We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull dinner”

El Albergue Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our restaurant and café are open to hotel guests and travelers alike. Café Mayu on the train station platform offers espresso coffee, tea, cookies, brownies, sandwiches and salads. Join us in the restaurant where you will find a full menu for breakfast lunch and dinner. We have created our menu using fresh organic ingredients from our garden and Sacred Valley offering a selection of Peruvian and European flavors. Alpaca steak, fresh salads, homemade fettuccine and fresh trout are a few items available on our menu.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attentive staff, lovely menu with lots of vegetarian options . Food sourced from beautifull organic farm adjacent to the hotel.
Dining room has a charming rustic elegance.All our meals were beautifully presented and absolulty delicious.
We would highly recommend .

Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at El Albergue Restaurant. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. It's great that you had an opportunity to visit our organic farm. We love receiving such wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Sacred Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I absolutely loved this place, my sister and I were told by a friend that we have to eat here if we went to ollyantambo and I’m so glad we did! We live it so much that we came back the next day for lunch! The staff is so kind, and the food is even better! Thank you El Albergue for such a great experience!

Thank Kendall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your dining experiences with us. We love receiving such wonderful compliments on our team and our food. We hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are traveling through the Sacred Valley and recommend us to any friends or family that might be planning on visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel, but we ate lunch at the restaurant and had drinks in the bar during our layover in Ollantaytambo during our journey from Machu Picchu to Cusco.

El Albergue was recommend by our Mountain Lodges of Peru guide who we had spent the prior week with and trusted implicitly, so we stopped for lunch upon our train arrival from Machu Picchu. The food was wonderful.

We decided to visit the grounds after our meal. While wondering around, one of the staff, Steven Lopez, asked us if we would be interested in a tour of the farm. We said “sure” and off we went!

He showed us the organic vegetable and herb farm, we fed the guinea pigs, we sampled herbs, flowers, berries, etc. We saw their pigs, ducks, chickens, and other assorted animals. We learned about their school. We met the Pachamanca chef, the coffee roaster, and the distiller...

Amazing... we felt guilty excusing ourselves as we had limited time and wanted to tour the Inca Ruins.

We were so impressed we returned for a drink before our departure to Cusco.

This is a “Must See” when visiting Ollantaytambo!

Thank jakp993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It is always great to hear that we were able to have a positive impact on the travel experiences of our guests. We loved your wonderful feedback. It's always lovely to hear that a member of our team was able to add to your experience here. We'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Steven. We hope that the rest of your time in Perú was just as enjoyable as your time at El Albergue. We look forward to being able to provide you with the same exceptional quality of service on future trips to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This fabulously classy restaurant is situated on the Ollantaytambo train station but it's a far cry from station food!

I had been searching for papa rellenos for days, and was very pleased to see it on the menu
It was stuffed with lomo saltado (very big chunks of beef!) and it was HUGE!
With a side salad it was a bargain at only 22 soles.
(My photo shows the size against the cutlery.)

I had a very refreshing Limonada con gas sin azucar with a metal straw for 9 soles.

Fabulous.
Clean.
High end restaurant at low prices.

Great location on the train station platform!
Some tables have a platform view.
Some tables are out the back in pretty gardens.
Other tables sit directly in view of the open kitchen.

The high ceilings give a bright, airy and fresh feel.

Pretty and clean bathrooms.

Top choice for lunch or as soon as you step off the train.

Oh and do stay in Ollantaytambo for at least one night.
It's a real living Inca town!

You know all those ruins you've been looking at? Well the people of Ollantaytambo live in houses that are very old and built the same way.

There's also a fabulous pentecost festival in the town every year.

4 days of celebrations, dancing, fireworks - all very friendly and only for the locals... it's not a tourist attraction... so you'll get to see how the Peruvians have fun.
It was really wonderful to experience.

Thank MagicDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is always great to hear that we were able to have a positive impact on the travel and dining experiences of our guests. We loved your wonderful feedback. We hope that the rest of your time in Perú was just as enjoyable as your time with us. We look forward to being able to provide you with the same exceptional quality of food and service on future trips to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

I have eaten at fine restaurants all over the world. This place would give them all a run for their money

The setting is perfect and you are not hidden by the food prep. The kitchen is there for all to see

The food was just fantastic. All ingredients organically grown right there in the associated gardens

My only regret is that I could not stay longer and try other items on this fine menu

I make no recommendations for choice. My wife, daughter and I all had different selections - all were top tasting and perfectly portioned

Fantastic attentive servers with a great knowledge on the menu

See you next time
Phil, Jen and Emily

1  Thank BluffaloPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Albergue Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us. We love receiving such great feedback regarding our Kitchen and Service Teams. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to them. We hope that you will have an opportunity in the future to come back and try some of the other wonderful items on our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Albergue Restaurant also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to El Albergue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;