We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
106
229
158
42
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
229
158
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel rooftop bar bean bags sri lanka swimming pool sea view short stay sun loungers nice pool air conditioner lewis place the main road three nights overlooking the beach negombo beach restaurants and shops wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Joined a tour group here - what a friendly and happy hotel. A lovely buzz of visitors and staff. The room was comfortable, clean with air conditioning and a hot shower. Good value for money and politeness of the staff.

Unexpectedly, came back to Hotel J as I broke my ankle in 3 places whilst on the tour. What a welcome back to the hotel we received - amazing smiles and a warm welcome. Treated well and with such care. Breakfast was sufficient - must say i really enjoyed the buffalo curd, a most unusual taste which grew on my palate. Again had a lovely room with an air-conditioner and a fan. I do highly recommend the deep fried sweet and sour prawns - delicious meal to take away any pain i was suffering. A great hotel to stay at - pool so inviting and the beach is a stone throw away. My friend and I are planning to return next year.

Room Tip: Try get a balcony - you get a seaview and I am sure the sunsets.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnneP3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review following your recent stay at Hotel J, Negombo. We are glad to know your stay with us had been a memorable experience.

We at Hotel J do our best to make each guest feel at home and well looked after. May he/ she come for a visit or a stay over, we ensure that each guest is given best of service and attention at all times. We wish and pray you will recover the injury faster and be back to normal.

Do visit us again and enjoy hospitality in its unique forms at Hotel J, Negombo. Thank you for your patronage.


Sincerely,

Vivian Vaz
Team Leader – Hotel J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nice with a small pool and closer to the beach. The room is clean and has comfortable spacious bed with AC and Fan. Ac is not working well. The staff are friendly and helpful.
If you are looking for a budget hotel, I’ll recommend you this hotel. Just beware of the tuktuk drivers outside. We booked taxi through “pick me”, when the car arrived, there were tuktuk driver tried to talk to the taxi driver and after they talked, the taxi driver left and cancelled my booking. Tuktuk drivers wanted all the tourists would ride tuktuk which the price is more expensive than uber.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank xymadrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are very appreciative of your feedback complimenting the location and the facilities & services of the hotel. Your kind words not only praise the unique features of the property, but also deliver a picturesque message to all guests who wish to patronize Hotel J, Negombo in the near future and I have shared your specific comments with the relevant people concerned regarding the TUK TUK issue face by you even though it is out of our property.

Until we meet again, thank you for your patronage.


Sincerely,


Vivian Vaz
Team Leader – Hotel J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Hi ..im guest of ur hotel i was in 105 room .Starting from the cheaking service was fabulous .There were two girls priyanki and dharshani who became more friendly for us ..and from reception to security there services was marvellous and i have no words to say..
Amith Dilanka Anwar Sudesh Remon really good ones .and im hoping to come back again,Situated in an excellent location. Had a great time because of peaceful atmosphere. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Loved the food and was really delicious. Good quality and pleasing service . Everything was fulfilled we were really pleased and had an excellent stay...amd nvr want to forget there caring for us...see. you soon in june❤

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank trip12354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review following your recent stay at Hotel J Negombo. We are glad to know your stay with us had been a memorable experience.

We are very appreciative of your encouraging feedback highlighting many services and facilities extended to you by our associates. Your kind words not only compliment our service levels but are also a promising message to all guests who wish to visit us in future. Thank you.

Once again we thank for choosing to stay at Hotel J, and we look forward to welcoming you back in June.


Sincerely,


Vivian Vaz
Team Leader – Hotel J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

This place was great value for money. Definitely worth a stay. The staff were wonderful. It’s not 5 Star, and it isn’t trying to be. It’s a good, solid stay. The breakfast was great. Try the Sri Lankan breakfast. Also request a room facing the ocean.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Odyssey358516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review following your recent visit to Hotel J, Negombo. It pleases us to know that you had enjoyed every moment spent under our hospitality.

It is always a treat to receive positive comments from satisfied guests like yourself as it not only compliments our services but also delivers a promising message to all our future guests.

Until we meet again, thank you for your patronage.


Sincerely,


Vivian Vaz
Team Leader – Hotel J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

A new hotel with all the basics. Characterless. Generally clean plain rooms with aircon and fan. Good shower. Comfortable bed. Plastic chair. No hospitality tray. Lift. Fast food menu. Breakfast very basic, you have to pay extra for eggs. Garden with pool and loungers leading to the beach.
Receptionist checked me in for my flight.

Room Tip: Sea view from some rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018


Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are very appreciative of your encouraging feedback highlighting many services and facilities extended to you. Your kind words not only compliment our service levels but are also a promising message to all guests who wish to visit us in future.

Once again we thank for choosing to stay at Hotel J, and we hope to welcome you back at Hotel J in the near future.


Sincerely,


Vivian Vaz
Team Leader – Hotel J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews