We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and atmosphere.”

Genevieve's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 1,003 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Cambodian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Genevieve's is a Khmer/Western restaurant in Siem Reap, located in Bamboo St. not far from Wat Damnak.At Genevieve's, we provide high quality food and service and have a commitment to contributing meaningfully to the community in Siem Reap.
Reviewed 15 March 2018

I can see why this restaurant rates highly. Lovely food and atmosphere. Our tuk tuk drivers had trouble finding Genevieves so I would suggest you print out a map to save time and confusion.

Thank Zodins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 4,254 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We visited as it was within walking distance from our hotel and we wanted the exercise. We were not disappointed, lovely staff and lovely food. Generous portions, in fact half of what they brought me would have safficed. I later learned from our hotel staff that the restaurant is famous locally.

Thank HRGuruPreston_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Food was fabulous and the staff were lovely. Really enjoyed our meal. Mosquitos were an issue though but this isn't something the restaurant can do much about in an open air environment.

Thank lph537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, Owner at Genevieve's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thanks for your comments re the food and our staff but we’re disappointed and a bit mystified about your mosquito issues. We didn’t think we had any problems with mosquitos as we’ve taken a number of steps to ensure this is the case.
We fumigate once a week on our day off (Sunday), we use mosquito coils around the outside huts and other areas and we provide each table with mosquito spray to use if they wish. As is the case in most local restaurants, we have fans over all the outside tables and plenty running in the main area, both for comfort and to keep the mosquitos away.
All of the above usually does the job so we’re not sure what happened in your case.
Maybe it was the end of the week and we forgot to give you spray or lay out coils. I’m not sure but we’ll make sure your experience is not repeated.
Thanks very much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We were really impressed with the food and service here. The Australian owner/manager was also very helpful with menu choices and wine recommendations. The beef lok lak was extremely tender and tasty, far superior to the same dish at the Haven Restaurant. The chicken curry was also excellent. Prices were very reasonable with attentive servers. This was the best restaurant during our four nights in Siem Reap. Our tuk tuk driver also offered to wait for us during our two hour dinner. it was well worth a $5 tip for the 20 minute drive from our hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank canada200750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I visited Genevieve’s last night with my husband. We had an intimate table away from the main dining area which was great for a couples evening or if you are a family. The staff were warm and very helpful in choosing food. My husband has a lot of allergies and they were helpful finding out ingredients for us. We both had the beef lok Lak which was superb. The mojitos were excellent too. Situated in a quiet area about 10 mins walk from center of town- great to get away from the hustle and bustle. Remember to read the story of the restaurant in the menu.

Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genevieve's Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Genevieve's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing