We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The perfect holiday!

As first time visitors to the Galápagos, Guiding Galapagos expeditions turned out to be the company... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
nikolais641
Guiding Galapagos is Great!

Our group of five was all in agreement: Guiding Galapagos was an excellent choice for our... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jerry H
Read all 250 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Ayora
from US$1,749.30
More Info
from US$1,359.00
More Info
from US$2,366.40
More Info
from US$714.00
More Info
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
239
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa cruz sea lions guide team fantastic trip day trip customized tour snorkeling equipment tour companies iguana crossing blue footed boobies isabela island volcano tour provided outstanding service locally owned company eight days including great spent amazing days
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We decided to do a land based tour and selected Guiding Galapagos based on their trip proposal and reviews we had seen on TA. Booking experience was excellent with quick responses to any questions. We did a 10 day trip - 4 days on Santa Cruz, 3 days on San Cristobal and 3 days on Isabela which seemed to be about the right amount of time on each. Highlights included North Seymour (nesting blue footed boobies and frigate birds), Kicker Rock (hammerhead sharks circling only a few meters below us) and Sante Fe Island (amazing clear waters for snorkeling, catching a Yellowfin Tuna shortly followed by fresh shishimi). Overall great service by the tour company - our inter-island boat ran out of gas resulting in a late arrival and no one to greet us but owner Yasmany came by to explain and brief us on plans for the next day.Highly recommend Guiding Galapagos to organize your Galapagos experience. Only suggestion when you are considering your itinerary is to plan for a "free day" with no tours especially if you are planning a trip of a week or more.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank bandjboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

We picked Guiding Galapagos because of the TA reviews, and everything written is true. Our vacation couldn't have been better! Yazmany and his staff do an excellent job taking care of you from beginning to end. We did a 6 day itinerary with Santa Cruz, Isabela, and Santa Fe. We worked with Giulia to be sure the activities covered all our interests. All email communications were prompt and clear.

The naturalist guides, boat captains/crews and drivers are all consummate professionals who speak English well and care about preserving their corner of paradise. In Puerto Ayora, we stayed in the hotel above the GG office. The rooms were new and modern and we enjoyed breakfasts on the rooftop terrace. It's also just a block from the pier and close to all the restaurants for good dinner choices (we recommend Il Nuovo Giardino). We liked the fact that we weren't with the same travelers every day. We got to meet different families/couples and compare experiences. And Yazmany really goes out of his way for his customers: he spent a day making airline reservations when a traveler had a family emergency and had to get home quick.

The snorkel equipment and wetsuits are exceptional quality, and our last day of snorkeling (with playful sea lions off Santa Fe) was amazing!

I'm so glad we picked a land-based trip with a locally-owned company. Guiding Galapagos staff take care of your every need so you can relax and enjoy the beauty of the islands. Just be sure to protect against the equatorial sun and take your Dramamine for the ferry rides (look at the horizon, look at the horizon....)

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank pmn518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

My two daughters (21 & 14) and I spent 10 days in Galapagos, all of which was planned and scheduled by the nice people at Guiding Galapagos. The owner (Manny) appears to have worked hard to find good employees and guides who are knowledgeable and understand customer service.

Please note that Guiding Galapagos does very little of the actual guiding. Their real specialty and expertise is in managing the logistics of the trip. They arrange, reserve and pay for all transportation, excursions, hotels, etc. Manny has done a good job of identifying really professional tour operators, hotels, boats, etc.

Their pricing model (budget, standard and luxury) for hotels really worked well for us, and we felt like we got real value for our lodging dollar. We stayed at Red Mangrove, Iguana Crossing and Golden Bay. I highly recommend each of them if you choose the luxury lodging option.

We had a minor crisis of our own making during the trip where we ran out cash and were unable to get more for several days. Manny arranged for David (one of his employees) to loan us some cash until we could get to a bank. We really appreciated the professional manner in which they handled the situation. A word of warning, with the exception of the hotels, we found Galapagos to be a very CASH oriented vacation spot.

In summary, they met us the moment we arrived at the Baltra airport and stayed with us every step of the way until they dropped us back off at the Baltra airport 10 days later. We never had to worry about a thing.

I highly recommend them.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank BrettR447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Last week we came back from a two week trip to the Galapagos organized by Guiding Galapagos. We have visited San Cristobal, Isabela and Santa Cruz. We have had a great holiday, also thanks to Guiding Galapagos. From the very first moment of contact we had a good feeling about this company. At first we prepared our itinerary with Steffi who has a lot of knowledge and a lot of patience to answer all of our questions. She gave us confidence that everything would be organized well.
We did a good research before going and we are happy to have chosen Galapagos Guiding for various reasons. First of all because it is a local company from Santa Cruz. Everything was perfectly well organized and arranged for. We didn't have to ask for anything and everything went very smooth. They care for the details, like providing all their guest with their own wetsuits and snorkeling gear, and providing guests with a water bottle to refill at every hotel for example. It is all well thought and arranged.
In this way we were able to enjoy the beauty Galapagos has to offer to the max. We didn't have to think about anything and could just focus on enjoying and experiencing. All team members were very friendly and helpful. The tour guides were professional and all had a lot of knowledge.
In Santa Cruz we got an upgrade to one of the rooms above the office of Guiding Galapagos. The rooms are very nicely decorated with many details. At the roof of the building is a good terrace from where you could see the harbor and where you could relax at the end of the day. Great company!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank C4969ZLsimones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

My friend and I went on the 8-day Darwin Discoveries trip and had an incredible time. The service that Guiding Galapagos provided was excellent and above and beyond what we ever expected. From the first email, Steffi provided exceptional information and detail, patiently answering all of our questions. One of the unique things about this tour company is that upon arriving you are taken to their office where you are fitted with top notch snorkel gear that is yours to use for the week. We had wonderful guides! Karla, our brilliant and fun guide on the last day, provided for one heck of a send off when we went kayaking and found ourselves in the midst of sharks and golden rays. Simply magical! I'd definitely recommend this company!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mountainhiking11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews