We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pondok Ayu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
383
45
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
45
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsmanager gedebreakfast tablehome away from homelike coming homefree transportrooms are largesmall hotelhidden awaybusy roadboutique hotelsecond homewonderful stayspent a weekten minute walkthoroughly enjoyed our stayrelaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Pondok Ayu is away from the main drags of Sanur so is peaceful and quiet. Gede, our host, was very happy to drop us off in Sanur when we went out however it is a walkable distance. Our room on the first floor had good aircon and shutters you could open to generate a breeze to keep us cool.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MikeyNZ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello and thank you for your comments regarding Pondok, glad you enjoyed the atmosphere around Pondok and great you explained the transport help for guests that don't want to walk.
Hope we can have you stay with us at Pondok again some other time.

Regards,
Gede & ALL STAFF AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

well two weeks of heaven,pondok caters for every need i could ask for,very pleasant staff to look after you at all times,food good,great pool [exceptionally clean]
all the staff have a smile and a kind word at all times,rooms very comfortable and very clean,food and beverage prices reasonable[not ripped off from a beer from the fridge in theroom]nearly same price as supermarket costs,
will be booking again for next year and the year after..
thanks pondok ayu for a memorable holiday,,,

Room Tip: all rooms are good,but the suit has a indoor spa,luxury
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dyral m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello and thank you to you and your group, you know that it makes things so much better for us with guests like ALL of you. We are just so happy that you just keep coming back every year and with all your friends, also you have worked things out that to book ALL OFF PONDOK you book so far in advance.

Glad you all got home safe and sound.

Once again it is our pleasure to have you all and look forward to next year.
I will make sure that the rest off the staff read your comments.
Regards,
Gede and ALL THE STAFF AT PONDOK AYU.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

My family and I had a fabulous 10 days at Pondok Ayu in April 2017, celebrating my 60th birthday....Best boutique hotel I have seen / stayed at, anywhere in the world....Just the right size for a family holiday........Only 5 rooms with a greta pool to relax in, Pondok is set in brilliantly landscaped & manicured gardens..... The staff are a dream come true, kind & courteous and always ready to help their guests....Gede / Mede and their team were excellent............Gede arranged a number of trips / tours for us during our stay that were far better than local travel agencies. Local knowledge wins again....The 60th birthday party we had at Pondok was a fantatic night and enjoyed by everyone....Balinese dancers and a suckling pig as well as one of the best meals we ate in Bali . Excellent time and will be remembered for a long time to come

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great but ....If you luck in and get the owners suite then count your blessings
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jbobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you Thank you.
From what i hear the staff enjoyed your stay and your BIRTHDAY as much as you and your family did.

We really believe we have the best staff in Bali and for a small boutique hotel we do so well, they work hard but love every minute of it.

We hope that we see you again some time soon at Pondok Ayu.

Once again thank you,
ALL PONDOK STAFF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Have just returned to the UK after a nine night stay at the Pondok I thought I may as well add my positive review along with everybody else. Everything at the Pondok is fantastic from the rooms to the pool area and definitely the staff who definitely make any stay there a memorable one,the only issue for some people could be the location it didn't bother my wife and I but some people may have a problem crossing the busy road , on the plus side the hotel does provide a shuttle when needed,we tended to shuttle in and walk back when the temperature was a little cooler.
We would definitely return and the Pondok definitely lives up to the hype!
Many thanks to Gede and all the team see you all again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for the time you have spent to send and email regarding your stay.

So glad you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our staff and the surrounds.

When we built Pondok we were concerned it was not on the beach and that is why we offer free transport in the sanur area and even if there is nobody there to drive guests in we call a taxi and pay and that works well.

Some guests have commented that it is nice to return for a good nights sleep with the quiet at Pondok.

Once again thank you and look forward to having you at Pondok Ayu again some time.
Regards,
ALL PONDOK AYU STAFF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

This little place to stay and the staff are lovely. Breakfast each morning was really nice and with only 5 rooms the pool area is great to laze by. Ask for a foam mattress to be added if you prefer a soft bed as the bed is quite firm. Car and driver always available to drop off and pick up, we prefer to walk and found it is a little out the way and always crossing the main road is not fun but not too bad all in all. There are well priced drinks in fridge in room but no bar so if you prefer something other than bintang need to go out or bring with you.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank 3Beth17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hello and thank you for your comments regarding Pondok Ayu.

I have noted the comment on the mattress in room 4 and will be sure to check with guests and will purchase a new one.

Yes most guests bring their own mixing drinks as the alcohol is so expensive in Bali but if you decide to stay with us some other time you will have to check Gede out with his cocktails.

Thank you again,
ALL FROM PONDOK AYU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews