We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$652
View deal
Expedia
US$614
View deal
Agoda.com
US$508
View deal
Hotels.comUS$614
FindHotel
eDreamsUS$652
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveller rating
1,511
114
23
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,511
114
23
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chedi club chef dean personal butler pool villa cocktail hour afternoon tea rice paddies hot air balloon free laundry complimentary mini bar sunset cocktails private estate our honeymoon the general manager car service banana fritters main pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2022 via mobile

Wow! Tanah Gajah lived up to the rave reviews that enticed us to stay 6 nights at the start of our honeymoon. We travel often to high end resorts in Southeast Asia, and Tanah Gajah rates amongst the very highest in every category; it runs far ahead of the pack for serenity and staff attention.

This is a beautiful property that felt like an oasis in Ubud, which can get very crowded. Our Villa was wonderful - spacious and always kept clean and cool, crystal clear water in the plunge pool, and a well stocked complimentary mini-bar (including liter sized flagons of gin, vodka and whiskey). Beyond our Villa were acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, pools, fountains and outdoor and indoor art at every turn. Vibrant rice fields surround the property. And despite the resorts many pools and fountains and the nearby rice paddies which could give way to a buggy environment, Tanah Gajah was virtually mosquito free.

Besides the visual treats and creature comforts, the food at Tanah Gajah is fantastic. We started each day with complimentary yoga from experienced instructors, which helped lessened the guilt of a typical Tanah Gajah breakfast of truffled scrambled eggs or eggs Benedict, banana smoothies, pastries, mie or nasi goreng, and of course fresh fruit. And then there was afternoon tea accompanied by tasty bites, followed by cocktail hour, also complimentary, as were car trips and pickups anywhere in the Ubud area before 6 pm.

But as almost all visitors have noted, the highest accolades go to the staff at Tanah Gajah. They were delightful and attentive - all of them - from the groundskeepers to the managers. Perhaps it is because they are treated well in turn: Tanah Gajah retained and paid all of its employees throughout Covid. Reception created a WhatsApp group for us upon arrival, and we kept in touch with them throughout the day, whether at the resort or when we were out and about.

Don’t miss having a special dinner prepared by Master Chef Dean, now over 10 years with Tanah Gajah. He makes sure that Tanah Gajah’s food ranks with the best of Ubud’s best restaurants. Dean smoked his own salmon and bacon, creates his own seasonings, uses the freshest ingredients from his extensive gardens, and sources foods from around the world and locally. The romance of a dinner under the stars at Tanah Gajah is unsurpassed by any restaurant in Ubud.

We really can’t say enough great things about the resort. Our only nits were the water clarity in the big shared pool (the smaller pool was perfect) and the noise of the gas jets that keep the resort’s hot air balloon aloft can disturb the tranquility of dawn and dusk. Small nits far outweighed by the many positives.

We will definitely return, and will stay even longer next visit. This was an amazing find!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Inspire02806605028
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 June 2022 via mobile

Very serene and beautiful resort with multiple facilities. Various statues of Lord Ganesha. Enjoyed paddi field trek and free laundry service was quiet handy. They have an amazing coffee machine also.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 895prernak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 June 2022 via mobile

Love the setting, the level of service and how incredibly pretty, private and authentic it all looks and feels! Great for couples or families. We celebrated our wedding here 4 years ago and came again straight after restrictions have been lifted.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 457siab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 June 2022

Where to even begin. This place was simply outstanding. My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon and Ubud was our third destination in Bali. Upon arrival at the hotel our jaws simply dropped. We couldn't believe how fabulous this place was. The grounds alone resembled a national park and a place you could spend an entire day walking around and taking photos and taking in the scenery. We were greeted by Suan at reception and driven to our villa via the scenic route of the grounds on a buggy. During the drive Suan explained all the perks and benefits of the hotel and was warm and enthusiastic. Upon arriving in our villa (which also was amazing) we met some more staff including Pasak who had come to our villa personally to greet us and welcome us which we were very touched by. Suan gave us a tour of the villa (which was beautiful) and gave us some more key information including details on the free daily replenished mini bar (spirits inclusive!) Suan then informed me that he would add me to a Whatsapp group and any time (regardless of request) I could message and someone would get back to me. Well this was an understatement. Whenever me and my wife needed something someone would reply IMMEDIATELY. When we requested some tours and excursions that the hotel could recommend, within minutes this had been researched and presented to us at very reasonable prices. The tours were also brilliant and our private driver was happy to take us wherever we liked with a smile. The hotel was also on hand to drive us to the town center and collect us just via a Whatsapp message! This level of communication and service was amazing. Just amazing. Afternoon tea and evening cocktails were complimentary every day and you had the added option of having these wherever you like. Including your villa! Breakfast was delicious too and this also could be arranged to be taken in your villa. I could write a book at how amazing this hotel is because its all the small little details that are probably not even thought of by other establishments but the Tanah Gajah seems to have thought of them all and almost anticipate your every need. With a smile! This is truly the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I would gladly recommend this to anyone and would happily return. Thank you for making my wife and I's stay so magical

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 June 2022

The hotel grounds are a wonderful sanctuary from the crowded streets of Ubud. We stayed in a room with our own pool and we loved it. The staff are excellent and the service is very good albeit with a few small glitches as the hotel was gearing up again after covid. the spa facility and it's staff are a wonderful part of the hotel facilities as was the car service into and out of Ubud. The opportunity to have the enjoyable breakfastsin your suite or at the restaurant was appreciated and the delicious cocktails were an excellent start to the evening.

Room tip: make sure you go on the rice paddy tour.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank IanM5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews