We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful, delicious and friendly ”
Review of Sister Srey Cafe

Sister Srey Cafe
Ranked #6 of 32 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Australian, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sister Srey Cafe is a Social Enterprise, in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Run and operated by Sisters Lauren And Cassie. The Girls, opened the business to have "Good Coffee" and also help and support Khmer students and to make a sustainable impact into the community. Our vision at Sister Srey Cafe is to support young Khmer students who struggle to keep a balance between study and supporting their family. Each staff member in trained in hospitality, English language skills, personal development, health and hygiene and banking. We are a stepping stone to a brighter future and a means for them to have skills and knowledge to approach the world empowered and confident. Sister Srey has various incentives and activities in which support the local and rural community. The cafe goes to sustainable measures to help the environment and to be as enviromentally friendly as possible. We are commited to being plastic free, having bio degradable food packaging, organic coffee and miniamising waste. Monthly, our staff participate in our community service program "Helping out a friend" Where each staff member chooses a NGO or project of choice and do something for people less fortunate than themselves. To date we have had, staff building wells and toilets for families, participating in a soup kitchen to feed street children and health workshops. Sister Srey also composts all waste and goes to directly to NGO Green Gecko Farm and has a sustainable recycling program and waste management system. Since opening, the Cafe works along side Hearts to Harmony Foundation. This means 20 percent of profits from the Cafe as well as donations go towards Hearts to Harmony to supports individuals through education, health and hygiene, and supports rural families. Sister Srey is a social enterprise. A cafe with a heart, a cafe with the desire to see change and with the ability to do so.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoughtful, delicious and friendly ”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

This is my first restaurant review. My experience was so good at sister srey that I just had to share.
The restaurant is so well thought out, I loved the Khmer 101 (basics in Khmer language) and dessert menu on the table. The menu is different, incredibly flavoursome and some dishes are very novel, infusing new western flavours with Khmer and the lovely local produce. I had the Bodia Bowel. Very generous serving of a deconstructed salad. It was incredible. All flavours were perfect together. Juices are also all fresh and ample in servings. When in Siem Reap, this is a must!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sonya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCambodia, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this review, 14 March 2017
Dear Sonya,

What an honour! Your first review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience so much.

Thank you for visiting and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Sister Srey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    358
    59
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, On
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Suitable for all even vegans. ”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We had lunch and it was very tasty and good size portions. Service is friendly and fast. Nice place to people watch along the river.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank ChristineOttawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCambodia, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this review, 14 March 2017
Dear ChristineOttawa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have a wide range of many items that are suitable for all food intolerances and preferences.

Thank you for visiting.

Cheers,


The Sister Srey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This is a nice little spot to eat at near the river in Siem Reap town. I had the burger and my wife had a salad. Food was decent. Nothing to write home about, but clean, healthy, and relatively healthy. They also offer free fast wifi which is nice. And the service is fast and friendly. Recommended for a quick bite if you're in the night market vacinity.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Breakfast was lovely”
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We visited for breakfast as we did not have a good experience at our hotel.
The restaurant does a lot for the local community so ommended from that point of view
The food we had was really lovely. We had English breakfasts, muesli and fruits and omelettes, all well presented and tasty.
What more can you ask for!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank mickeybUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Friendly staff and most dishes can be customised to vegan , however would be helpful if they could mention what ingredients go in the raw cake, you don't want to be swallowing heaps of sugar wondering if it is honey or other sweeteners.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCambodia, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this review, 14 March 2017
Hi Maya,

Thank you for visiting. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at our Cafe.

All our RAW cakes are all processed sugar free and only have a touch of maple syrup. We are very happy to discuss the ingredients with you regarding our desserts when you're in the cafe next or alternitivly, email us at sistersreycafe@gmail.com

Thank you for visiting!

Take care,

Sister Srey Cafe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sister Srey Cafe also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sister Srey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing