We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson by Wyndham Albany
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CrestHill Suites Albany(Albany)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
49
83
90
45
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
83
90
45
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard mattressexcellent free breakfasthot itemsnice roomwhole foodsnice propertyfree wififront desk personnice staynight's sleepbeds were comfortableoatmealeasy accessclose to the airportconvenient locationrefrigeratorfixtures
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Needed a safe place to stop along my journey without being too expensive! Staff was friendly! Area was well lit! Seemed to be an older hotel, but in decent shape! Room was clean! Even the bathroom was clean! I was hoping to relax with a hot bath, but the tub, although clean (which is rare in many hotels), wouldn’t hold water! So, that was out! Room was quiet, I was on the backside away from traffic! Breakfast was good! Typical make your own waffles, cereal, variety of breads, oatmeal, coffee, etc! There were a few options missing, like Yogurt! They did have flavored coffee creamers in the refrigerator! Nice big courtyard area around the pool! I got a good rest and was back on the road!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Bevvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bevvt,

Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. I am happy to hear that you had a great time at Howard Johnson Inn - Albany hotel! Our ultimate ambition is to provide a five star experience, and we are thrilled to learn that we have succeeded. We are glad your stay was comfortable and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went during graduation weekend when hotels around the area were all booked. Upon check-in, I was told I had to take a smoking room since I booked at cheaper rate through Expedia. I reserved for non-smoking. Room smelled horrible and clothes had smoky smell just from sitting in the room. Won't be running back or recommend this hotel with this type of customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank whalerfan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear whalerfan2015,


We are sorry to hear that your stay & experience was unpleasant. We do our very best to ensure our rooms & equipment are thoroughly cleaned and maintained. Unfortunately, despite our efforts to ensure that nobody smokes in non-smoking rooms, it does occasionally happen and I hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke that
you experienced. Thank you for bringing this misstep to our attention, as it helps us to improve. We hope you will give us another chance should you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

In need of updating especially the bathroom. Walls are very thin we could hear kids screaming. But only paid $70 with tax so great value plus breakfast is inlcuded. The continental breakfast was way better then I had expected and had a larger variety then most places that offer free continental breakfasts.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We can't thank you enough for sharing your feedback with regards to our breakfast and value. We hope you will return so that we can provide you an even superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We stopped in here with no reservation. Check in was quick and easy. Room was average but very cold. Parking lot was a sheet of ice and dangerous.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Curtiss N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Curtiss N,

Thank you for letting us know about the inconveniences that you encountered to the parking lot during your recent stay at our hotel. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much
more attainable. I am very sorry for the impression we left you with, and we hope you will return to experience
our continuing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Check in was easy. Breakfast was a decent continental style with plenty of choices. Room was typical no frills and bed was comfy. Location for shopping and dining was great. Definate value for your mobey.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank sakins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

sakins76,

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast offered at Howard Johnson Inn - Albany hotel. Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the value as well; and we are looking forward to your next visit
to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews