We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, hospitable accommodation”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pondok Ayu. Staff were friendly and hospitable. The pool was lovely and very welcome in the heat. Our room was comfortable and spacious,with good aircon. (The bed was not the most comfortable, however.) As the hotel is not that close to the beach, they offer a free transport service in and around Sanur, which was great. Would definitely recommend Pondok Ayu.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from five nights at Pondok Ayu and I am left wondering one thing... How on earth did it take me so long to find this place? We have been to Bali quite a few times in the last few years, and I have always found myself rushed, pressured and not totally relaxed. So from the easy check in to our final dinner everything was relaxed and easy. Room was spacious and well looked after, and as there is only five rooms there is always room for all by the gorgeous pool. Breakfast is plentiful, cooked to order and delicious. Lunch or dinner have limited options but delicious and simply perfect for a poolside snack or early dinner if you are tired of going out. Staff are amazing...helpful, friendly, around when you need without hovering. Our room was beautifully made up by the time we finished breakfast each day. Pondok is a couple of minute drive to all the sanur areas and if a hotel driver is not available, a taxi is provided to take you wherever you like in Sanur within minutes...all included in price. It was very nice to come home to such a peaceful place each day. Massages by the pool were extraordinary and very well priced. Can't wait to come back and thank you so much to all the Pondok family. ❤️

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Trish2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you so much for your time and great comments regarding Pondok Ayu.

The fact that you spoke about the transport around Sanur was so appreciated as we take everything that we do to make our guests stay the best and i think we have covered the fact that we are not on the beach is taken care of with the free transport and even the taxi contact if our driver is unavailable.

We hope to have you back at Pondok next time you plan to come to Bali also Pondok is a great place for groups and many take advantage of that with families or friends and it is like having your own big big villa.

Thank you again.
Gede & ALL AT PONDOK AYU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was spacious and spotless. Complimentary airport transfers and free shuttle service to Sanur. Small ,intimate hotel with only 5 rooms and a lovely small pool. Hotel is in a quiet street away from all the hustle and bustle but only a 10 minute stroll to the shops and beach. Breakfast is adequate and made to order. Staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. Will definitely return to Pondok Aya .

Room Tip: choose a suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ofusMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your time to comment on what we call our small piece off heaven in Bali and like you many guests have said the same thiing.

It really helps us as well with comments coming in from our guests.
Once again thank you and hope to see you back at Pondok some other time.

Regards,
Gede & ALL PONDOK AYU TEAM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Pondok Ayu is a beautiful little gem hidden away with everything you can want for a relaxing getaway. A small establishment with attentive staff who look after you to make your stay special. Although small you have a sense of privacy with large bedrooms and ensuite. All rooms look onto the pool with comfy lounges and a shared dining room for breakfast, which is made to order each day.
Their staff have been there many years and are very professional and caring of the guests. Although the position of Pondok Ayu is on the opposite side of the bypass to the beach, transport is offered anywhere in Sanur complimentary. This is a great service and certainly appreciated by us. An real find in Sanur and very affordable. Thank you Kedek, Made, Gede and Putu.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gaz958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you so much for your time in sending your great comments to us. We do try to offer everything to make our guests comfortable and enjoy their holiday in Bali. So glad that you commented on the free transport in Sanur and we hope that you may return for another holiday at Pondok Ayu.
Regards
Gede and all Pondok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Loved Pondok Ayu so much last year i was sitting by the pool booking again for this.Our 2nd vist didn't disappoint us.The wonderful staff are excellent at looking after everything that you may need for your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 upstairs have beautiful views of the sun going down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kerriej59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your repeat business and we are sure we will see you again.
Regards
Pondok Ayu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 79 in Sanur
523 reviews
0.7 km away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#6 of 79 in Sanur
419 reviews
0.7 km away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
0.8 km away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
2.6 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#18 of 79 in Sanur
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: HK$539 - HK$617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 6 (2011-2017) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing