We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is as good as the view!”

Luxe Barbeque and Grill
Ranked #17 of 912 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$125
Cuisines: French, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Luxe Barbeque and Grill is Fine Dining restaurant located 15 minute walk from the Ubud Palace. We offer complimentary pick up service by motor scooter from the corner of Jl Kajeng & Ubud main road. We specialize in barbeque and grilled food using as many quality fresh local ingredients as we can from sustainable farms. We have the finest selection of steaks from around the world complimented by a world class selection of wines. We process our own meat and fish to insure the highest quality and taste without using any preservatives and artificial flavoring. Luxe dining room has vast views of the rice paddies. Come join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Evening Dining at LUXE: We recommend you reserve your LUXE dining experience on line to guarantee your table. The dress code after 5:00 pm is smart casual, no singlets or board shorts. The minimum age of our guests after 5:00 pm is 12 years old.
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We stayed at Luxe and ate here a few times during our stay. It's a really beautiful restaurant with amazing views over the rice fields (an excellent sunset view!). Great menu, the cocktails are fab and the service is impeccable. As an aside, the staff uniforms are super cool!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ceeceedeeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Barbeque and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

We appreciate you taking the time to share your LUXE experience with the Trip Advisor community. Putu, our Mixologist has worked closely with Sam, LUXE Executive Chef, on developing some very delicious cocktails that are world class. I am glad you enjoyed his creations. This is the first comment we have received on our uniforms and we think they are cool as well. On behalf of your LUXE family, we join together to say Thank You for the kindness you showed us all during your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you more of our LUXE Taste Sensations! Kind regards, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 419 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

We've been to this restaurant on the last night of our stay in Ubud and it was absolutely fantastic: great food, great service and great location. We totally recommend it for lunch or dinner. It's a bit outside of the center (that is why the scenary is so nice) so if you don't have a rented motorbike just call them and they will come and pick you up (and take you back) for free! We've been in Ubud 7 days and it has been our best meal. A little more expensive than other restaurants in the city but much higher quality and totally worth it!

1  Thank Valentina13983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Barbeque and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your LUXE experience with the Trip Advisor community. We feel really happy knowing we were able to create a wonderful dining experience for you. Thank you for choosing to dine with us. We look forward to the next time we can serve you more of our LUXE Taste Sensations. Kind regards, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

First of all be warned - this place is only accessible via a long windy path up a steep and sandy potholed hill. A car will not get you close so you have to either walk or take a scooter and if you are an amatuer rider on that surface you could EASILY come off.

That being said, once you arrive you are treated with some nice views from the cafe with good airflow.

We were given a welcome drink and refresher towels upon arrival free of charge. This was a nice touch. We were also given free breadsticks with dipping sauce which we thought was good.

As far as the menu goes this place is basically just a gourmet burger bar. You have a range of options and can even build your own which is great! If you are looking for a 10 page booklet with 100's of items then you will have to go back down to a warung. There is nothing wrong with doing a few things well and these guys do just that.

The food itself was VERY GOOD. Tasty, high quality and exactly as advertised. They clearly take pride in what they do.

The waitress was lovely but she came over a few times and watched us and attempted to start conversation. It was a bit awkward and just felt like managements directive not out of real concern. Towards the end of our meal another man did the same a few times and again, while it didnt ruin our experience it did seem rehearsed/forced as they both asked the same questions where we were from but werent that interested in chatting any further and left mid convo.

In my opinion they are so desperate to keep the top position on tripadvisor because they are so far out in the sticks for the average joe that it is their only way to get people trekking up to the place. If you look on their negative reviews managements replies are so defensive and rude that it reeks of desperation and becomes very transparent.

If you survived the gauntlet of potholes, loose rocks and a steep hill about 2k from the main road then you will enjoy a high quality meal with fresh ingredients at a slightly premium price. We had a good time and loved our meals but at the end of the day it was just a burger and toasted chicken sandwich both of which you can find in abundance at many other more accessible places in Ubud.

Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Barbeque and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your LUXE experience with the Trip Advisor community.

The PICTURES you have posted on your review of LUXE are not of our food or from our restaurant.

I am pleased to know you enjoyed your food from our lunch menu. We do have three menus, Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Our lunch menu does focus on gourmet burgers, sandwiches, soups and salads. Dinner is completely different culinary selection.
The journey to LUXE is part of the entire experience, many people enjoy it while I can see how some would not if they dislike the 1400 meter walk, of which 600 meters is through the rice terraces, or complimentary motor scooter ride from the center of Ubud.

I am disappointed you view some of our responses to guests as rude & desperate. From our perspective, it is important to respond to every review when a guest has taken the time to write about us. To us, this is respectful. We believe it is important guests have the opportunity to get a sense of our personality. We certainly never intended to be seen as desperate or rude, more so honest, appropriate and straightforward. Yes Trip Advisor is one of many important sources of reference for world travelers and business’s in the travel and hospitality business.

Our business is hospitality and our commitment is to do our very best to create a wonderful experience for each and every one of our guests. It would be very helpful for us to know how you would respond to this review if you were us. We are very interested in learning and improving in everything we do. Feel free to contact us at any time guestrelations@luxevillasbali.com

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at LUXE. Travel safe and have a great time in Bali. Kind regards, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

The burgers I found in this cafe exceeded my expectations by far. If you are in Ubud and would love to have a serious burger, this is the place to go, period!! These are no standard burgers, they are gourmet, an unique experience for your palate. The price is not so popular though, but they are worth every single bite..!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flor_Mayeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Barbeque and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Thank you fro taking the time to share your LUXE Burger experience with the Trip Advisor community. We spent a long time sourcing the prime cuts of beef, the correct blend of cuts and the combination of natural spices that we use to make our burgers in our butchers kitchen. We make our own buns and all the condiments are created one by one by our culinary team. We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed our burger. On behalf of the LUXE family, we join together to say Thank You for choosing to dine with us. Please return for more LUXE Taste Sensations! Kind regards, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended. This place is tucked away and only accessible by motor bike or food but well worth it.

Our waiter was extremely attentive and friendly. In fact we went back a second time. It's pricy but very good. Much better than the other luxury restaurants in ubud. Lastly, the attention to detail in this spot is top notch.

Food was incredible and the chef Sam very friendly. I loved how you got to walk through the kitchen to the dining area.

Thank adamatwlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Barbeque and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your LUXE experience with the Trip Advisor community. I enjoyed speaking with you both and wanted to continue our conversation but when I returned to the dining room, you had departed. When you live on the opposite side of the world and meet someone from a neighboring city to where I was born, I always get a heart warming feeling, it stimulates great memories of being raised in a small town. I am sorry we missed each other on your second visit. I am happy we achieved our mission of creating a wonderful dining experience for you. Please return to LUXE when you are back in Ubud, so we can meet again and serve you more of our "Taste Sensations". Kind regards, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luxe Barbeque and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Luxe Barbeque and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing