We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
81
174
62
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
174
62
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews emerald loft stand up paddle large pool the main road outdoor bathroom small hotel living area buffet breakfast noodles bars and restaurants home away from home puri bedroom massage beach villa lofts
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Located an easy walk to Sanur Beach this is a nice budget choice for Sanur. Comfy bed with mosquito net, clean and tidy, pool, bikes available to use. Breakfast is nothing special but adequate. There are plenty of places nearby to eat out for dinner etc

One complaint is mosquitos are an issue so it would be wise to have your own repellent and maybe coils to burn at the front door. The management were conducting property spraying while we were laying by the pool which sent everyone scurrying as great clouds of smoke wafted around...with no prior warning!! Could have been given warning as a courtesy before the spraying so we could plan to be out while it took place. Sometimes no pool towels available and no cushions on the deck chairs.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karinadivina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

The villa ayu is a nice little hotel in a good part of Sanur , close to bars and restaurants it is a good cheap option . A few small improvements like a kettle in the room and a light vamp of bathrooms and doors and paint and it would be back to its day !!

We would stay again cause of location and the staff were also very friendly and helpful !

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 915beaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Sadly we had paid in full when booking this place from Australia online. We stayed One night before heading to northern Bali then 2 nights at the end of our trip. The loft room cost the equivalent of Aud90 and $Aud15 for an extra person. We assumed it had an existing 3rd bed.
Apparantly it is Balinese owned.

Front entrance
Surrounded by water features which are green and stagnent and had a dead sparrow in it for the two days we were there at the end.

Extra Bed
The extra bed was a fold out which was like a camp stretcher and very uncomfortable for our 19 y.o. daughter to sleep on. For an extra $15 this was appalling value . All sheets were grey and limp. It rained heavily the first night and the back rest of the bed and pillows in our loft room were wet the next day. The mosquito net is stained from the rain that leaks in.

There were a couple of long blackouts for hours on our return stay and the room has no other ventilation like windows. The loft was stifling. Also there was no water to shower in at this time of the blackouts.

Bathroom
Yuk!
Dark and damp out door style with black shade cloth and lots of stones on the dirt floor. Dingy and drainy smell. Grotty old dunny. The bath ( why would you want a bath in a tropical climate anyway ) was pitted and looked grotty. The door handle fell off while we were there. A guy eventually came to fix it by jamming in some bamboo and gluing it back in ?

Kitchen
Has nothing but a couple of glasses in the cupboards. Has a water dispenser plugged in but not cold. Has a reasonable sized fridge.

Lounge area
Lounge was velour and stained. The aircon was ineffective and it was very hot. We would prefer fans anyway but it seems less places in Bali offer them now. Probably due to whinging tourists. At least fans work. If aircon is stuffed then it stays hot.

Pool
Cloudy looking. Never saw anybody clean it in the 3 days we spent there. I wouldnt swim in it.
Timber pool surrounds are springy to walk on and deadly slippery when it rains. I nearly went over when I slipped on them.

Staff
Incredibly lazy males. Just sit around the front area lounging in the chairs. When we arrived back from up north the desk guy didnt even get up off his chair or say welcome back or even acknowledge us.
As imagined we made multuple complaints and the reaction from the main desk guy was to say the least a blunted expression. I speak Indonesian relatively well but this didn't seem to be processed well either.

Breakfast

In the bar at the front. The young Female Staff are fairly casual and do a good job holding up the bar until you approach them for some help. A selection of gross looking sausages and other meaty delights as well as greasy rice and noodles. We eat veg at home with a little fish and stick to this while travelling. The croissants were covered in flies. The coffee was luke warm and weak.
You can order eggs and they cook them fresh so this was a bonus.
The music in the breakfast area was woeful but this is another sad fact in Bali now..westener walks in..crap repetitive pop music goes on loud volume.

I really wished we had the option of not paying for the last 2 days of this stay. We toughed it out as we knew we were leaving. We stayed in a resort in the north of Bali with our own private pool ,beautiful gardens right on the beach wIth amazing staff and great food for $35 more a night than this dump.
There are plenty of other much better value options in the sanur area. If we had paid hapf the price we would not be complaining here. Their website makes it look a lot cleaner than it is.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Taj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We stayed recently for 3 nights and stayed in 2 different rooms due to our plans changing. For the first night we were in an Emerald Loft room. These are lovely spacious rooms with a kitchen, outdoor bathroom, and overlooks the pool. Highly recommended. Then we moved to a 1 bedrooms apartment. To be fair, they are half the price of the the Emerald Lofts. They have their own small garden and are totally private. The bedroom itself was nice, a little small, but clean and adequate. Bed very comfortable. Bathroom was outdoors, with large bath and waterfall shower. Water pressure was excellent. Outside was a bale with table, chairs and a small kitchenette. Everything was fine except for the kitchen, which was dark, and very grotty. I think they need to be pulled out and replaced asap. Sitting outside at night, there were a couple of resident rats coming and going from the kitchen area.........We only used the fridge, but I would not be doing any food preparation in there.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Large pool very cloudy and murky, needs a good dose of chemical, but did not bother our kids. Pool deck needs replacing, some loose boards which are a disaster waiting to happen. Breakfast was sufficient without being inspiring. Great location and quiet at night. For the price, I think this property represents good value if you get the right room. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Room tip: Emerald Loft rooms much better than the rest.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarsnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Villa Puri Ayu, is always the place I use as my base in Indonesia, it is right in the heart of the action very close to restaurants and bars, and only 2 minutes walk from the beach .
Some of the rooms are in the need of an upgrade, and the upgraded bathrooms could be fitted with a exhaust fan. Also a hot water jug would be a welcome addition in the room.
But the hotel is very quiet, very clean , and the staff are very friendly and helpful

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank catblacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews