We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience and delicious food/drinks”
Review of Bravo Restobar

Bravo Restobar
Ranked #98 of 3,143 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Peruvian, Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Isidro
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Stopped in for a drink and appetizer on the recommendation of our hotel. We sat at the bar and I decided on a Strawberry Sour for my cocktail. It was so good! We ordered the Bravo Spring Rolls. They were very different than any other spring roll we'd ever had because of their filling. I would definitely order them again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snoopy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

The restaurant was full during the hours of 12:30-2:00. The water was fantastic. The food was OK. We had a new sandwich of brisket that was the closet in brisket we have eaten since the USA. the second dish was Pad Thai, I don't recommed this, ot was dry the meat was over and cooked. All in all the first time it was satisfactory. We will go back a second time

Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Went to this bar/restaurant twice during a week long business trip. Good location to invite friends or clients to a Happy Hour having drinks and food (other places nearby open up only later). Service was good. Had local Peruvian white wine (Intipalka - recommendable) and hot ceviche which was excellent, not even my Peruvian friends had eaten it before. It was that good that we ordered a second one. On a previous visit that same week I had the local minestrone soup which unfortunately was a disappointment. It was too creamy and had meat in it, not what I'd expect. Prices in the menu are reasonable. All in all a good experience this place.

Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian B, Propietario at Bravo Restobar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Raymond ,

Thank you very much for your comment .
We are very happy that you enjoyed our service and food. We regret that the menestron cream, which is a courtesy of the house that our clients often love, has not been to your liking.
We hope to have you back soon !
All the best !

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

When paying that prices you expect much more than what you actually get. For instance "Lomo saltado" has 7 small pieces of meat, and the rest is 90% French fries, some mushrooms, a lot of onions and almost no tomatoes. You can not taste the ingredients since all is invaded by umami flavor... Was that natural? I don't know, I don't think so. These kind of restaurants use too much of monosodium glutamate (ajinomoto) and perhaps this is the problem. Carrillera dish is just awful, not taking the meat into account, I bet I can do better pasta at home. Meat was fine, soft and seemed to be fresh, but this is not enough... In general the experience is acceptable but when you see the bill it converts into a bad one. Not recommend.

Thank Leopoldo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian B, Propietario at Bravo Restobar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Leopoldo,
We appreciate your visit and take the opportunity to clarify that we do not use GMS or Ajinomoto for LOMO SALTADO because Umami is naturally in meat, mushrooms, tomato and soy sauce (inocinato, guanilato and glutamate, three natural amino acids with a lot Umami)
We have no problem in using it, its measured use is innocuous and there are Chinese dishes like Chaufa that benefit from the fair and measured use of this ingredient but for our LOMO SALTADO we have never used it nor will we have to use it for the reasons mentioned above.

We give value to the producers and pay the right price for the ingredients we use, we have a business that has qualified staff in the kitchen, bar and service to give excellent service in a restaurant located in the best and most expensive area of ​​Lima ( San Isidro ).
We understand that you did not like the food, that the 200 grams of tenderloin (almost half a pound) may have seemed little and that the price of $ 18 seems excessive for a big dish with high quality ingredients, where the meat is the most expensive and valuable cut , the potato is from a recognized producer and each ingredient is very careful in its selection and purchase.

We receive your comments with humility and we respect your very personal opinion even when we realize that anyone like you has the possibility to make a criticism without being very objective and call us "Expensive" and "low quality" when we are not.

Thank you so much
Christian Bravo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Great food... delicious hot ceviche, heated on hot volcanic stones... and a fantastic lomo saltado, one of the best in Peru apparently....

Doesn’t seem much from outside, but lives up to its expectations

A good ambiance too.... seems like Christian Bravo, the owner, is well liked!

Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian B, Propietario at Bravo Restobar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thanks so much Patrick !
Hope we see You back soon at Bravo Restobar
Best Regards

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bravo Restobar also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Bravo Restobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing