!!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesse846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson Mariki, Owner at The Greenhouse Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad that you had a great time at the Greenhouse Hostel, we do appreciate for your feedback. We hope you will recommend us to your family and friends too. All the best and stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2020

Comfy house, with place to chill, easy + tasty breakfast, clean bathrooms, gender seperated dorms and two private rooms. Helpful staff, pub near by.
And above all a well organized and wicked safari. I will be back.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KlausBluebeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020

Such a great experience staying here at the Greenhouse. Benson (informative/guide person) and Selena (hostel operator/chef) were both outstanding. The rooms have mosquito nets and WiFi, and breakfast/dinner included. Food was amazing and great to try local dishes. Benson was extremely helpful with local connections to book safaris (Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorogoro, Manyara), treks (Kilamanjaro), or other side trips (Zanzibar). I took a taxi back from the airport but he is also often helpful with pickup/drop offs from the airport if you have things booked beforehand. The area is not the best to navigate at night unless your airport taxi driver knows where the location is. MapsMe or google maps have their older location which is a few hundred meters from the current one. Just make sure you look out for the sign on the left side of the road! Transportation from hostel is pretty easy to get to Arusha city center by dala dala (400 shillings) and there you will find the ‘western’ shopping center and ATMs, etc. Overall very great experience and would recommend to anyone looking to experience local Tanzania.

PS: consider leaving a little tip for the wonderful staff for their cooking and hospitality, they were VERY appreciative!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AjMtravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

The Greenhouse Hostel is a great place to stay in Arusha. It’s very easy to find and the connection to the city center is very good. It’s very familiar and Benson make every trip possible, no matter how spontaneous. I would book here again, for next travelings to Arusha. The staff is always there and very helpful, you can ask for help in every matter. The two cats, the dog and the turtle make the hostel as well to very cozy place, where you can relax and meet a lot people from all over the world.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank carinamN3796ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019

I stayed with a friend at the Greenhouse Hostel in September 2019. The Location of the Hostel is perfect - not too far and not too close to town ;) The rooms had everything we needed and I really liked the chill-out-area. It was nice to chill there with a cold Savana or get ready for a cool partynight :))
Benson is amazing. He showed us some nice places (for food and drinks) and showed us the african way of life
We even booked a Trip with him. We went to Tarangire Nationalpark, to Lake Eyasi and to Lake Natron and it was the best time of our holiday ☺️ Thanks for this trip! I definitely would do this again!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank maria-schober95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews