We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Best driver and guide in Sri Lanka

Upul was our driver and guide during our three weeks in Sri Lanka, July 2019. He was the best we... read more

Reviewed 16 February 2021
c0ebergh
,
Woerden, The Netherlands
Thoroughly recommended

Upul is a first class driver, guide and person. Sri Lanka is full of wonderful people and... read more

Reviewed 16 February 2020
DawlishRed
,
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Read all 31 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Negombo
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$629.34
More Info
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
30
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews days trip driver guide sri lanka land wishes knowledge ella country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2021

Upul was our driver and guide during our three weeks in Sri Lanka, July 2019. He was the best we could wish and hope for. He is a really good driver, he tells about the surroundings and history if he thinks we're interested and takes a step back at the right moments. He really understands your wishes very quickly. Thanks to him the four of us (mom, dad, daughter and son) had an unforgetable time in Sri Lanka and what's left are great memories. If you go to Sri Lanka: make sure you book Upul!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank c0ebergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

Upul is a first class driver, guide and person.

Sri Lanka is full of wonderful people and beautiful sights. However, the roads are busy and getting around is a challenge as a visitor. That's why I would unreservedly recommend Upul.

This amazing man will sort out an itinerary to suit your needs and the time you have in the country. He will book your hotels for you and provide you with intelligent, fascinating commentary on the sights that you see. All while negotiating those tough roads!

We had the pleasure of spending four days with him in Feb 2020. His is a very safe driver and is brilliant at what he does.

Honestly, I could not speak more highly of Upul - a true gentleman and a pleasure to have met.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank DawlishRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

We get in contact with Upul to organize a 10 days trip in Sri Lanka. The tour was great and the price absolutely ok! Unfortunately Upul was already busy in the period we planned for our trip, but he was able to organize for us a "spare" driver (Sarath), that guide us in the Land!
Really recommended! Top!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank alessandro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

Upul was a great driver/guide. We asked to see a fair amount in our 4 days and he certainly delivered..... always with a smile. He knows every short cut to ensure you spend the most time visiting the sites.
He arranges great accommodation (even finding us a fabulous hotel once we finished our tour) and takes you to the entry point of sites to visit which makes the trip so much easier; whilst driving he will point out places of interest and so you learn throughout your trip.
Highly recommended, you won't go wrong with Upul.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Duffmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upulweerasinghe, Owner at Sri Lankan Drivers and Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2020

Dear Sarah
Thank you very much valuable review
See you next time
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

Upol was our driver for just over a week as we traveled to Kandalama, Ella and Weligama. I can't say enough about the excellent service we received. Upol is a wealth of information about Sri Lankan culture, history and geography. He knows which places to visit whether it is to unique sites or delicious culinary experiences. At all times, we felt completely safe with Upol's driving skills. He is punctual, flexible and willing to accommodate requests. Not only is Upol professional, but he is also a super nice person, who has a great sense of humour. If you are looking to enhance your visit to Sri Lanka, I highly recommend Upol. You will not be disappointed and will feel like you have your own personal tour guide!

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank johnsh883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews