We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
393
45
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
45
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests communal breakfast table home away from home like coming home free transport rooms are large small hotel have stayed here many times busy road ten minute walk hidden away boutique hotel wonderful stay thoroughly enjoyed our stay relaxing holiday peace and quiet shuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016

My words are in the last piece under Jan B. Now we have moved to Seminyak , Pondok Ayu is even better. Sanur is also the best place for the. beach ,prices & people. Sorry Seminyak but if you are a mature couple it really isn't the right place for you. We would cut our losses and go back to Pondok if we could but they are fully booked. The peace there is amazing and the staff just fabulous they understood us & our needs nothing was too much trouble. Everyday we were greeted with a smile & asked how we were. The communal breakfast table is a great idea we met some lovely people there too.
If you go to Bali this place is a hidden gem if we didn't have to travel so far we would go every year.
Thank you Barbara & your staff for all the small touches that we now know are so very special.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms great you just to get a room so popular.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Again THANK YOU, THANK YOU both so much.

We wish you both a very Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you at Pondok for another celebration.

Regards,
Barb, Steve and ALL AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

What an amazing place Pondok Ayu is, a hidden gem we are still here but had to write the review as we really don't want to leave it is so great. Gede the manager is truly amazing so good. We have been on some fabulous trips with him through landslides,flooding and his driving has been exceptional.
What makes this place , well where do we start, top is the staff so welcoming,friendly,helpful and most of all genuine. We are here celebrating our 40th year of marriage and received a lovely flower arrangement & Xmas card from Barbara the owner.
The suite is stunning,the bath with the outside garden & fountain through the glass the best ever I have come across the bath really is like the picture. I have looked in another room & they are all really nice.
The breakfast is super, great choice and the Bali coffee wonderful.
To get a lift/pickup to the beach or a restaurant is really the best ever. Not a late night here but so relaxing who would want it.
Thank you to all the staff we know our Christmas Day with you all will be special.
A peaceful haven that we don't want to leave. Thank you so very much for make no our Bali trip so memorable.

Room Tip: All 5 really well laid out but the suite is amazing.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you both from ALL OF US AT PONDOK AYU.

We ALL take such pride in our jobs and Pondok is like ours but having lovely guests that holiday with us make our work a pleasure.
We wish we could have had you stay longer but now you know what to do and if you can ever get a chance to join us again please book in very early.
We have a lot of guests from England and one couple book in 2 years ahead as they really can get the time and the room or suite that they want.

We would ALL like to wish you and yours a VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR & A HEALTHY & HAPPY 2017. BARB, STEVE & ALL STAFF AT PONDOK AYU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a week at the beautiful Pondok Ayu. We absolutely loved this place and were sad to leave. The accommodation is spacious and has everything you need. There is a real home from home feeling. The communal meal table is a lovely idea which really works well. The best thing about the Pondok Ayu is the staff who are fabulous (thank you all). We also had a lovely welcome from the owner Barbara. There is a nice pool and I had a facial and pedicure on my last day from lovely Adi and I can honestly say it was the best I've had and excellent value. The courtesy car service is invaluable. We loved Bali and will definitely be back and wouldn't stay anywhere else but the Pondok Ayu.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Hello to you both and thank you so much for your comments regarding Pondok Ayu.
All of our staff say a big thank you to you both as you were so appreciative of the little extra things that we enjoy doing for our guests.

We all like to feel that we become more like family than staff and you certainly did that with us.

We wish you and yours a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS & a GREAT 2017.

Look forward to seeing you again some time at Pondok Ayu.

Regards.,
ALL AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We stayed for 10 nights and had an amazing time! Beautiful hidden away place, with very friendly staff - nothing is too much! The rooms are large and have everything you need, the pool and gardens are very well kept, clean and maintained. We travelled with our kids and they were made to feel very special and at home.
A very enjoyable holiday, we will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank becollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Hello and thank you for your comments.

I and my staff take great pride in our jobs and enjoy it so much and it is made so easy with guests like.

See you again in Pondok.

Gede and The Team at Pondok Ayu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

In late August 2016, we had the great opportunity to visit Pondok Ayu in Sanur Bali - but this time with the extended family along - including the 4-grandchildren.
Yet again, Made, Putu, Kadek, Wayan, Katut and Gede greeted us warmly and looked after every need for the next 10-days.
It felt like returning to the "home of a good friend" and seeing those same smiling faces - just wonderful service and a warm smile throughout the day.
I can not recommend Pondok Ayu strongly enough for a great Bali break - and feel like I am breaking confidence to all those friends and family that have since visited!! - it may become very, very popular and restrict our being able to book for the future!?!?!- we are back in April 2017 to celebrate a 60th birthday in the family!!
It is great to see more people discovering this holiday gem - it will surpass your web-site-viewed expectations!! Sat hello around the pool, should we cross paths with Gede and team!!

Room Tip: With 5-large rooms to select from, all the rooms are great!!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Hi there to you all.

Thank you for your time to put together your great comments.

All we can say is thank you as you know we are only a small boutique hotel and but we still manage to be up with the big ones on trip adviser and it is our great guests that keep us there.

We look forward to having you again in April 2017.

Regards,
Gede & Pondok Team.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews