We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Kafe Batan Waru

Kafe Batan Waru
Ranked #214 of 926 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: With two locations, one in Kuta and one in Ubud, Batan Waru is well known for its amazing Indonesian menu, breakfasts, salads, coffee and desserts- something for everyone!
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Whilst you pay a little bit more here than other places it is absolutely worth it if you are looking for something different to your cheap nasi goreng. I had a beautiful farm to table meal that allowed me to try a mix of different things followed by the fried bananas for dessert. I also got there in time for 2 foe 1 cocktails and was able to have my meal outside as a solo traveler facing the road along a bar style bench which allowed me to people watch. The service was fantastic.

Thank Kylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Kafe Batan Waru, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Kylie,

Thank you for your kind review of Batan Waru Ubud, We really happy you come and give us a good review. And we were glad to hear that you loved the food. Hope to see you back again soon and hope you enjoy Ubud!

-The BGF Team-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2018

We had a delicious meal here. Great service, reasonable prices and delicious food. Very authentic Indonesian, great presentation and fabulous taste. They serve the sauces and relishes to enhance flavour.....watch out for the spicy hot sambal!
(Maybe avoid ordering whole pieces of chicken as the local Balinese birds are scrawny and quite tough!)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EKTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Kafe Batan Waru, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi There,

Thank you for your kind review of Batan Waru Ubud, We really happy and appreciate that you give us 5 stars. And we were glad to hear that you loved the foods. Hope to see you back again soon and hope you enjoy Ubud!

-The BGF Team-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Batan Waru for a bit of an up market change to cheap Nasi Goreng and really loved it. The food was really tasty and the waiting staff were great. We ate early at 17:45 so we could go and watch a dance and it worked really well. Great people and moped watching onto the street

Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Kafe Batan Waru, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Graham,

Thank you for your kind review of Batan Waru Ubud, We really happy and appreciate that you give us 5 stars. And we were glad to hear that you loved the foods. Hope to see you back again soon and hope you enjoy Ubud!

-The BGF Team-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I went to this restaurant as it is conveniently located. Ordered the tofu appetizer and the grilled fish.

The tofu was doused in sauce and had sour taste.
The fish, was half a fish obviously prepared the day before, over some half cooked vegetables.

I had two bites of the fish, I knew I was gonna pay. Thirty minutes later, I was cramping in the bathroom.

There are better options out there, tastier and cheaper.

Avoid if you can, eat at your own risk.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank minhboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Kafe Batan Waru, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi There,

We are incredibly sorry to hear that the fish you ate caused you to get sick. We have always been proud of the fresh quality of our food because we use the most expensive and reliable suppliers on the island. If the fish you ate was not fresh this is a huge concern to us as we get deliveries daily and have quite a high turnover so it would have arrived bad from the supplier. Thank you for flagging this experience to us. We are so sorry to hear you had a poor experience. If you’re still in Bali we would love to make it up to you. Please contact us directly at info@baligoodfood.com.

-The BGF Team-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Oxtail soup had nice flavours but quantity and quality wise not as good as at the cheaper warung Kelapa, juice very simple, friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Kafe Batan Waru, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi There,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Batan Waru Ubud. We are very sorry to hear that the food did not live up to the level we pride ourselves on. We very much appreciate your feedback as we actually just switched to a new supplier for the oxtail soup as we were disappointed with the quantity we were given. We hope to see you again soon, and you can retaste this dish using produce from our new supplier.

-The BGF Team-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kafe Batan Waru also viewed

 

Been to Kafe Batan Waru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing