We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
US$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/21
Booking.comUS$186
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
1,161
311
22
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,161
311
22
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roy safaris baobab restaurant anuj sharma the general manager boutique hotel beautiful hotel the hotel manager indian food first night two nights rooms are spacious safari trip breakfast buffet long flight small hotel restaurant staff an oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

similar to other reviews, I was staying for 2 nights to rest from international travel before heading to the Serengeti. The staff were universally friendly and helpful. The room was bright with a big window overlooking the pool and grounds. I enjoyed spending the afternoon by the pool working through the good internet service. Definitely a good choice for my needs.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yustina Mallya, Guest Services / Front Office at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bill,
It is a pleasure to know that the African Tulip was a good choice for your needs. We appreciate you taking time to write your review and knowing that you were satisfied with our friendly and helpful staff as well as the good internet service. We look forward to welcoming you anytime you are in Arusha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here right after arriving at Kilimanjaro airport from the US through Amsterdam. The staff were warm and welcoming, even though it was after 11 pm, and they kept the kitchen open for us to have a late dinner, which was above and beyond and very much appreciated. The room and grounds were lovely, the meals were terrific, as was the staff, and it was a restful and comfortable 2 night stay before embarking on a bush safari.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yustina Mallya, Guest Services / Front Office at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rita,
It is a pleasure knowing that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you next time you are in Arusha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

I stayed at the African Tulip for a few days before and after my 5 day safari and the level of service was consistent throughout. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The water dispenser was also much appreciated after an afternoon of walking through the markets of Arusha town. The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stays.

One thing that could improve the overall guest experience, it would be having a bureau of exchange onsite to exchange USD for TSH. With the COVID protocols in place at the airport, it took us over 2 hours to leave at which point we completely forgot about getting local currency and it would've been nice to do so at the airport instead of having to go into town.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Britt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yustina Mallya, Guest Services / Front Office at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Dear Britt,
It is great to know of your experience with us especially the consistency on the level of service.
Regarding the bureau exchange, we do understand the convenience of being able to exchange forex at the hotel which we did before but then the Government introduced a new system and closed all bureaus except those at the banks.
We thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

We began our Tanzania journey with a two-night stay at the African Tulip. The comfort, the warmth, the service, the attention, the tranquility ... couldn't ask for more. I'm not sure about the location, as we had a driver to take us around. The grounds are beautiful, quaint, and the interior is welcoming, comfortable, and magnificent ... all at the same time. Very friendly staff, and quite accommodating. Would definitely recommend to folks I know, and to folks I do not know.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Djw1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yustina Mallya, Guest Services / Front Office at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your African Tulip experience.. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Arusha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021

We stayed at the African Tulip for one night as part of our 7-day safari package. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms and beds were comfortable and spacious, and the food was very good. We only stayed one night, but we'd happily recommend this place to anyone, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were in Arusha.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yustina Mallya, Guest Services / Front Office at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Thank you for sharing your African Tulip experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews