We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
US$229
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/06/22
Expedia
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
355
36
12
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
355
36
12
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel beautiful hotel juan pablo romantic getaway rooms are spacious a small boutique hotel breakfast was delicious every morning minute walk second floor two blocks guatemala city visiting antigua rooftop terrace wedding volcano architecture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2022

We stayed at Pensativo over New Years and had a lovely stay. The hotel is beautiful and feels very typical of the area. The room and bathroom were both huge which was lovely. However we were on honeymoon and booked a double room and instead were given a room with 2 small double beds and couldn’t swap to a single large double.

The only improvement to the rooms would be somewhere for us both to have sat (there was a chair and a desk) and no balcony. Perhaps a small table and 2 chairs could be added? Also we had to request the mini fridge which was advertised (we were told they’d been taken out of the room due to covid..)

For a hotel of this standard the amenities could be improved by having a separate shampoo and conditioner rather than the cheap 2 in 1 variety

Breakfast was delicious although slightly disappointed that they could not accommodate gluten free bread even on request

Location wise it was perfect - only a short walk to town but slightly quieter due to it being slightly out the centre. Also it’s sister hotel has a pool/gym you can use for free which we made use of

Overall a lovely hotel but a few little touches to improve on

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EKW1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pi HH, General Manager at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2022

Dear Emma T,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us.
We are so glad that you had a lovely stay.
Your feedback regarding reservation process, room details, amenities, and gluten free bread request will be taken into consideration to improve our guests' experience.
Hope you visit us again in a near future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Antigua is a charming city for couples and what is the best way to plan a romantic weekend than this place. The rooms are romantic and offer everything that you need to relax. We stay for one night but we are already planning to come back

Date of stay: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I8648BEandreao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Percy Aguilar, General Manager at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Dear Guest,
We are so glad that you're planning to come back!
Our team will always be happy to be at your service, hope to see you soon!
Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021

We had an amazing time at Pensativo House...the service was excellent, the food was delicious and the rooms were big and beautiful! My son got married and had the most beautiful wedding with the best wedding food I've ever tasted. It's an absolutely spectacular hotel and venue. The staff was so welcoming, warm and helpful.

Room tip: Double Queen was big and beautiful!
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B8377FVestherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Percy Aguilar, General Manager at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear Guest,
We are so glad to hear you had an amazing time with us!
Thank you so much for trusting in our services for such important and memorable event.
Really hope you come to visit us again in a near future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2021

I absolutely love this boutique hotel. My husband and I always leave feeling loved and cared for. Wendy and her team think of every detail and make sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable. Breakfasts on the terrace are my favorite way to start the day. I highly recommend visiting them with your partner or with family.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nugzunplugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Percy Aguilar, General Manager at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the traveler community on Trip Advisor.
Your comments really motivate us to continue making our guests feel loved and cared for before, during and after their stay.
Really hope you visit us soon!
Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021

My fiance and I stayed here for a night and we had breakfast (which is complementary). It did not disappoint. We had authentic Guatemalan dishes and the hotel itself is beautiful. Because of COVID, the city and hotel were both empty. I do hope business picks up for the sake of people's livelihood. but for what it's worth, we felt really special being the only guests that night (we didn't see any other guests).

What also stood out was the service. Everyone took care of us, including Sergio who was out waiter for breakfast. This entire hotel is romantic.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Percy Aguilar, General Manager at Pensativo House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Dear Guests,
We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your good vibes make us feel motivated to continue providing Best in Class service to every single guest. Really hope you come to visit us again soon!
Warm wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews