We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pondok Ayu, Sanur”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We returned to Pondok Ayu after 2 years. It was just heavenly. Nothing had changed. Still the wonderful, welcoming place we first came to. Gede, Made, Putu, and Kadek, made us so welcome. Just relaxing by the pool, having a massage, and generally relaxing, was just the balm we needed after a rather full-on year. I simply can't praise this lovely haven enough. It's a place of great peace, and I just love it to bits. I really hope I am able to go there again. Thank you , Gede, and Made. From Louise Collier

Room Tip: Any room is lovely. There are only 4, plus the owner's fabulous suite. I liked room 4 upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank louisecollier7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, General Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello to you both, it was our pleasure to have you both at Pondok Ayu again and we also hope to have you visit again.

We are really happy with our Pondok Ayu and enjoy our job as we do welcome great guests and lovely to know that they really appreciate what we provide.

Our regards to you both.
Gede & ALL AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Pondok Ayu is away from the main drags of Sanur so is peaceful and quiet. Gede, our host, was very happy to drop us off in Sanur when we went out however it is a walkable distance. Our room on the first floor had good aircon and shutters you could open to generate a breeze to keep us cool.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MikeyNZ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello and thank you for your comments regarding Pondok, glad you enjoyed the atmosphere around Pondok and great you explained the transport help for guests that don't want to walk.
Hope we can have you stay with us at Pondok again some other time.

Regards,
Gede & ALL STAFF AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

well two weeks of heaven,pondok caters for every need i could ask for,very pleasant staff to look after you at all times,food good,great pool [exceptionally clean]
all the staff have a smile and a kind word at all times,rooms very comfortable and very clean,food and beverage prices reasonable[not ripped off from a beer from the fridge in theroom]nearly same price as supermarket costs,
will be booking again for next year and the year after..
thanks pondok ayu for a memorable holiday,,,

Room Tip: all rooms are good,but the suit has a indoor spa,luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dyral m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello and thank you to you and your group, you know that it makes things so much better for us with guests like ALL of you. We are just so happy that you just keep coming back every year and with all your friends, also you have worked things out that to book ALL OFF PONDOK you book so far in advance.

Glad you all got home safe and sound.

Once again it is our pleasure to have you all and look forward to next year.
I will make sure that the rest off the staff read your comments.
Regards,
Gede and ALL THE STAFF AT PONDOK AYU.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

My family and I had a fabulous 10 days at Pondok Ayu in April 2017, celebrating my 60th birthday....Best boutique hotel I have seen / stayed at, anywhere in the world....Just the right size for a family holiday........Only 5 rooms with a greta pool to relax in, Pondok is set in brilliantly landscaped & manicured gardens..... The staff are a dream come true, kind & courteous and always ready to help their guests....Gede / Mede and their team were excellent............Gede arranged a number of trips / tours for us during our stay that were far better than local travel agencies. Local knowledge wins again....The 60th birthday party we had at Pondok was a fantatic night and enjoyed by everyone....Balinese dancers and a suckling pig as well as one of the best meals we ate in Bali . Excellent time and will be remembered for a long time to come

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great but ....If you luck in and get the owners suite then count your blessings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jbobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you Thank you.
From what i hear the staff enjoyed your stay and your BIRTHDAY as much as you and your family did.

We really believe we have the best staff in Bali and for a small boutique hotel we do so well, they work hard but love every minute of it.

We hope that we see you again some time soon at Pondok Ayu.

Once again thank you,
ALL PONDOK STAFF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Have just returned to the UK after a nine night stay at the Pondok I thought I may as well add my positive review along with everybody else. Everything at the Pondok is fantastic from the rooms to the pool area and definitely the staff who definitely make any stay there a memorable one,the only issue for some people could be the location it didn't bother my wife and I but some people may have a problem crossing the busy road , on the plus side the hotel does provide a shuttle when needed,we tended to shuttle in and walk back when the temperature was a little cooler.
We would definitely return and the Pondok definitely lives up to the hype!
Many thanks to Gede and all the team see you all again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for the time you have spent to send and email regarding your stay.

So glad you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our staff and the surrounds.

When we built Pondok we were concerned it was not on the beach and that is why we offer free transport in the sanur area and even if there is nobody there to drive guests in we call a taxi and pay and that works well.

Some guests have commented that it is nice to return for a good nights sleep with the quiet at Pondok.

Once again thank you and look forward to having you at Pondok Ayu again some time.
Regards,
ALL PONDOK AYU STAFF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 78 in Sanur
521 reviews
0.7 km away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#5 of 78 in Sanur
419 reviews
0.7 km away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
0.8 km away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
2.6 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#17 of 78 in Sanur
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: HK$539 - HK$617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 6 (2011-2017) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing