We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Agoda.com
US$101
View deal
Trip.comUS$119
Hotels.comUS$119
eDreamsUS$119
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
383
20
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
383
20
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa catalina beautiful hotel famous arch breakfast was delicious perfect location every morning rain shower room number restaurants and shops high ceilings sitting area we've stayed room was large plenty of hot water rooftop terrace courtyard guatemala
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2021

Absolutely beautiful courtyard & immaculately decorated rooms. Only about a block from Santa Catalina Arch. I had several requests, including a COVID test at the hotel the day before our travel back to the US. The staff responded promptly to my every request. Delicious breakfasts. I DEFINITELY recommend San Rafael, will stay there again upon my return without question. One small thing. Wi-fi is a bit spotty.

Room tip: All rooms face the courtyard.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN RAFAEL HOTEL, Director General at San Rafael Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2022

Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to your next visit, regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2021 via mobile

Extremely expensive compared to other hotels in Antigua (although I think you can probably pay much less than we did if you check around the different websites) That said we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel has NO amenities such as a swimming pool or restaurant or a bar. The breakfast is included and you have a menu with a number of tasty alternatives and is served to you on your private little table for 2 outside your room in the beautiful open courtyard.
The king size bed we had was extremely comfortable and the WiFi is the best I’ve found in Guatemala. The rain shower is perfect in the bathroom with plenty of hot water.
There are only 7 guest rooms all on the ground floor and believe me, you won’t hear any noise from other guests.

Room tip: Don’t forget to not put toilet paper in the toilet! We Americans definitely have trouble remembering!
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Journey785939
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN RAFAEL HOTEL, Director General at San Rafael Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2022

Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to your next visit, regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2021 via mobile

This hotel was amazing all around from the moment you arrive till the moment you need to leave. Full of charm, authentic, amazing location, service was exceptional.
We booked room number 7 which was very large and accommodating Beautiful and very private we loved it and recommend it.

Room tip: Room number 7 is the best room
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Harell302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN RAFAEL HOTEL, Director General at San Rafael Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2022

Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to your next visit, regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

This was our first time and in Guatemala San Rafael was the first place we came to. We really enjoyed our stay here and was great way to start our trip. All the positive things you read about this hotel are true which is why we picked it. It’s really pretty, everyone is really nice and the location is excellent. Every morning we ate breakfast on the patio which is a must especially the typical Guatemalan breakfast

Pros:
-the hotel’s location is centrally located in the middle of everything. You can easily walk to all the attractions, restaurants and shops (not that Antigua is a big place anyway) and is less than a block from the arch
-the hotel is really pretty. The courtyard is serene and beautiful and the room we stayed in (#4) was large and comfortable. The large sitting area was used by us a lot and the high ceilings make the room feel even bigger. Large shower and a lot of space to put your toiletries in the bathroom
-everyone here is very friendly and we always felt welcomed. Everyone says hello and has a smile on their face which is always something we appreciate

Cons:
-nothing really major but the room didn’t have much of airflow even with the windows open. There’s a tiny fan but doesn’t do much so at night it was a little hot even though it was cool outside

I hunky recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay a great one

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 734ryana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN RAFAEL HOTEL, Director General at San Rafael Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2022

Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to your next visit, regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

I am glad that we could stay in the luxurious San Rafael Hotel for our midweek getaway trip to Antigua, Guatemala. We stayed in the San Rafael Hotel last week for 3 nights. I am recalling the luxurious courtyard, and I am still immersed with emotion daydreaming in the afterglow of our trip. The guest rooms were very beautiful and gorgeous. My room (#3), the Candelaria, was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff were very helpful, friendly, and courteous. The owners were inviting and friendly. We had an opportunity to see the owners' glamorous residence and their spectacular 360° rooftop terrace view; it was like an architectural masterpiece. I saw the landmark of the Santa Catalina Arch just right there from the owners' magnificent terrace, and also the peaks of both Fuego and Agua volcanoes. The hotel is centered in an unbeatable tourist location. I highly recommend to all art loving tourists to be a guest at this gorgeous architectural accented San Rafael Hotel in Antigua, Guatemala.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mimicalarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN RAFAEL HOTEL, Director General at San Rafael Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2022

Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to your next visit, regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews