We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
153
434
308
97
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
434
308
97
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maidan square business suite independent square excellent location the heart of the city soviet times buffet breakfast small balcony old style shopping mall central location lobby bar wi fi visit kiev metro station ukraine globus
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel is located at the heart of the city. It has a lovely view of the freedom square. The rooms are very large and clean. The building is dated but that adds to the feeling of being in a soviet era hotel. The breakfast buffet is massive with a very large selection. However, seating can be a problem depending on when you get there. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank pivonye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingDep, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Ukraine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hi, Dear Guest! Thank you for the review. We are very pleased that overall you were satisfied with the accommodation in the Ukraine hotel. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team. Thank you once again. Best regards, Ukraine hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This was our 5th time at this hotel - very clean, good service, great breakfast. They do a great job and staff has remained the same and they remember our team from year to year. Only thing we noticed - a couple of times housekeeping did not tend rooms - but left clean towels. Not an issue as we arrive back late in the evenings. Seems popular for business people - they have meeting rooms. Again, VERY CLEAN !!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingDep, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Hotel Ukraine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Jennifer! Thank you for the review. We are very pleased that overall you were satisfied with the accommodation in the Ukraine hotel. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team. Best regards, Ukraine hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Big hotel in a very central location, next to Independent Square or better literally, it is a landmark of Independent Square. Hotel is good if you want to go for Chernobyl tour because most of them start just 5 minutes of walk from there. Staff is not very friendly, if you are staying in higher floor, sometimes it is really hard to catch the elevator. But not bad at all.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkimikkiSVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingDep, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Hotel Ukraine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest!
Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team. We`ll take into the account all of your remarks to make your next stay much better. Best regards, Ukraine hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We traveled in a group of 16 friends with whom we had visited Russia and other countries before. We had made the reservations at this hotel through an agency months before and stayed for 4 nights. When we arrived, it took the front desk 35 min. to check-in the 16 persons as we had to fill in the papers ourselves. We had the first dinner at the hotel. The food was mediocre and we had the impression that we disturbed the organization of the servers. The rooms have a magnificent view, however, they are quite outdated. The bathroom is equipped with old mountings, the ventilator did not work and the air conditioner was loud. Luckily, we could open the windows and the night air was fresh.
To our disappointment, on day 2 the room was not made-up when we returned at 6 pm from a city tour. After we had complained, somebody came in and made the room although quite superficially. The next evening -quasi as punishment for our complaints-, the room was not made-up again, and when we told the 2 strong men grading the elevators, they said that this was not their business. We should complain at the front desk. However, the fronts desk was always overloaded with arriving guests as too few persons are working there.
As a consequence, if possible, avoid this hotel. It could be turned around and made to a wonderful place if only they had a good management and if the management trained its personnel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingDep, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Ukraine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi, Dear Hans L! Thank you for the review. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the staff’s attitude to the guests. We can promise you that we will definitely clarify the situation and take all necessary measures to make sure that it will not happen again. We are grateful that you are not indifferent; thanks to you we have an opportunity to improve our weaknesses. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team. Thank you once again. Best regards, Ukraine hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The very first impression from the exterior was WOW.....But once you go to the rooms they were very run out and outdated.The doors, interiors and specially bathrooms were like as if I was staying in a very seedy hotel.The carpet in the room was dirty and stinking. I had booked myself in a Double bed room and they gave me a twin bed which was so small that I couldn't fit my self in the bed. I requested them to change the room but they told me to pay extra as the room category I had booked was completely sold out on that day. Eventually they changed the room the next day evening.Breakfast was widespread but no name plate on the food so had to check everything by opening the dishes a I am vegetarian. The best thing is the location of the hotel as its bang on the Maidan Square or Independence square which is very lively day and night. Plenty of options of food in the vicinity and everything was easily accessible and walkable.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank ANANDBHANSALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingDep, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Ukraine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Guest! Thank you for the review. It is a pity that you didn’t like the breakfast. We are trying to make all the dishes as much suitable to every guest, as we could. It is not so easy, as there are many guests from different countries and everyone has his own individual taste. We take into the account all of your remarks to make your next stay much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews