We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (933)
Filter reviews
933 results
Traveller rating
652
209
41
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
209
41
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden wing angsana spa night market in town spacious balcony swimming pool lovely hotel hotel manager buffet breakfast restaurant staff each evening turn down service small hotel nice pool mini bar the main street boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 933 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This small hotel is charming and staff provide friendly service , very keen to help.
Delightful breakfast and dining room which outlooks to the pool.
Rooms are a bit small and don't have all the built ins as modern hotels.
Great location, walk to markets, restaurants, alms ceremony. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billeclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattanaI4, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sabaidee billeclass1,

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us about your experience recently in Angsana Maison Souvannaphoum.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay; thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments, particularly for our associates, facilities, services and restaurant. We are very proud of our people and believe that they are amongst the finest in Luang Prabang.

Thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a wonderful and relaxing one. We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distance future.

Kob Jai Lai Lai

Warm regards,
Lucky
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights . The hotel had very nice French style character, needing slight updating but was all forgotten because of the charm and attention to detail . Our room was well equipped with lots of coffee tea insect repellents and even insense !! The staff couldn't have been anymore attentive and caring. As soon as you went in the restaurant they were so accommodating! Honest too as we left our safe open a whole day when we went on a trip and nothing was taken ! Highly recommend this hotel . Can't sing their praises enough

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank juliehug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattanaI4, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sabaidee Juliehug,

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us about your experience recently in Angsana Maison Souvannaphoum. Thank you for the great hotel recommendation.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay; thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments, particularly for our associates, facilities, services and restaurant. We are very proud of our people and believe that they are amongst the finest in Luang Prabang.

Thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a wonderful and relaxing one. We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distance future.

Kob Jai Lai Lai

Warm regards,
Lucky
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

First things first: service quality in Laos is bad. Before going check out the "worksomeness" and "friendlieness" of Laos in general.
With that being said this hotel tries very hard to give you a better expierience then whats to be consideres average in Laos.
Reception was very friendly and personal - homemade drinks and tapioca snacks and traditional Lao greeting/blessing.
Rooms are quite good but a bit worn out. Probably the hotel will go through some renovation soon. Everything in our room was very clean but we had a lovely room gecko...we didnt bother as it ate some annoying mosquitos.
At peak hours (morning/evening) we experienced troubles with the hot water in the shower after 5min.
The pool seams to be clean and there is water circulation, though the entire work has been done very poor and almost all tiles are wobbly and many do have very dangerous sharp edges...so be very careful with kids! This needs to be fixed ASAP!
In general the staff could be far more effective and diligent...but remember my first sentence!
Free bikes are available for guests.
Breakfast is far below what we expected. Not to much to choose from and food safety is below average. Meats and cheese not refridgerated and staff touches many items with bare hands! Due to the small capacity of the hotel I would prefere a la carte breakfast instead of the sensitive buffet option.
Many early reports of the hotel seem not to be applicabel anymore, as there was no director/supervision/management present to direct the staff.
A good hotel for Laos but in a global scale not the standard you might expect from Banyan Tree/Angsana.
In the neighboring countries of Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia your get way better value for your money with far better sights and service as well.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paspy7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattanaI4, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sabaidee Paspy7711,

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us about your experience recently in Angsana Maison Souvannaphoum.

The team here at Luang Prabang strives to continually improve the guest experience and it is through the feedback such as yours that we learn what we do well and what we can improve on. Thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience. We do apologize for the inconveniences and genuinely thank you for feedback for our improvement. We hope that we will serve you better in the future.

We appreciate that you chose to stay at Angsana Maison Souvannaphoum and hope to welcome you or your friends in the future.

Kob Jai Lai Lai

Warm regards,
Lucky
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in adjoining rooms with our three children under 10.The hotel is a perfect match for the town. Unpretentious, friendly and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble and lots of little extras like bikes, games and inflatables were appreciated. A few people told us this is the best hotel in area and I believe it.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank JESIMMONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattanaI4, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sabaidee JESIMMONS,

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us about your experience recently in Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay; thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments, particularly for our associates, room, and facilities. We've already conveyed your compliments to team.

Thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a wonderful and relaxing one. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in not too distance future.

Kob Jai Lai Lai

Warm regards,
Lucky
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here after 5 in a much cheaper hotel and really enjoyed our stay. It’s a cut above, beautifully decorated with staff to match. Someone even comes in to your room to light scented oils before you arrive back in the evening which is a nice touch. The beds were super comfy and the free bicycles came in very handy.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattanaI4, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sabaidee Debbie S,

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us about your experience recently in Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay; thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments, particularly for our associates, room turn down service, comfortable bed and hotel location with bicycle. We've already conveyed your compliments to team.

Thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a wonderful and relaxing one. We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distance future.

Kob Jai Lai Lai

Warm regards,
Lucky
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews