We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookery Course”
Review of Day Tour Sri Lanka

Day Tour Sri Lanka
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
River Safari Bentota
Ranked #8 of 44 Tours in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Day Tour Sri Lanka is a Sri Lankan based specialist Travel Help line that assists incoming tourists. We take care of you from arrival to departure and ensure that you enjoy your holiday. Day Tour Sri Lanka contains of all kinds of information you would like to know before traveling to Sri Lanka. From Colombo Airport to hotel, historical sites, holiday activities, shopping and evening entertainment etc. Whatever it is you are looking for, navigate this site and you can design your own holiday or contact us to design a tailor-made holiday for you.
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

I did this cookery course whilst staying in Bentota. I was picked up by Gayan (whose wife Veronika runs the cookery course) and proceeded to the market to select some vegetables for use in the cookery lesson, the choice being totally mine. We then proceeded to the house where Veronika carried out the lesson. Be advised this is not your sterile UK cookery school. The lesson is carried out Veronika’s kitchen, you cook with the utensil and facilities that the locals use. A two ring burner. It may sound primitive but you are fully immersed in the cooking methods the locals use. We prepared the vegetables, the Tuna was bought earlier by Gayan although you could have requested meat or a purely vegetable meal to prepare. I was even shown the method used for finely grating coconut (anyone who watched Masterchef will have seen Nawamin using the same method sat on a low stool). I spent three hours having a personal lesson in Sri Lankan cooking and then was sat down with a massive table of dishes which could have fed an army. It taught me the culture of Sri Lanka and the variety of foods. I thoroughly recommend anyone to give it a try, you won’t have problems understanding Veronika as she speaks very good English. But you may be rather full when you eventually leave. If you have any questions you can email on entotacookinglessons@gmail.com or call Veronika on 0094722397267

3  Thank Silverfoxmickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gynsampath, Manager at Day Tour Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your lovely review and see you aging in sri lanka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"always on time"
in 5 reviews
"initial contact"
in 2 reviews
"elephant transit"
in 2 reviews
"sri lanka"
in 17 reviews
"through tripadvisor"
in 2 reviews
"stilt fishermen"
in 2 reviews
"airport transfer"
in 2 reviews
"river safari"
in 3 reviews
"turtle hatchery"
in 3 reviews
"bentota area"
in 2 reviews
"safe driver"
in 2 reviews
"nuwara eliya"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"national park"
in 2 reviews
"rohan"
in 4 reviews
"company"
in 5 reviews
"colombo"
in 6 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We had Gayan as our driver whilst staying in Bentota. He drove us in Tuk Tuk and car to different destinations. Speaks good English, is a safe driver and very reliable. If you need a good driver in Bentota area give him a call ‭+94 (77) 438 8443

4  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gynsampath, Manager at Day Tour Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your lovely review and see you aging in sri lanka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

I originally booked this trip with Viator who chose Day Tour Sri Lanka as the tour provider It was an amazing day from seeing the Sunrise in Mirrissa to seeing blue whales [5 times] a school of dolphins and mating turtles. The crew who did the tour made sure that people did not miss a sighting and really took care of the passengers on the ship

Afterwards we went to see the stilt fishermen but be prepared to tip them.

It was a well run trip thank you Gayan.

1  Thank nikki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayan S, Manager at Day Tour Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks for your lovely review and see you aging in sri lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I had booked tours and airport transfer with Sri Lanka day tours. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour to the elephant sanctuary and the Galle tour. All guides were extremely helpful and was willing to adjust the tours based on our likes. One of us had car sickness travelling and all the guides were so considerate. The airport shuttle service was value for money considering the hotel rates for airport transfers. We will defnitely use their services if we visit again.

3  Thank crystal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayan S, Manager at Day Tour Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and see you aging in sri lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This two day trip made our stay in Sri Lanka. We booked before we left the uk and the whole process could not have been easier, Gayan was superb in his communication and was so quick to reply to my many questions. The two day trip was exactly tailored as we had requested.

Sri Lanka had an extremely bad tropical storm which had caused flooding, damage to to properties and many fallen trees had blocked roads, however despite This Gayan was in touch the day prior to our trip and still made the trip possible altering plans to ensure we still got to do all the things we had requested.

The safari was amazing and both me and my partner loved every second of it, we also visited the elephant transit which again was beautiful. We visited a local gem mine, Galle and a turtle nursery and the hotel we stayed over night in was opposite the national park where we did the Safari. We saw so much wildlife and came away with hundreds of excellent photos.

Gayan who runs the company with his brother was also our driver and guide for the two days, he was extremely friendly, very informative and went the extra mile to give us a perfect safari and trip. The cost of the trip was very reasonable and cheaper than our tour operator and we loved the fact it was a private tour.

I could not recommend Gayan and his tour company enough and would certainly use them again for any trips in Sri Lanka. 5stars

2  Thank StaffordshireCraigH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayan S, Manager at Day Tour Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thanks for your lovely review and see you aging in sri lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Day Tour Sri Lanka also viewed

Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Day Tour Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing