We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful museum and worth a visit”
Review of Biomuseo

Biomuseo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.00*
and up
Biomuseo Including Permanent Exhibitions...
Ranked #24 of 187 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Designed by world-renowned architect Frank Gehry, the Biomuseo is his only work in Latin America and the tropics. The building was designed to tell the story of how the isthmus of Panama rose from the sea, uniting two continents, separating a vast ocean in two, and changing the planet's biodiversity forever.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Designed by Frank Gehry, the colorful Biomuseo is easily accessible by taxi. Half inside and half outside, it displays were engaging and thought-provoking and included geography, nature, the Canal and all aspects of Panamanian history. Good place to cool off and learn during the heat of the afternoons.

Thank Ricki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyripe, Public Relations Manager at Biomuseo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Ricki S:

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us; we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Biomuseo.

We have started the construction of the three new gallery exhibits (including the aquarium), that should be ready in January 2019. We are also constructing three new stations in our Park of Biodiversity which we'll inaugurate next May. We hope you may visit us again.

Regards,

Roberto Maduro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"frank gehry"
in 53 reviews
"land bridge"
in 21 reviews
"geological history"
in 13 reviews
"unique building"
in 8 reviews
"audio guide"
in 21 reviews
"north and south america"
in 8 reviews
"interesting museum"
in 23 reviews
"amador causeway"
in 39 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 24 reviews
"amazing architecture"
in 8 reviews
"video presentation"
in 9 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 16 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 13 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 8 reviews
"exhibits"
in 201 reviews
"diversity"
in 45 reviews
"isthmus"
in 50 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2018

The incredible outside of this building belies the serious contents inside. The displays are quite simple to follow. It's wonderful.

Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyripe, Public Relations Manager at Biomuseo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Tony H:

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us; we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Biomuseo.

We have started the construction of the three new gallery exhibits (including the aquarium), that should be ready in January 2019. We are also constructing three new stations in our Park of Biodiversity which we'll inaugurate next May. We hope you may visit us again.

Regards,

Roberto Maduro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

I went for the architecture but really enjoyed the museum. This museum really illustrates the geological development of Panama and the diversity of biological and geographic elements. They are adding to it and it will be better then. I recommend it as a great starting place before doing other things. It also has a great little cafe.

1  Thank Meby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyripe, Public Relations Manager at Biomuseo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Meby C:

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us; we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Biomuseo.

As you correctly mentioned, we have started the construction of the three new gallery exhibits (including the aquarium), that should be ready in January 2019. We are also constructing three new stations in our Park of Biodiversity which we'll inaugurate next May. We hope you may visit us again.

Regards,

Roberto Maduro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

a small museum but well done and beautifully presented. Don't miss. There is also beautiful scenery with the city of Panama in the background and views of shipe waiting to go into the canal.

1  Thank rasmith2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyripe, Public Relations Manager at Biomuseo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear rasmith2018:

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us; we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Biomuseo.

We already started the construction of the three new gallery exhibits (including the aquarium), that should be ready in January 2019. We are also constructing three new stations in our Park of Biodiversity which we'll inaugurate next May. We hope you may visit us again.

Regards,

Roberto Maduro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Although it looks large from the impressive building, the display area is rather limited. The fascinating subject of biodiversity is presented in a creative way. In the movie area, which has no seats or benches, all of us laid down in the floor to watch the eight surrounding and overhead screens. The interactive computer presentations are worth going through completely -- a good time investment. Unfortunately, the rest of the museum is not yet complete. The presentation on the columns under the museum are interesting, but do not give any description of the various indigenous groups that live in Panama. Eight distinct tribes are lumped into three general groups that give a false impression of the importance and unique contributions of the indigenous peoples. The second and third sections of the museum are not complete. The small area devoted to birds is an amateurish presentation and needs vast improvement to reflect the importance of the species of birds found in Panama. The price of admission is very high for the small portion of the museum that is complete at this time.

1  Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyripe, Public Relations Manager at Biomuseo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Dear Barbara E.

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us; we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Biomuseo, although we didn't quite live up to your expectations.

We already started the construction of the three new gallery exhibits (including the aquarium), that should be ready in January 2019. We are also constructing three new stations in our Park of Biodiversity which we'll inaugurate next May. We hope you may visit us again.

Regards,

Roberto Maduro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biomuseo also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
 
Las Cumbres, Panama City
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Biomuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing