We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and fresh”

Genevieve's Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 891 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Cambodian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Genevieve's is a Khmer/Western restaurant in Siem Reap, located in Bamboo St. not far from Wat Damnak.At Genevieve's, we provide high quality food and service and have a commitment to contributing meaningfully to the community in Siem Reap.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Came to Genevieve's for a delicious lunch. Our server was extremely friendly and made suggestions from the menu. We had fried squid as an appetizer (delicious!) and then two of us shared the sweet and sour red fish. The fish was very fresh and delicious and definitely large enough for two. We also had mango and banana smoothies. The restaurant notes that they donate 10% of profits to help their staff start their own businesses. They also have a fair trade village for people with disabilities. So, in addition to being a delicious place for lunch, your money is going to a good cause.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Christina499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,003
    713
    128
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Shared Genevieve's with a group of friends in March. There was no way I was coming to Siem Reap without making a visit. Food is fantastic (favorite dishes Beef Lok Lak & their great steak sandwich). My friends who were new to Siem Reap so enjoyed the food that they ensured that they returned before the departed home. Wonderful service, great food and a must for any visit to Siem Reap.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank The_Suttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food”
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Everything was exceptionally well prepared and presented. Busy place, but service was still attentive. It makes a point that its staff is NOT in training (a dig, I suspect, at Spoon and Haven--two very nice places that train underprivileged youth), but its profit sharing with employees is a nice touch.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenJen3925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, Owner at Genevieve's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2017
Thanks for your great review. You've misunderstood our intent when we say we're not a training restaurant. Sometimes people have assumed we are because of the way we employ our staff. We are simply being open and honest by saying that we don't have the expertise or the set-up to be described as a training restaurant or the like such as Haven and Spoons. Far from having a dig at them, we couldn't admire them more. We have the utmost respect for what they do, the quality and service they provide and their enormous contribution to Cambodian society. I couldn't recommend them highly enough. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best food in Siem-Reap”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Had the opportunity to have a fish and prawns, they were just excellent cooked for a very reasonable price.
The owner was around every time trying to help everyone at their tables.
Very well recommended.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank vvidales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious, friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2017

You should book this restaurant as it is very busy. The menus tell the story as to how and why Genevieve's was set up and how 10% of the profits go to the staff to help them fund their own enterprises. The food is delicious. I had the Squid to start and then the Khmer Curry and it was all fantastic! My friend had the prawn tempura and cheese and bacon pasta and swears by it (he lives there now and eats here regularly). The staff are very friendly and attentive and the service was very efficient. A very pleasant place to eat that is doing right by their staff and the locals.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genevieve's Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Genevieve's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing