We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
130
154
45
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
154
45
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel rice fields shuttle bus in town tuk tuk stunning grounds breakfast buffet nice pool swimming pool egg station the hotel offers lily ponds comfortable rooms free shuttle service couple of nights noodles relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018

I expect the days when this was Luang Prabang's finest are well over, but the Santi Resort and Spa is a slice of paradise close to the town but out of the bustle. It scores highly for service, serenity and value for money - the rooms are a bit tired but more than comfortable, the gardens are just lovely and the restaurant serves excellent food at good prices. It's a small resort and if you are put off by recent reviews about the pool surround, relax, it's being replaced (and might even be done by now). We loved it and would go back in a second. If you do say use the spa - they don't speak much English but you'll manage, and the treatments are absolutely exceptional - best massage of several over a three week trip through SE Asia.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters - the resort of small and the gardens lovely, so wherever you are should be fine.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RobJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSanti, General Manager at Santi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear RobJP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SANTI Resort & Spa (not Villa Santi which is our other hotel in the middle of town). Guests feed back is highly appreciated as it enables us to rectify mistakes and prevent reoccurrences.

We are pleased that you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us and liked the service provided and the quality of our restaurant' food.


Thank you for mentioning the pool. Its deck was resurfaced with cement and gravel and the work is just about completed. All guests can now again use the pool with no risk of hurting themselves any longer. The surroundings remain the same: a natural park in the middle of rice fields!


We would be delighted to have you back and hope you will return!

Your SANTI Resort and Spa team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

The pool is currently closed for repair June 2018 and clients should have been warned in advance. Although you are offered use of another hotel's pool 15 minutes drive away it was far from suitable owing to the hotel's location. We were annoyed that we were not informed in advance as the pool was one of the main reasons for our choice. We were upgraded but it still did not compensate for no pool in such heat, Other customers were equally annoyed.

Room Tip: Pool closed under repair
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tel261712017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSanti, General Manager at Santi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear reviewer (tel261712017),

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SANTI Resort & Spa. Guests feedback is very much appreciated as it is the best tool we have to correct mistakes and prevent additional ones.


In this particular case, your comment is very well taken and we truly apologize for not having informed you that our pool deck was under renovation.

The decision to undertake this needed repair was taken too late to properly inform guests and business partners. The way the work was originally planned was to close the deck section by section, which would have enabled our guests to use the pool from the deck areas not under repairs. Unfortunately for a question of work speed, it was decided to repair the entire deck in one go.


Again we are sorry for the lack of communication and truly hope that, once the work is completed, we will be able to again be of service to you.


Your SANTI Resort & Spa team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Spent a lovely week here at a conference. Beautifully appointed rooms, friendly, attentive and helpful staff. Bring your bug spray if visiting in summer, as the resort is located in a very wooded area. Rooms are air conditioned well. My only complaint was the water in the bathroom was sometimes slightly brown, but I think that’s unavoidable. Transportation to town by Tuk-tuk was very easy and affordable.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSanti, General Manager at Santi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear K H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor following your stay at SANTI Resort & Spa. Guests feedback is of utmost importance to us as it enables us to immediately correct potential wrong doings and deviations from established procedures.

We are pleased to read that you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the conference you attended was managed successfully by our hotel.


Yes our location in the middle of rice fields and rich nature with ponds attracts insects and, even though we spray our large land twice a month against them … it is not quite sufficient. The brown water you experienced must have come from the rain. When heavy rain occurs, some mud may go inside our tank and filtration is insufficient.

We would be delighted to have you back at the Resort as n individual guest of with another conference.


Your SANTI Resort and Spa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We’re currently doing a 3 week tour of Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos and our one regret is not spending longer in Laos. We stayed one night at the Santiago Resort and Spa and were sorry we did not plan to stay for longer.

On arrival at the hotel, check in was efficient and smooth. We had a deluxe room that served its purpose. Like most rooms in hot conditions, the fittings can look a little tired, but it had everything we needed. The aircon was efficient, but sadly the fridge didn’t work so it was impossible to chill anything. It was positive that mosquito nets were provided. I commend their attempts to cut down on plastic by leaving own brand glass bottles of complementary water but we didn’t feel safe using these as were you to drop it on the beautiful wooden floors, broken glass would be a problem. It’s also been drilled into me to only drink water from sealed bottles. I’m sure it was fine to drink, but my conditioning made me avoid it.

Where this hotel really scored was in its food offerings. It was lovely to be served a good breakfast and the evening menu was varied and tasty. This was all done with attention to detail by friendly staff. We were made to feel very welcome.

On our second day as our flight wasn’t to 6pm we paid 40USD to keep the room until 5pm which was very fair. We very much enjoyed walking around the gardens and we then used the spa for a massage, facial and foot treatment. Prices here are perhaps a bit expensive as they are on a par with European tariffs, but the experience was excellent. It would be helpful, however, if the room had its own spa menu and price list so you could choose in the comfort of your room what you would like. Even reception didn’t have a copy as someone borrowed theirs and didn’t return it!

All-in-all, we very much enjoyed our short time here and we already plan to come back and spend more time in Laos as we found the place, the people and the hospitality to be a wonderful experience.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank termon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSanti, General Manager at Santi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear termon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at SANTI Resort & Spa. Guests feed back is of utmost importance to us since it represents the best tool at our disposal to rectify mistakes or address deviations from established policies.

We are happy to read that you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us and even regretted not to have plan a longer visit in Laos.

Indeed we offer free drinking water in sealed glass bottles in order to decrease the usage of plastic. In an additional step to diminish the usage of plastic bottles, we sell re-useable aluminium bottles that can be filled at the water fountains located throughout the Resort.

We have relayed to our team your comment about the breakfast quality and the general pleasant food offering that you enjoyed. Such comments go a long way to boost morale and invigorate enthusiasm.

Your note concerning the Spa is well taken and we will see that Spa menus are made available in rooms and, particularly at the reception counter.


We hope to be again of service to you in our natural environment and will for sure take a look at having competitive pricing.

Your SANTI Resort & Spa team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Not only the most beautiful/peaceful place to stay in Luang Prabang, Santi Resort is simply the closest you can get to the Garden of Eden in terms of service and courtesy. I had a few initial issues and the manager - very professionally - listened and acted right away. I only have THE BEST things to say about this hotel. Although it’s not like Santi Hotel (in the heart of the city) the free shuttle takes guests to downtown all the time. So, you get the best of both. Free WiFi works fine and breakfast should be included as there’s no commerce around the compound. Absolutely FANTASTIC!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Sunny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaSanti, General Manager at Santi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Sunny D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tip Advisor following your recent visit to SANTI Resort & Spa. Guests feed back is most appreciated since it is our best tool to rectify mistakes or potential wrong doings.

We are delighted to read that, even though you encountered a few issues at the beginning of your stay, you ended up being very satisfied with the Resort. Thank you again for saying so.

We have taken good not of your remark regarding the inclusion of breakfast in the room rate and will see to adjust this.

Hoping to again be of service to you, we remain,

Your SANTI Resort & Spa team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews