We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,390)
Filter reviews
3,390 results
Traveller rating
1,987
885
326
111
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,987
885
326
111
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palms restaurant chinese restaurant tease bar sea view restaurant sri lanka duty manager seafood sea facing main restaurant executive chef beautiful property private beach indian ocean memorable stay house keeping special mention pool staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 3,390 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2020

Food was good although there is room for improvement in some dishes. Very helpful and friendly staff. Beach was amazing and pool was good. It would be nice to have a friendlier and much happier person at the gate, who would make the first impression of the hotel a memorable experience. Quite an unpleasant situation when the person at the gate talks to you rude and makes you feel unwelcomed even before you had entered the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rikazaizadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit Shankar, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Greetings from Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, Sri Lanka!

We thank you very much for your review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. Your inputs for improvement have been noted and we will certainly have them addressed. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits. Thank you.

Best regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020

Very peaceful and homely environment
Lovely food and super staff.
Love the greenary and well maintained landscape.
Definitely recommend for friends and relatives to experience this beautiful and exceptional setting.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank kalanajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit Shankar, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Warm Greetings from the Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, Sri Lanka!

The team and I are delighted that you had a fantastic stay at the hotel. Your feedback is truly appreciated and will certainly be shared with the team. It will be our privilege to have you stay with us again, during your future visits. Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and for choosing to stay at the resort. Please stay safe and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at Taj. Overall, it wasn’t the greatest experience. Sometimes, it only takes one bad moment to spoil a holiday and then you see a lot of other issues which you may otherwise ignore. Still wondering if this was the case.

The first negative experience was when we wanted to go for a walk on the beach. It was 5:30pm. When going out the gate, we were told by the security guard that they close the entrance to the beach by 6pm and that we had to be back before that. Whilst I stated that we would want to stay till later as we were just heading out, it seemed that the security guard was to go off duty and when he does, he would lock the gate at 6pm. “Did we come to a hotel or a hostel” was the thought that crossed our mind. During the beach walk, I had to call the duty manager and arrange for the gate to be kept open till we return. Problem was solved but the mood was already ruined.

It’s expected that hotels would cut costs where possible, to survive the impact of the pandemic. Hence, limitation in variety of food etc was expected. The quality of food was good, hence a plus point. Potion sizes of the desserts, very small but something that can be ignored. Service was decent. However, I didn’t expect the rooms not to have toiletries. Discovering this in the morning and calling the hotel to ask for it, we waited over an hour but still didn’t get it. Whilst one can understand cutting cost, the hotel could have informed the guests via a small note in the room to request for it if required, and once requested, ensure it’s sent within half an hour. There were few other minor hiccups of this nature that made the experience underwhelming. Overall, not a lot to complain about but these little things can ruin the relaxing mood you’d expect when you go on holiday.

Hope the hotel will take steps to get the service experience right first time and when cutting cost, be mindful of the client experience.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chinthaka004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit Shankar, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Greetings from Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, Sri Lanka!

We thank you very much for your review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. Your inputs for improvement have been noted and we will certainly have them addressed. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits. Thank you.

Best regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

We had a beautiful stay at the Taj Bentota Resort & Spa in Bentota. We were at Taj 2 days for relax.
The hotel is high class, rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff very polite and helpful. the location is very central and on the beach, the restaurant staff were very professional.
Swimming pool also have a good atmosphere. We had a great time in the weekend.A perfect place to relax, lot of water sports near the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fathima1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit Shankar, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Warm Greetings from the Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, Sri Lanka!

The team and I are delighted that you had a fantastic stay at the hotel. Your feedback is truly appreciated and will certainly be shared with the team. It will be our privilege to have you stay with us again, during your future visits. Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and for choosing to stay at the resort. Please stay safe and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

Thank you Mr Ranjit and your team for a superb stay! Taj Hotels continues to look after their guests even in these extremely difficult times, with their warmth and excellent hospitality! Special mention to Dilhani, Madhuranga & Mr Chatterjee, as well as chef Neeraj.. thoroughly enjoyed our holiday!!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vuvuvuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit Shankar, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Warm Greetings from the Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, Sri Lanka!

We thank you very much for your feedback and are delighted that you had a fantastic stay at the hotel. Your feedback is truly appreciated and will certainly be shared with the team. It will be our privilege to have you stay with us again, during your future visits and we look forward to welcoming you back! Stay safe and well!

Warm regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews