We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 am - 8:00 pm
City of good life walk (South Varanasi Walk)
28

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Roobaroo Walks
More Info
More Info
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
679
41
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
679
41
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food walk walking tour food tour street food narrow lanes ancient city next morning early morning stories tours culture banaras storytelling gems knowledge india sunrise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

It was really a fascinating and wonderful experience walking through the streets of old Delhi and enjoying scrumptious dishes out there, exploring and gaining some valuable insights about historical monuments which has been never heard before.Truly a great trip with buddies and enjoyed those wonderful moments which has now been turned into the eternal memories :)

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank Saransh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We did two days with Roobaroowalks, one "North city walk + food tour" combo, and one "morning boat tour + South city walk" combo. Excellent experience. Highly recommended!

First of all, to our pleasant surprise once we met, we realised that these guys are not your standard tour guides - they are a group of young, well-educated, talented entrepreneurs who are looking to bring new things to the old tour industry, including their own travel app. So naturally, going on a walk with them is a little different, in a good way. Here's why...

*Knowledge - Our guide, Aayush, is not only knowledgeable about the city and all the standard tour stuff, but better yet, he's not just reciting facts like many guides do... He is genuinely well-versed on wide topics including religion, history, poetry and philosophy. With his informative, thoughtful, polite and relaxed style, throughout the trip we felt like we were walking with a friend and discussing new topics.

*Flexible and helpful - Aayush was very willing to adjust his style to the group... In our case, our tours lasted much longer than expected, as he gave us more time to relax and soak it all, in which is lovely (but I'm sure if you'd like him to pick up the pace you can just ask)! He also helped with various practical questions we had, and haggled for us with tuk tuk and rickshaws a few times... etc etc :)

*Food! - We particularly liked the combo of North city walking tour with food, where he weaved the food stops in between sightseeing (instead of all the food at the end). All the food stalls, chai shops and lassi stalls we tried were wonderful! Yes it was challenging at times with the narrow streets and roadside stops, but if you are adventurous with your food, it was a lovely and yummy way to experience life in the city.

*Clear communication - the team was super responsive via email, which is a big plus. They are also very clear about their pricing, timing, and booking policy (for example, when we first booked there weren't enough people for a group tour yet, but they were very clear with the options / refund should there not be a group tour in the end). Before each tour, they also sent useful info via email, with contacts and photos of the guide / boatman we are meeting, so we were never worried!

Overall, great, if you are in varanasi and want to see more than just the ghats, go with them!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank WFlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SudarshanChakravarty, Manager at Roobaroo Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Wan,

Thank you for such wonderful review. These lines are very encouraging for our team :)
It is very rewarding to find that you guys experienced the life in the city. We channelize all our energy to ensure that travellers like you get the most out of Varanasi. This city has got a lot to offer, which makes it a perfect destination for the knowledge seekers.
We try to blend in all perspectives of life say, philosophical, scientific, political, mythological etc in our stories, which make our stories well comprehensive and fun-filled.
Aayush is very happy as well, hosting you guys here. His love for stories makes him a great storyteller.
Thank you once again for such beautiful words, we wish you a great life and awesome travels ahead :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We did a few tours with Roobaroo while in Varanasi, including a sunrise boat tour, walking tour and day in Sarnath, and all of them were fantastic. The staff were incredibly knowledgable, open and engaging, and our tours generally ran long because there was so much to talk about. Plus, communication was easy -- we booked and paid for our tours online and got helpful confirmation emails with our guides' contact information a few hours before we met up. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SudarshanChakravarty, Manager at Roobaroo Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hey Rosavia :)
Thank you for the appreciation. Reviews like this help us remain motivated and dedicated toward our passion. We believe in Sustainable Tourism such as to keep the whole experience of travelling hassle-free and relaxing. We are glad that you felt connected to this beautiful city and soaked into its back-stories.
We wish you the very best for all future travels. Best Regards :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I ended up doing three tours with Aayush, including a half day in Sarnath. All three were excellent and enhanced my trip in ways I didn't appreciate until I'd left Varanasi. Hearing the context and seeing a few 'hidden' gems really gives a you a greater appreciation and understanding of a complicated city. An absolute must!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank kba125
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SudarshanChakravarty, Manager at Roobaroo Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hey :)
You very aptly described Varanasi as "complicated". Varanasi presents itself differently to the different perceiver, but one can get the true essence only if one soaks himself/herself into the calmness that the city offers amidst all chaos.
Here, people are a devout follower of Mahadev (Lord Shiva) and believe that all their troubles will be resolved by the supreme power. So, generally, you can always find them in a jovial mood and celebrate life.
Thank you so much for these rewarding words. They always motivate us more in doing what we love to do.
Wish you a great life ahead. Best Regards :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Decided to travel to Varanasi for a day almost as a last minute decision. Was introduced to Aysuh by my neice who met him during their college project tour of Varanasi. Ayush had also featured in the documentary film made by my neice and her team. From the moment I spoke to Ayush when I landed in Delhi to the time we bid good bye - the experience was seamless and smooth. Ayush and his team are true experts on Varanasi - know the place, people, its customs and quirks. You cant ask for some one better than Ayush and his team to take you around the city. I came out way enriched after the experience having seen this quintessentially quirky city up close and personal.

Thanks Ayush and Saurabh for making this a memorable day for me.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Bheem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SudarshanChakravarty, Manager at Roobaroo Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you so much, Sir, for these great words of yours.
We love to follow our passion and ensure that our travellers have seamless and hassle-free travelling experience. We ensure that travellers should get connected to this magnificent city in such a way that they get the best out of it.
We are glad that you felt connected in one such way.
Aayush and Saurabh were equally happy to have hosted you. They will be highly elated and motivated with such praising words.
We wish you the very best for all future travels. Best Regards :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews