We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Must-visit place !

If you want to know what living in communist Bulgaria was like, this is a MUST-Visit place ! The... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
lusQ1037NK
via mobile
A must go, for anyone visit Sofia

It was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had in a “museum”. It felt like we traveled... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
AlexApost7
via mobile
Read all 98 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sofia
from US$24.61
More Info
from US$18.87
More Info
from US$31.99
More Info
from US$36.28
More Info
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
85
12
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
12
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide communist times communist era immersive experience bulgarian family everyday life interactive museum back in the day life under communism different aspects communist walking tour own pace excellent english two hours mp3 katina headsets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had in a “museum”. It felt like we traveled back in time during communist Bulgaria as we were wandering freely in the apartment. We were allowed to touch literally anything we wanted and the way the stories were being told was exceptional. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to learn more about the history of Bulgaria and the way of living there in the 1980s.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank AlexApost7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

very nice ,worth seeing the house of a common family in the communist era,would totally recommend and the way it’s is presented is very different and interesting without making you bored

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank mariellid2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

We were a group of 6 friends getting back in the time of the communist Bulgaria into the Red Flat. We all had a great free tour of Sofia the day before, and thanks to Mitko, our guide, we heard about this Red Flat where he attended us the next day. It was a great experience, finally a "museum" where you can touch everything! We litteraly put on the clothes of the bulgarian family who could have lived there. The audio is plenty of details and explanations, combined with the decorations and furnitured of the apartment, we all traveled back in time. We felt like we could understand way better the history of Bulgaria and the inhabitants of its capital. Thank you so much to the Red Flat team! This is defintly a must see in Sofia !

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank haudefct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020

This museum is a unique experience with special attention to detail on the stories that are told to you. I really appreciated the fact that they opened the museum just for me as I was the only one (during this global pandemic). I really loved it and good value for money considering that your stay is about 1.5hrs (€9).

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank jamesmT7466IG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerigyurov, Manager at The Red Flat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2020

Thank you so much, you are welcome: )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

An absolute gem for communist history enthousiasts. Stepping into this apartment is just like time stood still and provides inside into what life was like in the 80’s in Bulgaria. Highly recommended and very well put together project!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank esterloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerigyurov, Manager at The Red Flat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2020

Thank you so muc for the nice words, much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews