We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
9
15
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
15
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen swimming pool kitchenette tv suite beds kilimanjaro africa
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Three colleagues and I had a business trip in Arusha and we stayed at Gold crest for 4 days. On the plus side, it’s clean affordable, well located in the heart of the city (7 minutes walk from the Masai market). Not only that, they have a nice bar and another one upstairs; the staff is very friendly and always ready to help. Most of the rooms have a bedroom+kitchenette+bathrooms and leaving room.
However their swimming pool is too small as well as the gym (not more than 5m x 5), the food of the buffet is average (expect the menu à la carte), thé wifi is not stable and specially in the bedrooms...
Really enjoyed my stay there.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank G3870SEpatrickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We got robbed at Gold Crest Hotel, Arusha Tanzania. We checked in around 11:30 pm on Sunday, September 30, 2018, into the presidential suite (ground floor) as we had kids. We immediately went to sleep, as we had been travelling all day and were very tired. The lights in our room were on. We put a bag that contained our particulars (passports, cash, credit cards, car keys, etc) on the bedside table. When we woke up the following morning, the bag had disappeared. We reported the incident to the hotel and their feedback was it was our fault. The management was most keen on covering up for their staff and until now, have not acknowledged any responsibility….…. even though we made it a police case, the lack of support and cooperation from the hotel, despite the fact that this happened on their premises, that is gated and had security guards, has been very frustrating. We also later discovered that a window close to the bedside table had been left open, and also that their surveillance cameras only cover the front part and not the alleys at the back, for the room we had been allocated. We had to modify our trip at huge financial costs so that we get emergency travel documents. Frustrating!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Padington M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

The environment and the rooms are wonderful! The roomas are the largest I have ever seen in a hotel! Because the hotel used to be a condo, each room is like an apt. with kitchen and living room. Very nice indeed! The food is perfect and the staff is wonderful! The variety of itens for breakfast and lunch/dinner buffet was incredible! They also have a great choice for drinks and natural juices. The only reason I will not give 5 stars is the issue related to tip for the staff. Unfortunately, the hotel is not organized in a way that the tip you give to staff on the check (signing to your room and credit card) actually gets to staff. Unless you leave cash on teh table or give directly to staff on their hands, they will not get the tip. I suggested a solution to the manager on site and I hope that it gets taken seriously for future travelers. After all, the staff working at the hotel are the ones who make sure everything is perfect! If htey are happy, everyone is happy!

Room Tip: Rooms on street level are easier to get to for people with babies or difficulty with stairs since they do not have elevators
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Danuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights pre safari. The hotel itself is lovely and relatively modern. The menu is varied and the good and the buffet breakfast was decent. I barely slept for the 3 nights we were there .Our room was huge, but the mattress consisted of a piece of plywood and maybe 2" of foam. It was AWFUL and honestly, after 24hrs of travel - it was just the worst sleeping experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

The hotel offers spacious apartment style rooms with living room, kitchenette and bedroom. The rooms are nicely furnished though the tv etc is only in the living room and none in the bedroom. The restaurant and bar offers tasty meals and a wide range of drinks. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Arusha.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dennis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews