We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!”

Common Grounds Cafe
Ranked #6 of 25 Dessert in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Common Grounds Cafe is a social enterprise that believes in: Creating a friendly Atmosphere,Producing high quality coffee & pastries, Serving delicious Western & Asian food,Providing Strong Wi-Fi & Cold Air ConditioningTogether as a Staff, We believe in:Empowering potential with opportunities,Providing benefits, English Classes, &fair salaries Building strong character & integrity,Developing future leaders By donating 100% of our profit to Common Grounds' parent organization, People For Care & Learning, we are working towards a hopeful Cambodian future.
Reviewed 14 September 2018

My visit to Kandar Village in Siem Reap was made better by the presence of this little restaurant. The food choices are great and the attention from the staff made it even better. My first cup of coffee was so perfect I kept coming back for more. I like that the place is a training spot for young Cambodians and that it gives back to the community it has invested in. It was also a very affordable option.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunpflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalath L, Manager at Common Grounds Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thanks so much for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed our coffee, food, and service and we appreciate you supporting our mission to help Cambodians and build our community here in Siem Reap!
Again thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
-The Common Grounds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018

Definitely worth a visit... we ran in out of the rain & were very impressed with this restaurant. Lovely food, good service & other crafts & gifts to browse!

Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalath L, Manager at Common Grounds Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hey Sue,
Thanks so much for the great review!
We are glad you enjoyed the Fish Amok and your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Thanks again!
-The Common Grounds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We showed up here at around 6:45 pm, hoping to get a quick bite before catching a tuk tuk over to see the circus at 8. Restaurant was not that busy, maybe 2 other groups of 2 or 3 people. We ordered fish and chips, pumpkin soup, and I requested vegetarian tom yam spicy sour soup.

We waited until 7:20, and started to worry about making it to the event on time. At 7:30, they brought out the soup, which was good, except that they gave us no spoons, only forks, and nothing else. We asked them to please box up the food, since we realized we had to eat on the go. Finally, by 7:40, almost an hour later, we left with the food. We barely made it on time to the show, and I realized after I opened my box of soup that they had put chicken in it, and they did not cut the vegetables very well (I was biting through chunks of lemongrass and having to spit them out because I couldn’t swallow them). Also it wasn’t spicy or sour.

Moral of the story for us: give yourself more than an hour when you have a commitment after dinner in Siem Reap.

Moral of the story for Common Grounds: listen to your customers when we say we have to be somewhere at a certain time. It’s great that this place gives some of their profits to charities and community empowerment and such, but a little investment into proper customer service would be appreciated.

Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalath L, Manager at Common Grounds Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hey Brendan,
Thanks for your honest feedback.
It sounds like we definitely missed the mark on your visit. There is no excuse for poor service and the kitchen being that slow, or for you getting chicken in your Tom Yam when you ordered it vegetarian.
Please forgive us for not living up to our standards and for not meeting your expectations. We will definitely talk about this as a staff and do our best to improve in all areas mentioned.
In the mean time, if you are willing to give us another chance, we would like to invite you back to Common Grounds for a meal on us. We hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you and to earn back your business.
Thanks again for your feedback, and we do hope you will give us another chance.
-The Common Grounds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Love the atmosphere here! Ordered breakfast bagel with ham + avocado smoothie with less milk. Both are so awesome! The cheese in the bagel is so on point and the avocado smoothie wasn’t too sweet either! :) the portion is just right too.

Thank WZ94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalath L, Manager at Common Grounds Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks for the great review!! We are glad you stopped in and enjoyed our food, drink, and atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon. Take care!
-The Common Grounds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We dropped into Common Grounds Cafe for coffee & also we noticed it had air conditioning!! The cafe is extremely clean with very friendly staff. We enjoyed our cappuccino & having free wifi & toilets were an added bonus.

Common Grounds is is located in the Kandal Village at the end of Hup Guan Street.

Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalath L, Manager at Common Grounds Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hey Ellemay,
Thanks for the great review! Were glad you stopped by and enjoyed the coffee and atmosphere. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
-The Common Grounds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Common Grounds Cafe also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Common Grounds Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing