We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review of the employees at hotel oro verde in manta, ecuador”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Manta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2017

My experience is always good at hotel oro verde in manta, Ecuador. I think the employees like Diana Moreno Suarez, Gema and Roddy are excellent employees and very good ambassadors for Hotel Oro Verde.
Clive DuVal

Room Tip: best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clive d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OVM, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017
Google Translation

Estimado Clive, espero este mensaje lo encuentre bien, le quiero agradecer mucho por sus comentarios y esperamos tenerlos pronto de regreso en esta su casa en Manta, para vuestro conocimiento estamos próximos a iniciar un proceso de remodelación, para poder brindarles a Uds. un mejor servicio lleno de confort y relax.

Saludos Cordiales,
Ricardo Ferri
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Mobile review, so kindly excuse brevity and any typos.

Accommodations-wise, Manta's Oro Verde should have been a highlight of our 2-1/2 week journey through Ecuador. While aging, it is still a beautiful hotel. We received a warm, smiling welcome at the front desk. Sleeping was luxurious on a wonderful matress and sheets.

That said, the stay was soured early on by our scowling bellperson, when this gringo estupido still learning the local customs apparently got his propina (tip) incorrect. So ended any semblance of service with a smile.

Secondarily the room was very noisy, presumably due to the hotel's ongoing renovation(?), This latter issue actually bothered us less, as we've seen first-hand the devastation caused by the 2016 earthquakes.

Lastly, the room was always cooled to 21°, irrespective of how the thermostat was set. As it was too cold to sleep, I intended to walk around the hotel's grounds, but was stopped by security due to all parts of the hotel but the lobby being closed at that hour. I could not even get a cup of coffee, being told there was nothing they could do until the restaurant opened after our departure to the airport.

We always try to evaluate purchases based simply on value: are we receiving what we paid for? We have no issues paying top dollar, but expect to receive service to match. In this case, being uncomfortable at what is one of the highest priced accommodations ($140+/night, $6.40/cerveza, etc.) in Manta, did not come close to meeting the grade. On our future Ecuadorian excursions, we will look elsewhere than at Oro Verde properties.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Atreides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OVM, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Atreides, I hope this message finds you well, I want to thank you very much for your comments and we hope to have you soon back in this house in Manta, for your knowledge we are about to start a remodeling process, so that we can give you a Best service full of comfort and relax.

Best regards,
Ricardo Ferri
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Ok, so the Hotel Oro Verde is an aging dame. I am sure the peak of luxury in its' time, but now a bit scuffed up, tired, but still very nice. The staff is excellent....well trained, polite, remembered my name when I would approach. Bedding was fantastic. Could have slept the whole time in the comfy sheets and comforter. Cable was just OK, only a couple of English channels although there were many channels over all. No room service or spa menu in the room, which is a shame, because I would have used both, but didn't feel like calling to get brochures/menus. No lotion or hair conditioner. If there is a new portion of the hotel, then I was in the old portion....bathroom door had chipped paint, hinges were rusted, paint was sloppily 'over painted' on walls and floor. No directly as to which button to call for which service (bell service, room service, spa, operator) so you would just dial zero and it takes forever for an overloaded front desk to answer, and then to tell you what number you should dial. Pool was closed for maintenance, which should have been told to us at check in. Location is fabulous with the new mall directly across the street and the ocean views are terrific. So, I liked my stay, but would not consider it 4 or 5 star overall. Would stay there again if the rate made sense (under $125 or so).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank megoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OVM, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017
Google Translation

Estimado huésped, espero este mensaje lo encuentre bien, le quiero agradecer mucho por sus comentarios y esperamos tenerlos pronto de regreso en esta su casa en Manta, para vuestro conocimiento estamos próximos a iniciar un proceso de remodelación, para poder brindarles a Uds. un mejor servicio lleno de confort y relax.

Saludos Cordiales,
Ricardo Ferri
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Very functional hotel around the swimming pool facility and nearby the coast. Manta suffers from rebuilt after the earthquake, but the hotel is anticipating this with a renovation project that just started with some sample rooms. We stayed in the suite, which was a very nice and open design. Hope to see this hotel back when it's finished. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: The new rooms are very functional and received a nice modern design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janverbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OVM, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017
Google Translation

Estimado huésped, espero este mensaje lo encuentre bien, le quiero agradecer mucho por sus comentarios y esperamos tenerlos pronto de regreso en esta su casa en Manta, para vuestro conocimiento estamos próximos a iniciar un proceso de remodelación, para poder brindarles a Uds. un mejor servicio lleno de confort y relax.

Saludos Cordiales,
Ricardo Ferri
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

this is my third time traveling to Ecuador; where my first thing is to make a reservation in the Hotel Oro Verde in Manta. It is one of the kind because the service is very good and the staff are very friendly. i can't forget the breakfast buffet; delicious. Highly recommended.




  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M5880FVjulios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORO-VERDE-MANTA, Gerente at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Julio
Thank you so much for your comment, it is always a pleasure for us to serve you. Best regards Ricardo Ferri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manta hotels
0.3 km away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 12 in Manta
623 reviews
1.8 km away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 12 in Manta
444 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vistalmar
Hotel Vistalmar
#5 of 12 in Manta
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Best Western Premier Sail Plaza Manta
1.9 km away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#6 of 12 in Manta
79 reviews
2.5 km away
Nazo Hotel
Nazo Hotel
#8 of 12 in Manta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Manta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Address: Av. Malecon y Calle 23 | Playa Murcielago, Manta 130802, Ecuador (Formerly Oro Verde Hotel)
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Manta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Manta
Price Range: HK$882 - HK$2,835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Manta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel cinco estrellas más prestigioso de la provincia de Manabí le ofrece más que un estilo de vida, un lugar donde vivirá la experiencia única de sentirse bien. Con una incomparable vista al mar y la playa "El Murciélago” al pie del hotel, estamos ubicados a sólo 10 minutos del aeropuerto, justo en el centro de negocios, comercio y recreación de la ciudad de Manta, cuyo habitantes por su calidez humana y hospitalidad hacen de esta, la ciudad turística más acogedora de Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, WingontravelTA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Manta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing