We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveller rating
643
306
50
25
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
306
50
25
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night market lovely pool area french lady pool side breakfast buffet superior room french colonial style lovely hotel main building quiet side street close to town welcome drink an oasis quiet location free bikes reception area small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Good hotel with plenty of trees and plants. Rooms are large with many good furniture and a small fridge. One drawback is congested small toilet and shower area. The light in toilet for shaving purpose is inadequate. We stayed in room no 2 in main building. There is well maintained swimming pool and a bar adjacent to it. The breakfast choices were good. Staffs were polite and helping.

Room tip: Possibly behind the main building is structure open all around with balcony seems good but have not seen from inside
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 96ravik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

We had 5 lovely days at this hotel. Reception was excellent, with welcome drinks and snacks, and a very informative introduction from the manageress. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a discreet evening turn-down service provided. The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the start of the night market, and there are plenty of excellent, cheap restaurants nearby, on the Mekong River Bank, with more expensive options a little further into town.

The service, and attention to detail, was excellent, and the staff went the extra mile to provide me with a birthday cake, which was a lovely touch. Breakfast is adequate, without being excessive, with as much local Laos coffee as you want. On hearing that we had an early morning departure, a packed breakfast was offered for our final day. The grounds and pool (which is chilled) are beautiful.

A word of warning - the local laundry opposite (which, to be clear, is not a part of Villa Maly) keeps unreliable hours, and should not be relied upon towards the end of your stay. The hotel staff gave excellent assistance in rescuing our clothes when it unexpectedly closed early the day before we were due to leave!

We can’t recommend this hotel highly enough - it’s perfect for a trip to Luang Prabang.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliclark100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We visited this Hotel on a tour of Cambodia and Laos and were very impressed with every aspect of the service provided.
The staff were excellent and the rooms well ordered and always spotlessly clean.
The included breakfasts were always excellent in respect of the quantity, quality and variety of the food provided and we really enjoyed the setting in which we ate.
Most of all, the quality of the customer care and also the customer experience were first class and everyone was so helpful and charming.
Moreover, the Hotel is in a great position being only ten minutes walk from the centre of the town where there are lots of eating places. Also, the evening markets are close by where you can barter a bargain souvenir to take home.
Look forward to enjoying every aspect of this Hotel whilst in Luang Prabang

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank frankjorduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

We have just had three relaxing nights at Villa Maly. We stayed in a pool view room, the downside is the lack of natural light and the ‘open plan’ bathroom. That aside, we would stay again but at a different room level. The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to ensure everything is to your satisfaction. The breakfast was super, everything you require. The main downtown is a 5/10 minute walk, the night market is great and there is every level of dinning you need. A fantastic trip and would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank philthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

We stayed at the Villa Maly for 10 nights, we wanted a long break in the same place so we could settle in and relax (I was travelling with my 9 year old twins).
We were greeted by the lovely Elodie, who remained a favourite of ours throughout our trip. Elodie was helpful, caring, and great company whenever she had time to chat to us. Elodie gave us great advice about things to do around Luang Prabang. The rest of the staff were wonderful too, Pheng and Champang (I'm so sorry if I spelled those wrong) were fabulous, and heaps more, but I didn't get a chance to remember names.
Our room was lovely, the bed very comfortable. It was quiet and relaxing.
The restaurant was great, my kids enjoyed the variety of food for breakfast, and we did enjoy dinner in the restaurant when my kids needed a quiet night.
The location is very good with an easy walk into town.
I love that there is a water fountain in reception to refill water bottles. So great to not use so much plastic.
We will certainly stay at Villa Maly when we return to Luang Prabang.

Room tip: Make sure you walk on both sides of Mt Phousi down towards the end of the peninsula. Both sides have some amazing sites to see.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews