We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lidwala Backpacker Lodge
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantenga Lodge(Ezulwini)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvubu Falls(Ezulwini)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Swazi Spa(Ezulwini)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lugogo Sun(Ezulwini)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bethel Court(Ezulwini)
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
50
34
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
34
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking traila great place to stayvillage tourrural africaprivate roomstream runningwell equipped kitchenlots of spaceother guestsvolunteerstentbackpackersbreasthostelbackpackingdormsupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

This place is great .... for the price point.

Amazing scenery, amazing hospitality .. we stayed In a private room and it was better than many hotels we have stayed in previously!

Only issue was very poor WiFi .... although that is sometimes to be expected in rural Africa, it was however virtually non existent.

Clean, Tidy, well priced, very welcoming.... a great place to stay, in an amazing amazing country.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

thank you for the review. We have improved the speed of the WiFi and continue to improve the standard of our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I've been a Peace Corps volunteer for just under two years and I've stayed at a few hostels in Swaziland. Lidwalas is a nice, friendly and clean place to stay. It can get a bit noisy late at night but if you get a private room or tent you don't hear it!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

thanks for the review Jamie. i know on fridays it can get a bit noisy but we do try keep it quiet after 10pm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We spent one night here and it felt like we where part of a family. We had a cookout with the manager and some Peace Corps volunteers. Everyone was friendly and helpful. the rooms we rented were very luxurious. The showers were clean and hot.We have stayed at a few hostels but this one might be the nicest I've ever been to.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

thank you for the review. i'm glad to have been a part of creating some of the good memories in your holiday and we will continue to improve to make sure that next time you come this way your stay with us is more enjoyable and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Have stayed here many times dating from way back when it was only a backpacker lodge. In the past few years they have added a number of lovely private rooms with en-suite bathrooms situated in the Ezulweni Valley's lush and beautiful setting. There is a communal kitchen for those who want to prepare meals but there are a number of restaurants nearby so this is not necessary. Although it is mostly the backpacker crowd, there are also professionals and a pool and playground for those with young children.

Room Tip: The newer individual cottages offer more privacy and more modern facilities.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Africatvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

thank you for the review. yes we have been getting more corprate clients at the lodge and families. the diversity is very pleasant indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I booked a room by phone and when I got there the said that they had given the room to someone else, it was late and I had to scramble around trying and find another room, which was very difficult on a Friday night at 18:00. Not impressed.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews