We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
834
151
45
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
834
151
45
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobby bar asian restaurant mr salah animation team main restaurant sea view special thanks beauty salon dive school relaxing holiday restaurant manager coral reef head chef fish belly dancing great guy an amazing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Excellent hotel ...We were met on arrival with ice cold face cloths to freshen up after long journeys on hot day and glases of fresh chilled fruit juice whilst being able to wait in seated lounge area to fill in our forms for the allocation of our rooms...beautiful sea views ..Has its own jetty to be able to snorkel from with added security of lifeguard all day ...pools not over crowded and really clean ..choice of great food every day...staff were amazing ..loved the honeymoon spa treatments that my husband and myself had on our first day was a great way to start our holiday ...bar staff made us different mocktails every night ..nothing too much trouble ...very friendly approachable staff...we stayed full board and would highly recommend ...travelled with Thomas cook but wouldn't recommend any of their trips as we felt they were over priced ...We went on boat daytrip to snorkel in the sea with NEMO who are on site at this hotel ...words cannot tell you how impressed we were with them ...I had never snorkeled before ..and I'm not a strong swimmer ..they had their guide swim holding a rubber ring with me holding onto it ...felt really safe and loved every minute of it ...highly recommend them ..staff are excellent :)

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montemare R, Manager at SUNRISE Montemare Resort -Grand Select- (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Dear Angela H,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about your stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Montemare Resort.

I am very pleased and happy to know what a wonderful vacation you had with us. It is always very pleasing to know that our guest enjoy the facilities and service provided.

Again thank you for your review and myself and the team hope to welcome you back ‘HOME’ again in the very near future.

Best Regards
Wael Wali
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks here. On first impression the hotel's entrance and lobby looked first class. Our room was in block 3 (3204) which was 3 flights of stairs from reception and the main restaurant. The room was spacious and had a lovely side sea view.

Restaurants - main restaurant serving area didn't appear to be large enough for the amount of hotel rooms. Tables were always missing something, Ie crockery, cutlery, napkins/serviettes. There were 2 coffee machines, but rarely were they both working. Nearly always had to wait for the cups/saucers/teaspoons to be replenished, as was the case with glasses by the juices. The waiters were very helpful and worked rarely hard to accommodate guests, especially Ali and Ramy. The food was of an adequate standard but choice was limited; best nights were the Mexican and Indian theme evenings. We tried the 3 al la carte restaurants, they were all ok, but didn't return a second time.

Pool area - Ahmed and his team looked after us here with great efficiency. There were plenty of sunbeds once you had walked down the 10 flights of stairs. There was also a pool by block 4 and a quiet pool behind block 2 nearer the reception area.

Beach area - down another 2 flights of stairs takes you to a small beach area with plenty of sunbeds and bar service. Swimming is from the pier.

This hotel claims to be 5 star but in my opinion (based on stays at other 5 star resorts in Egypt) it still has a way to go before it can claim this. It is the little things that make a hotel 5 star not the amount of amenities it offers.

Some of the waiters looked scruffy, shirts stained, not ironed. There never seemed to be enough waiters at either the pool area, al a carte restaurants or at the evening entertainment and they always appeared to be rushing around. The restaurant was supposed to have a dress code for lunch and dinner which didn't appear to be adhered to at all.

We were asked on a daily basis by the guest relations staff if we had any suggestions/comments to make, we did this but nothing seemed to change. My husband mentioned that there were no napkins at afternoon tea; about 3 days later there were some but then ad hoc from then on.

The evening entertainment was classed as 'soft entertainment' which is fine providing its of a good quality. The acts were rarely introduced by the animation team which left people sitting there not knowing what was happening, when they were introduced it was difficult to understand what was being said.

On the whole we had an enjoyable holiday, but will not be returning any time soon.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank TheFridayNighters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montemare R, Manager at SUNRISE Montemare Resort -Grand Select- (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear TheFridayNighters,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review of your recent stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Montemare Resort.

I am happy to learn that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable one, however I feel disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations in the areas highlighted in your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I have already passed your comments along to the relevant heads of departments to ensure the proper and correct actions are taken in order to avoid such experiences in the future. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience you are looking for.

Sincerely
Wael Wali
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Just got back from a great week in this hotel. No complaints. Just one thing bugging me. We sat round the main pool all week. Enjoyed the music from the pool bar. One of the tracks was an instrumental featuring a flute and a heavy bass line. Would appreciate if somebody could identify it for me. (Shazam doesn't like my whistling!!) Thanks.
Smashing hotel BTW.

Room Tip: Upper rooms in Block 2 have a great sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robbywillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montemare R, Manager at SUNRISE Montemare Resort -Grand Select- (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Robbywillie,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Montemare Resort.

I am please to learn that you had a great stay with us and the animation team are happy to inform you that the song you are looking for is Sir Felix "Hope (Nora En Pure Radio Edit)"

We hope to have the chance to welcome yo back 'HOME' again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Wael Wali
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We have just come back from an amazing week in Egypt staying at the Sunrise Montemare. It was our first time in Egypt and we had no expectations good or bad regarding any hotels so we ended up being positively surprised by this hotel.

In general the hotel is very nice looking and appealing. The different areas always appeared very clean as well as any of the three pools.
The environmet is good around the hotel. Being a child free hotel makes a whole lot of difference as you get total relaxation straight away with no noisy kids running around.
The room where we stayed was a garden view room located on bluiding no. 4 (there are 11 in total) which was quite spacious and had a nice balony with chairs outside. Robes and slippers were provided as well as a great variety of toiletries and bathroom utilities. There is a fridge with complimentary drinks as part of the all inclusive and fresh bottled water is provided everyday.

The buffet restaurant's food is good, but then again it depends on how picky you are with your food. Variety for lunch and dinner is not great, but it's enough and breakfast was quite good. During our stay we only had a chance to visit the asian a la carte restaurant and au contraire to what some people said in here about it, the food tasted quite nice although there are not may dishes to choose from (we do not like sushi though, so can't comment on this one).
One of the a la carte restaurants by the beach also serves snacks for lunch time which makes it easier to get something to eat if you're relaxing by the beach or the main pool. The pool bars also serve drinks until late in the evening if you want to have them few cocktails before dinner.
The best part for us though was the sea next to the hotel. The private beach looks properly man made with dirt looking sand and rocks, and is still under some improvements for you to move around. It is small but has got enough sunloungers for everybody and is quite quiet. However, the corals are right next to you and if you walk through the jetty you can easily get to an amazing snorkeling and diving point that will keep you busy for hours and hours just looking at all the different fish. We did not want to use a day to go on a snorkeling trip and this did exacly the trick for us. The water is warm and if you have the chance to take some pictures in the water you'll get great memories of your holiday just from this.

Overall we had a great time last week in this hotel, however, I would not rate it as a five star hotel as it still has quite a few improvements to do. The wifi is very temperamental and it didn't work at all in our room. The lobby is the only place where the connection is steady so don't get your hopes up for anywhere else.
The snack bar near the pool although it has nice food,the service is quite slow so don't get there when you're actually hungry or you'll get in a proper grumpy mood before the food gets to you.
The enterteinment team is quite approachable and will go around talking to guests and doing activities throughout the day. However, night time shows could be improved and as an adults only resort I think a disco would be a good idea to prolong the evenings.
The biggest disappointment however, and the biggest fail in our opinion was the bathroom in the guestroom. although it is quite spacious and modern looking, if you're into looking at details, the finishings will be a disappointment as they look quite dodgy. But the big problem for us was the shower. Throughout the week I was never able to take a full shower with hot water as the temperature kept changing from warm to cooler and then tottally hot for a few seconds to get warm again. Also, the shower didn't have any pressure which made things even more difficult especially for me and my long thick hair. I really think this is not acceptable for a five star hotel as you can't get comfortable in the shower so it needs to be adressed as soon as possible. Don't know if it has happened to anyone in any other rooms, but it was definately something bad that we won't forget about the hotel.

Having said that, it did not ruin our holiday at all, and despite all these minor issues we had a great time over the last week. Everyone is really nice and all the employees try to attend to your requests as best as they can, so this could turn into a great hotel with some improvements. I would still recommend it.

Room Tip: Best views next to the pool Better location in the middle of the resort, not far from the beach and not far from main hotel venues.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montemare R, Manager at SUNRISE Montemare Resort -Grand Select- (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Bianca C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Montemare Resort and for recommending our resort.

I am pleased to know that your overall stay with us was a relaxing experience and that you found the entertainment, pools and beach enjoyable. Thank you for your kind feedback about the bathrooms. We are currently in the process of completing a grouting project where the bathrooms will get a new updated finish. I am sorry to learn that you had issues with your shower. I have located your booking in our reservation system and I have passed along your comments and room number to our chief engineer in order to investigate and take immediate action.

Myself and the team look very much forward to welcome you back ‘HOME’ again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Wael Wali
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed from the 12th to the 18th of September.
I can't praise the sunrise select grand monte mare highly enough. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the staff of the hotel took exceptional care of us.
The hotel itself is stunning, the beautiful lighting of palm trees at night is a treat to see. We had a gorgeous sea view from our hotel room. The place itself is fantastic but the staff were so kind, friendly, willing to help at any time.
Schebi welcomed us to the hotel and took great care of us all week. Every day we seen him he greeted us personally by our names. Any time we needed to ask questions Ramy at the reception desk was quickly able to advise us and again looked after us. At dinner, Khaled, Ahmed and Mohammed always greeted us with big smiles and kept our drinks full and even carried our food from the buffet to the tables for us.
We spent most of our sunbathing and swimming by the quiet pool. Again everyday Mohamed would greet us and put out our towels, put up the parasol, position it for us and them come round with the cool water spray when we were too hot and Ismael would bring us a bottle of water and then follow up with drinks of our choice.
Kero in the gift shop went to great lengths to help us find gifts we were looking for and always gave us a wave whenever we passed close by.
Ahmed the concierge made our last day very special. We had to check out at 12 in the afternoon but our flight wasn't until 9pm that night. We tried to get an extension on the room but unfortunately there was a large number of guests arriving that day and there was no availability.
Ahmed saw us looking confused as to what to do with our day. We told him our predicament and he told us we had to enjoy our last day. He came down to our room and collected our bags and also sorted out for us to get a shower in the spa area for whenever we needed it which allowed us to go and sunbathe and swim at the pool for most of the day. This gave us peace of mind that we could relax and not worry about lack of showers or where to leave bags.
A truly brilliant hotel with amazing staff who couldn't be kinder! Thank you Sunrise Select Grand Montemare!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank robertcarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montemare R, Manager at SUNRISE Montemare Resort -Grand Select- (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear robertcarlin,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Montemare Resort.

I am so happy that the team made you stay an enjoyable and relaxing experience, please rest assure that all of your kind words will passed along to each and every one of them.

Myself and the team look very much forward to welcome you back ‘HOME’ again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Wael Wali
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews